Updated September 4, 202612 min read

Best CNA Schools in Maine: Top Training Programs for 2027

Compare costs, formats, and pass rates for Maine's state-approved CNA training programs to find the right fit.

Certified nursing assistant programs in Maine typically take four to eight weeks to complete, yet the gap between the cheapest and most expensive options can run well over a thousand dollars. That cost spread matters because demand for CNAs across the state's nursing facilities and hospitals continues to outpace supply, making rapid, affordable entry into the field a real priority for both students and employers.

Training paths range from employer-paid programs at long-term care facilities, where you earn a wage while you learn, to certificate programs at various Nursing Schools in Maine with broader clinical exposure. The practical challenge is sorting out which format, price point, and location actually fits your situation, especially given Maine's rural geography and the lingering confusion around minimum training hours.

Maine's Most Affordable CNA Programs for 2027

These Maine schools pair manageable out-of-pocket costs or grant-funded training with a clear path to state certification. The programs below made the cut because they keep the road to a CNA license affordable without sacrificing clinical preparation.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Net price after aid
  • Financial aid access
  • Post-program earnings
  • Path to Maine certification
Data sources

Maine College of Health Professions

#1

Lewiston, ME · $26,000/yr

Best for: Learners wanting hospital-affiliated training

Maine College of Health Professions is a private health sciences college affiliated with Central Maine Medical Center. Its CNA course follows the Maine State Board of Nursing curriculum and pairs classroom work with clinical experience across patient age groups. The hospital connection gives students a clear view of regional employers, and the low student-to-faculty ratio supports close instruction. Institution-wide, about two-thirds of full-time students complete a degree or certificate, context that applies to the college rather than to this CNA course alone.

ACEN accredited
  • ACEN accredited
  • Course code CNA 030
  • Aligned with Maine State Board of Nursing curriculum
  • Combines classroom and clinical instruction
  • Covers patient care across the lifespan
  • Builds infection control and communication skills
  • Prepares students for the state certification exam

Eastern Maine Community College

#2

Bangor, ME · $9,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Budget-conscious students seeking grant-funded paths

Eastern Maine Community College is a public two-year college and a recognizable on-ramp into regional healthcare careers. Its CNA program blends classroom work, skills labs, and RN-supervised clinical hours, and graduates are ready to sit for the Maine state certification exam. Through workforce development grants and a Northern Light Health partnership, some accepted students have accessed no-cost and paid-learning routes. The college's overall completion rate sits near one in three, an institution-wide figure that reflects its open-access mission and large number of part-time working adults.

  • Maine state approved
  • Classroom, lab, and clinical training
  • Free training options through workforce grants
  • Board exam preparation included
  • RN-supervised clinical experiences
  • Rolling admission for eligible applicants
  • Employer partnerships can include paid learning

Your Path to CNA Certification in Maine

Becoming a certified nursing assistant in Maine follows a clear, structured process. From meeting basic eligibility requirements to joining the state registry, most candidates can complete the entire journey in a matter of weeks. Here is what each step involves.

Five steps to CNA certification in Maine: meet eligibility at age 16, complete 130 plus training hours, pass two-part competency exam, apply to state registry, begin working

Maine CNA Training Hours: The 130 Vs. 180 Confusion Explained

Search for Maine CNA training requirements online and you'll hit a frustrating contradiction: some pages say you need 130 hours to certify, others insist on 180. Here's the straight answer for 2026.

The Current State Minimum: 130 Hours

Maine's Department of Health and Human Services, through its Division of Licensing and Certification, and the Maine Board of Nursing set the minimum approved training at 130 hours. That standard has been in effect since the Board of Nursing curriculum update dated September 1, 2021. To be eligible for the state competency exam and placement on the CNA Registry, your program, as part of learning how to become a certified nursing assistant, must be state-approved and deliver at least this minimum.

How the 130 Hours Break Down

  • Classroom and theory: 70 hours covering topics like infection control, resident rights, communication, and basic nursing concepts.
  • Skills lab: 20 hours practicing hands-on care in a supervised, non-patient setting.
  • Supervised clinical: 40 hours delivering direct patient care in a long-term care or clinical facility under a licensed instructor.

