Best Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Programs in Florida
- 2027 Best Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Programs in Florida
- Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Degree Options
- Why Florida Is a Top State for AGNP Students
- Program Formats: Online, Hybrid, and Campus
- Clinical Training and Program Requirements
- Certification and Licensure in Florida
- What to Look for in a Florida AGNP Program
- Careers for Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioners
- FAQs
- Latest Articles & Guides

Florida's large and rapidly aging population makes it one of the most important states for Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioners (AGNPs). From the retirement communities of South Florida to major medical centers in Orlando, Tampa, Jacksonville, and Miami, advanced practice nurses play a key role in delivering care to adults and older adults.
Graduate programs in Florida prepare registered nurses for advanced clinical roles treating adult and geriatric patients across settings such as hospitals, primary care clinics, and long-term care facilities. Most AGNP programs lead to national certification and Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) licensure, enabling graduates to diagnose illnesses, prescribe medications, and manage patient care.
This article will cover:
- The differences between MSN, DNP, and post-master's AGNP programs
- How Florida schools deliver AGNP programs through online, hybrid, and campus formats
- Where students typically complete clinical rotations across the state
- What to expect from Florida licensure and certification pathways
- Tips for choosing the best AGNP program for your goals
2027 Best Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Programs in Florida
University of Central Florida
Orlando, FL - Public 4-Year - ucf.edu
Graduate Certificate - Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
UCF's Post-Master's Graduate Certificate in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner is a 23-credit hybrid program tailored for advanced practice nurses holding an MSN or DNP. It emphasizes evidence-based practice, leadership, and diagnostic reasoning to manage complex acute, critical, and chronic illnesses across diverse settings. Coursework spans from disease prevention to critical care, building a strong scientific foundation. Admission requires national certification as an APRN. Clinical hours are integrated to meet state licensure requirements, and the flexible curriculum accommodates working professionals. This certificate offers a focused pathway for certified nurse practitioners to expand their scope into acute care, preparing graduates for the challenges of high-acuity patient populations in hospitals and specialty clinics.
- 23 credit hours required.
- Post-master's graduate certificate program.
- Hybrid program type.
- Prepares for acute care settings.
- Requires MSN or DNP degree.
- Admission for certified APRNs.
- Focus on evidence-based practice.
- Includes clinical hours.
- Prepares for state licensure.
- Flexible curriculum offered.
Graduate Certificate - Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
Designed for experienced nurses with a master's degree, the Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Graduate Certificate at UCF combines 19 credits of hybrid coursework with up to 660 clinical hours. The curriculum includes health promotion, gerontologic care, women's health, and adult primary care, with courses like Adult I Primary Care and Gerontologic Care for APNs. Students develop competencies in evidence-based practice, leadership, and healthcare policy. Applicants must hold BSN and MSN degrees from accredited institutions, have completed an undergraduate statistics course, and possess Florida APRN licensure. This College of Nursing program provides flexible, career-advancing education for professionals seeking to deliver comprehensive primary care to adult and geriatric populations.
- 19 credit hours.
- Hybrid program format.
- Up to 660 clinical hours.
- Requires BSN and MSN degrees.
- Florida APRN licensure needed.
- Undergraduate statistics prerequisite.
- Post-master's certificate program.
- Prepares for state licensure.
- Includes women's health course.
- Gerontologic care focus.
MSN to DNP - Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
UCF's hybrid-online DNP in Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner prepares RNs for advanced primary care with patients aged 13 and older. The CCNE-accredited program comprises 73 credit hours and 1,140 clinical hours, covering health promotion, disease prevention, and chronic condition management. Coursework aligns with AACN DNP essentials and includes twice-yearly on-campus intensives to enhance networking and hands-on learning. Full-time (9 semesters) and part-time (12 semesters) tracks offer flexibility, while clinical sites and preceptors are arranged by the program—removing a common hurdle. Graduates qualify for national certification. Applicants need a BSN, undergraduate statistics, and a Florida RN license; the program starts in fall with a February 1 deadline. Due to rigorous demands, students should anticipate reducing work hours.
