Updated September 15, 202614 min read

How Much Does It Cost to Become a CNA? A Complete Guide

Tuition, exam fees, hidden costs, and proven ways to reduce what you pay for CNA training and certification.

Certified nursing assistant training carries one of the widest price tags in entry-level healthcare education: some state programs charge as little as $200, while private career schools in the same city can bill $2,000 or more for an identical 75-hour curriculum. That spread exists because tuition, exam fees, and background check costs are set independently by each state, not by a single national standard.

Two students sitting for the same certification exam might pay wildly different amounts depending on whether one attends a subsidized community college, the other enrolls at a for-profit vocational school, or a hospital employer covers the tuition in return for an employment commitment.

For an entry-level credential that offers a CNA to RN pathway and leads into a starting wage well above minimum wage in most states, that cost variance is the market's most persistent quirk, and the route a candidate picks determines almost everything about the final bill.

How Much Do CNA Classes Cost on Average?

Nationally, the cost to become a CNA falls somewhere between $400 and $2,800, though where you land in that range depends heavily on the type of CNA Classes & Programs you choose.

Typical Tuition by Program Type

  • Community colleges: Generally the best value, with program costs often clustering between $800 and $1,500. Some public programs run even leaner, such as Temple College at $800 (including the certification exam and drug test) or Coconino Community College at $920, while others land closer to $1,700, like Clackamas Community College.
  • Vocational and trade schools: Usually the priciest route, often $2,000 to $2,800, and sometimes higher. Private California programs, for example, have listed CNA-only tuition near $2,995 and combined CNA plus home health aide tracks above $3,800.
  • Red Cross-style programs: Typically mid-to-low, roughly $400 to $1,200 depending on location and course length.
  • Employer-sponsored programs: Frequently free or heavily subsidized No-Cost CNA Programs, especially through nursing homes and long-term care facilities that need to fill staffing pipelines quickly.

Why the Range Is So Wide

A few factors drive this variation. Public institutions receive funding that private vocational schools do not, which keeps community-college tuition lower. States also set their own minimum training-hour requirements, and programs with more required clinical and classroom hours tend to cost more. Location matters too: rural programs sometimes charge less to attract students, while urban programs may charge more due to demand and overhead. Finally, whether a school is public or private has a bigger impact on price than almost any other single factor.

Tuition Is Only Part of the Picture

These figures cover program costs alone; textbooks, uniforms, background checks, immunizations, and the certification exam fee are typically billed separately, and the next section breaks down every one of those costs individually.

Even at the higher end, CNA training usually takes just 4 to 12 weeks, so the per-week cost remains modest compared with longer healthcare certifications.

Every CNA Expense You Should Budget For

Tuition grabs the headlines, but several smaller fees add up fast. The breakdown below shows every expense category you should plan for when budgeting for CNA training in 2026. Most costs are one-time, though CPR certification typically renews every two years and some employers require updated immunization records periodically.

CNA cost breakdown totaling roughly $1,800, split across tuition, books, scrubs, background check, immunizations, CPR, and state exam fees

CNA Training Costs by State

CNA certification costs vary significantly from state to state, driven by differences in exam vendors, testing fees, and training program tuition. The table below compiles available exam fee and estimated total cost data for selected states. Where tuition ranges for community college or vocational CNA programs are not confirmed by our research, we note that information is not yet available. Keep in mind that the national average for exam and certification costs alone is roughly $151, but total out of pocket expenses will be higher once you factor in tuition, textbooks, scrubs, and other supplies.

StateTypical Tuition RangeExam VendorExam FeeEstimated Total Cost
CaliforniaNot yet confirmedCredentia / Headmaster$35 to $135Varies by program
FloridaNot yet confirmedPrometric$35Varies by program
KansasNot yet confirmedState exam (vendor not specified)Not confirmedAs low as $20
LouisianaNot yet confirmedPrometric$125Varies by program
MissouriNot yet confirmedMissouri Dept. of Health and Senior Services$32Varies by program
NevadaNot yet confirmedCredentiaNot confirmedApproximately $190
New HampshireNot yet confirmedState exam (vendor not specified)Not confirmedApproximately $310
New YorkNot yet confirmedPrometric$57Varies by program
North CarolinaNot yet confirmedCredentia (NNAAP via CNA365)$140Approximately $140
AlaskaNot yet confirmedCredentia (NNAAP)Not confirmedApproximately $230
PennsylvaniaNot yet confirmedCredentia (NNAAP)$135 to $175$157 to $175
WisconsinNot yet confirmedD&S Diversified Technologies (Headmaster)$37.49Varies by program

Online CNA Programs Vs. In-Person: Which Costs Less?

Fully online CNA certification does not exist in any state because clinical hours must be completed in person at an approved facility. What you will find are hybrid programs that move the classroom theory online and schedule lab and clinical work on site. Below is a side-by-side look at how hybrid and traditional in-person programs compare on the factors that matter most to your wallet and your schedule.