Where the 180-Hour Figure Comes From

Before the 2021 curriculum change, Maine's minimum was 180 hours, and older program pages, cached state documents, and third-party listings still reference that number. In 2019, some adult education providers publicly noted the reduction "from 180 hours down to 130 hours." If you're reading a 180-hour claim on a Maine-focused page in 2026, it's almost certainly outdated language, not a competing legal standard.

Why Some Programs Still Run 180 Hours

A handful of Maine CNA Classes & Programs voluntarily offer an expanded 180-hour format, typically 90 hours of theory, 20 in skills lab, and 70 in clinical. This isn't a separate license tier: graduates sit for the same competency exam and earn the same certification. Facilities sometimes prefer the longer format because the extra clinical hours ease new-hire orientation, and students who want more bedside practice before testing may find it worth the additional time.

Earn While You Learn: Free and Employer-Paid CNA Training in Maine

Several of Maine's largest health systems now pay you to complete CNA training, covering tuition and often exam fees while you earn a wage from day one. The table below compares the major employer-sponsored programs active in 2026. Because demand for CNAs remains high across the state, these programs fill quickly and waitlists are common, so prospective students should apply as early as possible and contact the sponsoring organization directly for current openings.

Program SponsorTraining PayTuition and Exam Fee CoveragePost-Training Employment CommitmentGeographic Availability
MaineHealth CNA Apprenticeship$18/hour during trainingTuition and textbooks are free; exam fee coverage is not explicitly confirmed1 year at 20 or more hours per weekMaineHealth system facilities statewide
MaineGeneral Earn to Learn$18.25/hour during trainingTraining is paid, though exam fee coverage is not specified in program materialsNot formally stated; trainees transition to CNA roles with a pay increase upon certificationMaineGeneral Medical Center and MaineGeneral Rehabilitation and Long-Term Care (Augusta area)
Northern Light Health Work to Grow / Sponsorship ProgramFull-time pay during a 10-week course (specific hourly rate not published)Yes, both tuition and State of Maine CNA exam fees are coveredEmployment commitment required after placement on the Maine CNA Registry (exact duration not specified)Northern Light Health system sites across Maine; open to current staff and community applicants

What CNA Training Actually Costs in Maine

Before you enroll, it helps to see where your money actually goes. A typical paid CNA program at a Maine community college or vocational school runs roughly $1,500 to $2,500 all in, though employer-sponsored and grant-funded options can cut tuition to near zero. Here is how the major cost components break down for a standard paid program.

Typical total CNA training cost in Maine of about $1,783, broken into tuition, exam, textbooks, scrubs, and background check components in 2026

Online Vs. In-Person CNA Classes: What Maine Students Can Actually Access

Federal and Maine state regulations require all CNA students to complete clinical hours in person, meaning fully online programs simply do not exist. Several Maine programs, however, now offer hybrid formats that move classroom theory online while preserving hands-on training at approved clinical sites.

What Hybrid Actually Means in Maine

Hybrid CNA programs split training into two components: didactic coursework (medical terminology, anatomy, patient rights) delivered through online modules you can complete at your own pace, and clinical rotations conducted at healthcare facilities under direct supervision. Eastern Maine Community College's Katahdin Higher Education Center offers one well-documented hybrid option with 70 required clinical hours. Adult education programs in Ellsworth, Sanford, and other communities have also incorporated online or evening classroom components to accommodate working adults.

Benefits for Rural and Working Students

  • Flexible scheduling: Self-paced online theory modules let you study around work or family obligations
  • Reduced travel: Rural students may cut commute time significantly by completing lectures remotely
  • Evening options: Adult education centers in Bangor, Biddeford, and Lewiston offer evening class schedules

Limitations to Consider

  • Clinical travel still required: Even with online theory, you must travel to a clinical site for hands-on training
  • Limited rural clinical availability: Some areas have fewer partnering facilities, potentially creating scheduling delays
  • Employer preferences: Some healthcare employers prefer candidates who completed fully in-person training, viewing it as more rigorous preparation

MaineHealth programs, while using video conferencing for certain instruction, are not structured as self-paced online courses. If flexibility matters to your situation, confirm with any prospective program exactly which components are remote and how clinical scheduling works before enrolling.