- CCNE accredited
- 9-Semester program
- 73 total credit hours
- Full-time and part-time options
- 1 start dates per year
- Starts fall
- 1140 clinical hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Capstone required
- Prepares for Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner National Board Certification Examination
MSN to DNP - Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner DNP at UCF is a hybrid-online program that educates RNs to care for acutely and critically ill adults. Required on-campus intensives occur twice yearly, complementing online coursework in evidence-based practice, leadership, and diagnostic reasoning. Students accumulate 1,080 clinical hours in hospital and acute care settings, with clinical placements arranged by the program—a significant advantage. Graduates are eligible for national AGACNP certification and work in hospitals, clinics, and sub-acute facilities. The curriculum incorporates simulation labs and interprofessional collaboration to foster team-based care. Offering full-time (9 semesters) and part-time (12 semesters) tracks, the CCNE-accredited program admits once annually for fall. Prerequisites include a BSN, undergraduate statistics, and a Florida RN license; reduced work hours are recommended during study.
- Live intensives twice a year
- Clinical placements provided by program
- Requires undergraduate statistics prerequisite
- Interprofessional learning opportunities
- Dedicated advising team
- Reduced work hours recommended
- Service area: Central Florida only
- Simulation lab experiences
BSN to DNP - BSN to DNP: Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
UCF's BSN to DNP track specializes in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner, preparing RNs for advanced practice with older adults. This hybrid program blends online coursework with campus sessions across Central Florida, where clinical placements occur—offering hands-on training within the region. The curriculum covers advanced assessment, pharmacology, and evidence-based care, emphasizing chronic condition management and wellness promotion. Full- and part-time options are available with fall start. Prerequisites include a BSN, RN license, and undergraduate statistics. Students complete a DNP project focused on evidence-based change to improve healthcare outcomes. Graduates are equipped to deliver comprehensive primary care, lead quality improvement initiatives, and address the unique needs of aging populations in primary care settings.
- Full-time and part-time options
- Starts fall
- Prerequisite courses required
- Hybrid program format
- Clinical placements in Central Florida
- Apply by February 1 for fall start
- RN license in Florida required
- Written essay required
- Faculty interview may be required
MSN to DNP - Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) - Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
- 74 total credit hours
- Starts fall
- 1200 clinical hours
- Prerequisite courses required
- Capstone required
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- On-campus bi-weekly lectures and labs
- Clinical experiences in Florida service region
- Bridge option for non-nursing bachelor's
University of Florida
Gainesville, FL - Public 4-Year - ufl.edu
MSN to DNP - Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AG-ACNP) track at the University of Florida is a hybrid DNP program preparing nurses to manage acute, critical, and chronic illnesses across adult populations. The curriculum emphasizes stabilization, independent decision-making, and collaborative care in high-acuity settings such as intensive care and emergency departments. Clinical placements are arranged within Florida, with travel required for some experiences. Applicants must have at least one year of critical care experience. The program offers both full-time and part-time study options, and graduates are eligible for national certification through ANCC and AACN. Specialty directors provide individualized guidance throughout the program. This track is designed for experienced nurses seeking advanced roles in acute care. Entrance exam requirements are not specified in the program's published materials.
- Full-time and part-time options
- Work experience required
- Prepares for ANCC
- Requires one year critical care experience
- Eligible for ANCC and AACN certification
- Clinical sites in Florida only
- Individualized clinical learning experiences
- Travel required for clinical experiences
BSN to DNP - BSN to DNP (Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
University of Florida's BSN to DNP program offers a concentration in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AG-ACNP), preparing registered nurses for advanced practice with young, middle-aged, and older adults facing acute, critical, or chronic conditions. The hybrid curriculum focuses on stabilizing patients in high-acuity inpatient settings, including ICUs and emergency departments. Clinical placements occur throughout Florida, though travel may be necessary for certain structured experiences. A minimum of one year of critical care nursing experience is required, and CCRN certification is highly recommended. Students can choose between full-time and part-time plans, with support from specialty directors holding DNP degrees. Graduates are eligible for ANCC and AACN certification, leading to roles as acute care NPs in hospitals and specialty units. The program does not list a required entrance exam.