FactorHybrid (Online Theory + In-Person Clinical)Traditional In-Person
Typical tuition range$680 to $1,750, with many programs falling between $950 and $1,500$600 to $1,900 at community colleges; $400 to $1,200 at vocational schools
Example: community collegeAlexandria Technical and Community College (MN), approximately $678 for 3 credits in the online/hybrid formatAlexandria Technical and Community College (MN), approximately $624 for the same 3 credits on campus
Example: mid-range programSt. Charles Community College (MO), $950 total for 75 hours of online coursework plus 100 clinical hoursIowa Lakes Community College (IA), $779 tuition plus roughly $85 in fees for 76 total contact hours
Example: higher-cost programRogue Community College (OR), $1,750 for a 4 to 5 week program with 105 training hoursHarford Community College (MD), $1,953 including exam fees and 66 clinical hours
Clinical hours requiredTypically 16 to 100 hours in person at a local facility, depending on state requirementsAll hours, including classroom and lab, are completed on campus or at clinical sites
Schedule flexibilityTheory portion is self-paced or scheduled online, reducing commute days; clinical blocks are condensed into one to three weeksFixed class schedule with set days and times for lectures, lab, and clinical rotations
Additional costs to watchMay charge separate fees for the online platform, clinical placement, or background checkBooks, uniforms, supplies, and background checks are often bundled into total cost but can add $100 to $500
Best fit forWorking adults or caregivers who need to minimize time on campus but can commit to an intensive clinical blockStudents who prefer structured, face-to-face instruction and immediate access to lab equipment

How to Pay Less: Free Training, Scholarships, and Employer Sponsorship

Free CNA training is not a myth, but it usually comes with either a work commitment or strict eligibility criteria. The three most reliable ways to pay less are employer-sponsored programs, state workforce funding, and scholarships or grants.

Employer-Sponsored Programs

Nursing homes and health systems often cover CNA classes and the CNA Certification exam if you agree to work for them afterward. Life Care Center of Andover in Kansas offers a free four-week program, though trainees pay the state exam fee. Seacoast Nursing Home in Massachusetts waives tuition with a six-month employment agreement. MaineHealth runs a paid six-week program in 2026 that includes $18 per hour during training, and Ballad Health and Logan Health offer employer-funded training pathways. Ask facilities directly, because many sponsored spots are not advertised.

State and Nonprofit Funding

Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) money through American Job Centers can cover tuition, books, and exam fees for eligible applicants. Job Corps provides CNA training to young adults at no cost. State examples include SUNY Sullivan, which offers free CNA classes to Sullivan County residents, and Massachusetts community colleges, which used 2025 state funding to provide free noncredit CNA programs at 15 colleges covering books, scrubs, and testing. The Wisconsin Healthcare Workforce Training Institute offered a free CNA program in March 2025 with 30 online hours and 55 clinical hours, including free state testing. Nonprofits like Dwyer Workforce Development also subsidize CNA training.

Scholarships, Grants, and Payment Plans

Pell Grants can help pay for CNA programs at eligible community colleges. Look for state healthcare workforce scholarships, nonprofit grants, and financial aid for nursing students. American Red Cross CNA training is not always free, but sponsor or WIOA partnerships can cover costs in some locations. If full funding is not available, most community colleges and vocational schools offer tuition installment plans that spread the cost over several months.

Reimbursement Rules Worth Checking

If you already work at a Medicare-certified nursing home and paid for your own training, federal rules require the facility to reimburse those costs within 12 months. Some New York state-approved facility programs in 2026 offer paid training and guaranteed full-time employment. Also ask your state Medicaid agency and area hospitals about tuition reimbursement programs.

CNA Salary After Certification: Is the Investment Worth It?

With total training costs typically ranging from $600 to $3,000, most certified nursing assistants recoup their entire educational investment within the first few weeks on the job. The table below shows median and percentile wages in the 25 highest-paying states, drawn from the latest Bureau of Labor Statistics data. Nationally, the BLS projects roughly 204,100 annual openings for nursing assistants over the 2024 to 2034 decade, driven largely by retirements and job transitions, so demand remains strong even though net employment growth is a modest 2.3 percent. Whether you live in a top-paying state like Oregon or Washington or a more moderate-wage market, the quick return on a relatively small upfront cost makes CNA certification one of the most accessible entry points into healthcare.

StateTotal Employment25th Percentile SalaryMedian Salary75th Percentile SalaryMean Salary
Washington30,270$46,980$49,180$57,930$52,230
Oregon14,800$47,480$49,830$59,080$52,160
New York87,990$43,760$48,590$51,980$48,800
New Hampshire7,810$44,890$47,870$54,400$49,290
District of Columbia3,490$42,400$47,700$51,850$47,930
California110,060$45,850$47,630$54,800$50,190
Colorado22,240$44,550$47,380$49,920$47,400
Vermont3,030$40,850$47,130$48,940$46,850
Maine8,540$44,200$47,070$50,190$47,510
New Jersey32,400$43,950$46,830$48,760$46,810
Minnesota29,120$40,340$46,680$49,330$46,030
Massachusetts38,130$44,340$46,680$49,800$47,700
Rhode Island10,220$44,760$46,440$47,460$46,360
Alaska2,060$45,120$46,370$52,240$48,920
Illinois68,640$39,420$45,960$48,380$45,230
North Dakota6,840$36,410$45,820$47,950$43,330
Nevada8,100$39,100$45,490$47,990$44,900
Hawaii5,050$40,060$45,350$50,440$45,710
Wisconsin28,370$39,580$45,130$47,320$44,600
Connecticut21,380$41,900$44,790$47,180$45,440
Arizona20,320$38,320$44,780$46,630$44,820
Pennsylvania67,740$39,270$44,590$46,850$43,960
Maryland27,720$38,400$43,240$45,760$43,310
Virginia40,580$37,020$43,200$46,930$42,160
Delaware5,530$38,490$42,030$45,210$42,290