The Maine CNA Competency Exam: Format, Fees, and Pass Rates

Once you finish a state-approved training program, the last hurdle before certification is Maine's CNA competency exam. Prometric administers the test on behalf of the state, and candidates register for a testing date through Prometric's scheduling system rather than through their training provider. Testing sites are located in cities including Portland, Lewiston, Bangor, South Portland, Auburn, Biddeford, Augusta, Saco, and Sanford, so most students can find a location within reasonable driving distance. Questions about registration can be directed to 207-624-7300 or 800-791-4080.

Two Parts, One Certification

The exam has two components, and both must be passed to earn certification. The knowledge portion consists of 70 questions covering nursing assistant fundamentals, with a two-hour time limit and a required score of 70 percent to pass. The skills portion is hands-on: candidates demonstrate five randomly assigned nursing tasks in front of an evaluator within a 30-minute window. Certain critical steps, like proper hand hygiene, must be performed with complete accuracy. Missing a critical step on any skill typically means failing that skill, even if the rest of the demonstration goes smoothly.

Fees, Retakes, and What Happens After You Pass

The exam fee is $115. Candidates who don't pass on the first try aren't out of options: Maine allows up to three attempts within a two-year window following completion of training, though only the portion you failed generally needs to be retaken. Once you've passed both parts, Prometric forwards your results to the state, which then adds your name to the Maine Nurse Aide Registry, the official list confirming you're certified to work. Processing isn't instantaneous, so expect a short wait before your registry listing appears, and hold onto your results paperwork in case an employer needs proof of certification before that listing updates.

CNA Wages Across Maine: Statewide and by Metro Area

Maine CNAs earn a statewide median of about $47,070 per year, which is notably higher than the national median of roughly $38,200. That difference reflects both strong demand for nursing assistants across the state and Maine's persistent healthcare workforce shortages, particularly in rural areas and long term care settings. Metro level wage data is limited, but the statewide picture shows solid earning potential even at the entry level.

LocationMedian Annual Wage25th Percentile75th PercentileMean Annual Wage
Maine (statewide)$47,070$44,200$50,190$47,510
United States (national)$38,200N/AN/A$39,600

Where to Find CNA Classes by Region: Portland, Bangor, Lewiston, and Rural Maine

Southern Maine Community College in South Portland and Central Maine Community College in Auburn anchor the state's two busiest CNA training corridors, giving students in the Portland and Lewiston-Auburn areas the widest mix of program formats and start dates. Regional hospitals in both metros also run their own CNA cohorts, often tied to a job offer on completion.

Central and Northern Maine

Kennebec Valley Community College serves the Augusta and Waterville area with both credit and non-credit CNA tracks, while Eastern Maine Community College in Bangor covers the state's northern population center. Career and technical education centers in these regions sometimes open CNA seats to adult students in the evenings, though availability shifts year to year based on instructor staffing and clinical site partnerships.

The Rural Reality

Outside these hubs, options thin out fast, a familiar pattern documented in the Guide to Rural Nursing. Aroostook, Washington, and much of Piscataquis County have no standing CNA classroom, which means students either commute an hour or more to the nearest community college or vocational center, or wait for a nursing home to sponsor an on-site cohort. Clinical rotations compound the problem: even when didactic coursework is available online, the hands-on hours still require a nearby long-term care facility willing to host students, and rural Maine has far fewer of those slots per capita than the southern coast.

Hybrid formats help close some of the gap. A student in Millinocket or Calais can often complete lecture material remotely and drive in only for skills labs and clinical days, cutting total commuting time even if it doesn't eliminate it.

Scheduling for Working Adults

Evening and weekend sections exist in most regions but fill quickly, particularly at community colleges and hospital-based programs that cater to career changers holding down full-time jobs. Checking directly with each program for its next term's schedule, a step worth pairing with the guidance in How to Choose a Nursing Program, is the most reliable way to find a seat that fits.

Follow us