- Full-time and part-time options
- Work experience required
- Eligible for ANCC and AACN certification
- Clinical sites in Florida
- Specialty directors with DNP
- High-acuity inpatient focus
- CCRN certification recommended
- Travel required for clinical
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL - Public 4-Year - fsu.edu
Graduate Certificate - Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Masters Graduate Certificate
Online Learning - Visit Website
Florida State University's online Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Graduate Certificate is a 22-credit program designed for nurses seeking advanced acute care expertise. The curriculum emphasizes complex illness management, critical care delivery, and diagnosis/treatment of critically ill adult and geriatric patients. Delivered entirely online with synchronous sessions, the program incorporates lectures, labs, simulation exercises, and clinical rotations. Administered by the College of Nursing, this CCNE-accredited certificate prepares graduates for intensive care unit roles and specialized acute care certification. It is ideal for post-master's nurses aiming to expand their scope of practice. Entrance examination requirements are not specified for this certificate program.
- 22 credit hours
- Post-Master's Certificate program
- Online delivery format
- Synchronous course components
- College of Nursing administration
- CCNE accreditation
- Adult gerontology acute care focus
- Advanced practice nursing specialty
- Complex illness management training
- Critical care delivery preparation
MSN to DNP - DNP- Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
Florida State University's DNP in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care prepares registered nurses for advanced practice in high-acuity settings. This hybrid program combines online coursework with four required on-campus day-sessions, offering flexibility through full-time and part-time enrollment. At $444 per credit, the program covers advanced pathophysiology, health assessment, pharmacology, and a capstone project, with an emphasis on evidence-based practice and leadership. Graduates are eligible for AGACNP certification via ANCC or AACN and can work in ICUs, emergency departments, and specialty clinics. Admission requires a 3.0 GPA, active RN license, and three letters of recommendation; an entrance exam is not mentioned in the program requirements. Applications are due by May 1, 2026, for fall start.
- $444 per credit
- Apply by 2026-05-01
- Full-time and part-time options
- Starts fall
- Synchronous and asynchronous options
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- 3 letters of recommendation (minimum)
- Capstone required
- Prepares for AGACNP certification examination
- Four on-campus day-sessions required
BSN to DNP - BSN to DNP Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
Florida State University offers a BSN to DNP pathway in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care, allowing registered nurses to achieve the highest level of clinical practice. The hybrid format delivers most coursework online, with four on-campus sessions per semester, and supports both full- and part-time study. Students engage in synchronous and asynchronous learning, covering advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment, and acute care management, culminating in a DNP project. The program prepares graduates for AGACNP certification through ANCC or AACN, with career opportunities in hospitals, ICUs, and specialty clinics. Applicants must hold a BSN with a 3.0 GPA, maintain an active RN license, and provide three letters of recommendation. The program does not specify an entrance exam requirement.
- Full-time and part-time options
- Synchronous and asynchronous options
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- 3 letters of recommendation (minimum)
- Capstone required
- Prepares for AGACNP certification
- Coursework delivered primarily online
- Four on-campus day sessions required
- Requires BSN degree with 3.0 GPA
- DNP project required for graduation
Florida Atlantic University
Boca Raton, FL - Public 4-Year - fau.edu
BSN to MSN - Adult Gerontological Nurse Practitioner (Primary Care)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Florida Atlantic University's Adult Gerontological Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGNP) concentration is a 52-credit MSN track blending online coursework with on-campus sessions. Designed for part-time study across eight semesters, the curriculum covers advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment, primary care, aging, and women's health. Students complete 780 clinical hours in settings such as primary care offices, long-term care facilities, and telemedicine. No entrance exam is required, and no prior clinical experience is needed. Clinical placements are arranged in South Florida. Graduates are prepared for ANCC or AANP certification. The program emphasizes a holistic, caring-based philosophy. Admission requires a 3.0 GPA, one letter of recommendation, and prerequisite courses. Applications are due by February 15, 2026, for the fall start.
- No entrance exam required
- 8-Semester program
- 52 total credit hours
- Apply by 2026-02-15
- Part-time available
- 1 start dates per year
- Starts fall
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- 1 letters of recommendation (minimum)
- 780 clinical hours
RN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
Florida Atlantic University's MSN with a concentration in Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner prepares registered nurses for primary care roles with adolescents, adults, and older adults. This part-time, hybrid program combines online coursework with Thursday on-campus sessions. The 52-credit curriculum covers advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment, and primary care management. Students complete 780 clinical hours at community health centers, private practices, hospitals, and long-term care facilities. Graduates are eligible for ANCC or AANP certification and may work in geriatric primary care, memory disorder clinics, hospice, or telemedicine. No entrance exam is required (test optional). The program is offered on three Florida campuses, with clinical sites arranged for students. It features a holistic caring philosophy and requires a 3.0 GPA, one letter of recommendation, and prerequisites.