CNA Pay in the Highest-Demand Metro Areas

Where you work matters almost as much as what you do. CNA salaries vary dramatically across major metro areas, and the highest-paying regions often carry a higher cost of living. Seattle and New York top the pay charts, but housing and everyday expenses eat into those gains. Meanwhile, metros like Minneapolis and Chicago offer strong wages with comparatively moderate living costs, potentially leaving more money in your pocket.

Median CNA salaries in eight high-demand metro areas ranging from $38,530 in Dallas to $51,990 in Seattle, per 2025 BLS data

How to Verify a CNA Program Is State-Approved

Federal law requires every CNA to complete a state-approved Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation Program (NATCEP) of at least 75 clock hours, including a minimum of 16 hours of supervised clinical practice. If a program is not on your state's approved list, its graduates cannot sit for the state competency exam, no matter how polished the coursework looked or how much the tuition cost. Verifying approval before you enroll is the single most important step in protecting your investment and your future CNA Salary.

Step 1: Find Your State's Official Registry

Approval authority varies by state. In California, the Department of Public Health oversees CNA training programs. Florida routes approval through the Florida Board of Nursing. In Texas, Texas Health and Human Services approves NATCEPs. New York splits oversight between the New York State Education Department and the New York State Department of Health. Start at the official agency site for your state, not a third-party ranking or school aggregator, which carry no regulatory weight.

Step 2: Search and Read the Listing Carefully

Most registries let you search by program name, city, or ZIP code. Confirm the listing shows an active or approved status, note the approval or expiration date, and check for any sanctions or probationary flags. Some states, including New York, assign a training program number you will need when you register for the exam, so save it. Facility-based programs are sometimes listed under the nursing home's name rather than a school name.

Step 3: Confirm the Hours Match Your State's Minimum

The federal floor is 75 hours, but many states require more. Texas, for example, mandates 100 total clock hours (60 classroom, 40 clinical). If a program advertises fewer hours than your state requires, treat that as a red flag: it may be outdated marketing or a different, non-qualifying course.

Once you graduate from an approved program, most states give you a limited window (commonly 120 days) to pass the competency exam and land on the nurse aide registry. Verifying approval up front is what makes that window worth anything at all.

Frequently Asked Questions About CNA Costs

According to BLS data, the national median annual wage for nursing assistants is approximately $42,260, a solid return on a training investment that typically costs a fraction of that figure.

Your CNA Cost Questions, Answered

Most aspiring CNAs can cover the entire cost of training and certification for under $1,000, and many earn that amount back during their first month of paid work. Here are the direct answers to the cost questions that come up most often.

How Much Does the CNA Certification Exam Cost?

Plan for $100 to $300 in exam fees, depending on the testing vendor your state uses. Some states use Prometric or Pearson VUE, while others administer their own exams through a state agency. In many programs, the exam fee is already included in tuition, so check your enrollment agreement before paying twice. If you need to retake a section, expect to pay that portion again. Some states also charge a separate license application fee of $25 to $75 after you pass. Always confirm whether your program's listed tuition covers the written and skills portions, because bundled pricing varies widely.

Can I Get CNA Training for Free?

Yes. The three most common free or low-cost routes are: - Employer-sponsored nursing home programs: Many skilled nursing facilities and long-term care communities pay for your training in return for an employment commitment, typically six to twelve months. - State workforce programs: Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act funding or state labor department grants often cover CNA tuition for eligible job seekers. - Community college waivers: Some community colleges waive tuition for students who meet income guidelines or who enroll through a local healthcare partnership.

How Long Does It Take to Become a CNA?

Most students finish in 4 to 12 weeks. Full-time daytime cohorts tend to run four to six weeks, while evening and weekend part-time options stretch closer to ten or twelve weeks. Your state's required clinical hours are the main variable, with most states mandating between 75 and 180 total training hours. Because the schedule is short, missing even a few clinical days can delay your end date, so treat attendance as part of the cost equation.

Is Becoming a CNA Worth the Cost?

For the vast majority of students, yes. Because total upfront costs are low and employment demand is steady, most new CNAs recover their training and exam expenses within their first month of full-time work. That makes the CNA pathway one of the fastest break-even credentials in healthcare, especially if you later use it as a stepping stone toward an LPN to RN bridge or RN program. If you are weighing the cost against future earnings, the math favors action now rather than waiting for a longer nursing program.

Follow us