- No entrance exam required
- Test optional
- 8-Semester program
- Complete in approximately 2.5 years to complete
- 52 total credit hours
- Part-time available
- 1 start dates per year
- Starts fall
- 3.0 GPA minimum
- 1 letters of recommendation (minimum)
Graduate Certificate - Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner
Campus Based - Visit Website
Florida Atlantic University offers a Post Graduate Certificate in Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner for nurses already holding an MSN. This campus-based program focuses on advanced care for adult and older adult populations, with coursework including Advanced Nursing Practice Grounded in Caring. Admission requires a Florida RN license, a 3.0 GPA, a resume, a nursing philosophy essay, and one letter of recommendation. A background check, interview, and onsite writing sample may be required. This certificate is not a degree program but a limited-access pathway to advanced practice certification. The curriculum is designed for working professionals, with all courses delivered on campus. The program holds CCNE or ACEN accreditation.
- Post Graduate Certificate program.
- Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner track.
- Campus-based delivery.
- Requires MSN degree.
- Minimum 3.0 GPA needed.
- RN licensure in Florida.
- Resume or CV required.
- Nursing philosophy essay.
- One letter of recommendation.
- Background check mandatory.
MSN to DNP - BSN to DNP (Adult/Gerontological Nurse Practitioner)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The BSN to DNP program at Florida Atlantic University offers an Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner (AGPCNP) concentration. Its hybrid format combines online learning with on-campus sessions—DNP classes meet one weekend per month, while NP courses are available online or at three South Florida campuses. This 77-credit, 11-semester program includes over 1,000 clinical hours and a scholarly DNP project. The curriculum focuses on evidence-based practice, quality improvement, and healthcare systems leadership. A 'Master's Along the Way' option lets students earn an MSN before completing the doctorate. No GRE is required. Clinical placements are arranged in South Florida. Admissions occur once per year with a summer start. Total tuition is $28,629. Applicants need a 3.0 GPA and two letters of recommendation.
- 3 concentration options
- No entrance exam required
- $28,629 total program tuition
- 11-Semester program
- 77 total credit hours
- Apply by 2026-01-15
- 1 start dates per year
- Starts summer
- Synchronous and asynchronous options
- 3.0 GPA minimum
University of South Florida
Tampa, FL - Public 4-Year - usf.edu
BSN to MSN - Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Campus Based - Visit Website
The University of South Florida's MSN in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner is a campus-based, 57-credit program preparing RNs for advanced practice. Coursework spans the wellness-to-illness continuum, covering research, health policy, leadership, and consultation. Graduates are eligible for ANCC or AANPCB certification and work in settings ranging from community clinics to hospital systems. The curriculum includes a comprehensive exam and emphasizes hands-on clinical experience. With a supportive learning environment and personalized program plans, students develop independent and collaborative decision-making skills for direct patient accountability.
- 57 total credit hours
- Comprehensive exam required
- Prepares for certification exam
BSN to MSN - Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner with Occupational Health Nursing Subspecialty (Occupational Health Nursing)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The MSN in Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner with an Occupational Health Nursing subspecialty at USF is a 74-credit, campus-based program. It merges nursing coursework with public health collaboration, preparing students for ANCC and AANPCB certification. The curriculum covers comprehensive exam requirements and offers grant funding that may cover tuition and fees. Designed for nurses seeking advanced practice roles in adult and geriatric primary care with occupational health expertise, graduates address worker health issues while providing primary care. With a standard curriculum plan and personalized program plan, this graduate program combines nursing and public health courses for a unique dual focus.
- 74 credit hours required
- Campus-based program delivery
- Occupational Health Nursing concentration
- Prepares for ANCC certification exam
- Prepares for AANPCB certification exam
- Adult-Gerontology Primary Care focus
- Combines nursing and public health courses
- Grant funding may cover costs
- Comprehensive exam required
- Standard curriculum plan followed
MSN to DNP - BS-DNP Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Concentration
Campus Based - Visit Website
The BS-DNP with an Adult-Gerontology Primary Care concentration at the University of South Florida prepares registered nurses to become certified AGPCNPs. This campus-based program offers lock-step and new graduate plans, with clinical experiences in ambulatory settings like private practices and public clinics. The curriculum covers advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment, and clinical management for adult and older adult populations. Graduates are eligible for ANCC or AANPCB certification and pursue careers in community health centers and outpatient clinics. Financial aid and scholarships are available, and the program emphasizes patient-centered primary care across the wellness-to-illness continuum.
- Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Specialize in Adult Gerontology Primary Care
- Work in ambulatory care settings
- Offers lock step and new graduate plans
- Provides patient-centered primary care
MSN to DNP - BS-DNP Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Concentration
Campus Based - Visit Website
USF's BS-DNP in Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner is a campus-based program focused on acute and complex health conditions. The lock-step curriculum prepares RNs to manage acute, critical, and chronic illnesses in adults and the frail elderly. Graduates are eligible for ANCC or AACN certification and work in hospitals, ICUs, and outpatient clinics. All course requirements are detailed in the Graduate Catalog, providing a structured path. The program emphasizes patient-centered care and equips nurses for high-acuity environments. With faculty support and a standard curriculum plan, this DNP concentration prepares advanced practice providers for the growing demand in acute care settings.
- Prepares for ANCC or AACN Certification Examination
- Specialize in Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nursing
- Practice in acute and outpatient settings
- Manage acute and complex health conditions
- Patient-centered care for adults and elderly
- Lock Step program plan
- All courses listed in Graduate Catalog
- Standard curriculum plan
MSN to DNP - BS-DNP Occupational Health/Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Concentration (Occupational Health)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The BS-DNP in Occupational Health/Adult-Gerontology Primary Care at the University of South Florida combines primary care and occupational health nursing. This campus-based program prepares RNs to deliver patient-centered care to adults and older adults while managing work-related injuries and illnesses. Students follow a personalized program plan and may access funding through a NIOSH-supported center. Graduates are prepared for ANCC, AANPCB, and ABOHN certification, equipping them for roles in clinics, hospitals, and occupational health settings. The curriculum spans the wellness-to-illness continuum, with two concentration options and scholarship opportunities. It's designed for nurses seeking to improve worker health and safety while providing comprehensive primary care.
- 2 concentration options
- Prepares for ANCC, AANPCB, or ABOHN
- Financial aid available
- Scholarships available
- Patient-centered primary care for adults and elderly
- Focus on occupational health
- NIOSH-funded funding opportunities available
- Personalized program plan after admission
- Manage work-related injuries and illnesses
- Standard curriculum plan
BSN to DNP - BS-DNP Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Concentration
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
- Prepares for ANCC or AACN certification
- Focus on acute and complex conditions
- Practice in acute and outpatient settings
- Individualized program plan
Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner Degree Options
Florida universities offer several educational pathways for becoming an Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner.
| Degree Pathway | Typical Length | Best For | Outcome |
| MSN – Adult-Gerontology NP | 2–3 years | BSN-prepared RNs seeking NP entry | Eligible for national certification |
| DNP – Adult-Gerontology NP | 3–4 years | Nurses seeking leadership or advanced clinical training | Terminal clinical degree |
| Post-Master's AGNP Certificate | 1–2 years | MSN-prepared NPs adding a new population focus | Specialty certification |
To practice as a nurse practitioner in Florida, graduates typically must complete a graduate nursing degree or post-master's certificate and obtain national certification before applying for APRN licensure.
Why Florida Is a Top State for AGNP Students
Florida has one of the largest senior populations in the United States, creating strong demand for providers who specialize in adult and geriatric care.
AGNP students in Florida often benefit from:
- Diverse clinical training environments
- Major teaching hospitals and medical centers
- Large retiree populations needing chronic disease management
- Growing telehealth and outpatient care systems
Common Florida clinical training sites:
Students may complete clinical rotations in settings such as:
- Hospital systems in Tampa Bay, Miami, and Orlando
- Veterans Affairs medical centers
- Community health clinics
- Long-term care facilities and rehabilitation centers
- Geriatric specialty clinics
Because AGNPs focus on patients from young adulthood through advanced age, clinical rotations often include both primary care and acute care experiences.
Check out nurse practitioner schools in Florida.
Program Formats: Online, Hybrid, and Campus
Many Florida nursing schools now offer flexible learning formats to accommodate working nurses.
Online AGNP Programs
Online programs allow students to complete didactic coursework remotely while completing in-person clinical rotations locally.
Benefits include:
- Flexible scheduling for working RNs
- Reduced commuting and relocation costs
- Access to programs across the state
However, students should verify whether the school assists with clinical placement or requires them to find preceptors independently.
Hybrid Programs
Hybrid programs combine online coursework with periodic campus visits for:
- Clinical skills labs
- Simulation experiences
- Research presentations
This format offers a balance between flexibility and hands-on training.
Campus-Based Programs
Traditional campus programs remain common, particularly for DNP programs that include extensive clinical and leadership training.
Advantages include:
- Face-to-face faculty mentorship
- Structured clinical partnerships
- Access to simulation labs and research facilities
Clinical Training and Program Requirements
Clinical education is a core component of AGNP training. Students typically complete hundreds of supervised clinical hours under experienced nurse practitioner or physician preceptors.
Examples of clinical experiences may include:
- Adult primary care clinics
- Internal medicine practices
- Geriatric care settings
- Hospital inpatient units
- Long-term care facilities
Some programs require 600–800 clinical hours or more before graduation.
Tip for Florida Students:
If you live in a rural or coastal area, confirm that the program can arrange clinical placements near your location.
Certification and Licensure in Florida
After graduating from an accredited AGNP program, candidates typically pursue national certification, commonly through organizations such as ANCC or AANP.
Certification eligibility usually requires:
- Active RN license
- Completion of an accredited AGNP graduate program
- Required clinical hours
After passing certification exams, graduates can apply for Florida Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN) licensure through the Florida Board of Nursing.
Florida also allows experienced nurse practitioners to apply for autonomous practice status after completing additional supervised clinical experience, including approximately 3,000 practice hours.
What to Look for in a Florida AGNP Program
Choosing the right program requires evaluating several factors.
Accreditation
Look for programs accredited by:
- CCNE (Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education)
- ACEN (Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing)
Accreditation ensures programs meet national education standards.
Clinical Placement Support
Ask whether the school:
- Provides clinical placement assistance
- Has partnerships with Florida healthcare systems
- Allows placements near your location
Specialty Track
Many AGNP programs offer two different tracks:
- Primary Care AGNP – focuses on outpatient and preventive care
- Acute Care AGNP – prepares nurses for hospital-based care
Program Length and Cost
Costs vary significantly between Florida public universities and private institutions. Consider:
- Tuition and fees
- Clinical travel costs
- Simulation or campus residency requirements
Careers for Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioners
Graduates of AGNP programs in Florida may pursue roles such as:
- Adult primary care nurse practitioner
- Geriatric nurse practitioner
- Hospitalist or acute care NP
- Long-term care provider
- Specialty clinic NP (cardiology, oncology, endocrinology)
AGNPs often work in settings like hospitals, outpatient clinics, and assisted living or nursing facilities caring for aging populations.
FAQs
Q: Can I complete an AGNP program online in Florida?
A: Many programs offer online coursework, but clinical rotations must be completed in person at approved healthcare facilities.
Q: How long does it take to become an AGNP?
A: The timeline typically includes:
- BSN degree (4 years)
- MSN AGNP program (2–3 years)
Doctoral pathways, such as a DNP, may take 3–4 additional years.
Q: What certification exams do AGNP graduates take?
A: Graduates commonly pursue ANCC or AANP Adult-Gerontology NP certification exams, which assess clinical knowledge and decision-making skills.
Latest Articles & Guides
One of the keys to success as a registered nurse is embracing lifelong learning. Our articles and guides address hot topics and current events in nursing, from education to career mobility and beyond. No matter where you are on your nursing journey, there’s an article to help you build your knowledge base.
Browse our latest articles, curated specifically for modern nurses.



