Emergency Nurse Practitioner Programs

Nurses in the field of urgent and emergency care looking to advance in the specialty have the option of becoming an emergency nurse practitioner. This advanced-practice nurse is a leader in critical care and emergency medicine, treating patients with a variety of acute conditions. There are specialized advanced practice programs designed specifically for this fast-paced and rewarding career.
2027 Best Emergency Nurse Practitioner Programs
Rhode Island College
Providence, RI - Public 4-Year - ric.edu
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (Adult/Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Rhode Island College offers a Master of Science in Nursing with an Adult/Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner concentration. This CCNE-accredited program, one of three concentration options, provides rigorous clinical training for advanced practice with complex adult and elderly patients. Students develop expertise in critical care, clinical assessment, and specialized patient management, with multiple certification exam pathways available upon graduation. The evidence-based curriculum emphasizes professional nursing leadership, preparing graduates for acute healthcare settings and advanced leadership roles. Comprehensive health requirements ensure clinical readiness for this campus-based program.
- Three concentration options available
- CCNE accredited program
- Multiple certification exam pathways
- Advanced clinical training
- Comprehensive health requirements
- Professional nursing leadership focus
- Evidence-based practice emphasis
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (Adult/Gerontology Acute Care Clinical Nurse Specialist)
Campus Based - Visit Website
The Master of Science in Nursing at Rhode Island College features an Adult/Gerontology Acute Care Clinical Nurse Specialist concentration, designed for nurses seeking advanced clinical expertise in acute care. As part of a CCNE-accredited program with three concentration options, students focus on complex patient management and evidence-based practice. The curriculum includes advanced clinical training, comprehensive health requirements, and preparation for critical certification exams. Professional nursing identity development and evidence-based curriculum design are central themes, empowering graduates to transform healthcare delivery and improve patient outcomes in acute settings. Multiple certification pathways support advanced practice roles.
- 3 concentration options available
- CCNE accredited program
- Multiple certification exam pathways
- Advanced clinical nursing focus
- Comprehensive health requirements
- Evidence-based curriculum design
- Professional nursing identity development
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (Population/Public Health)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Rhode Island College's Master of Science in Nursing with a Population/Public Health concentration prepares nurses for transformative leadership in community health. This CCNE-accredited program, one of three concentration options, emphasizes population-level healthcare strategies, community education, and public health leadership. Students build skills in evidence-based practice, health promotion, and systemic improvement to address complex community health challenges. The curriculum includes certification exam preparation and advanced nursing practice focus, leading to leadership roles in community settings. Graduates emerge as key professionals capable of driving meaningful population health outcomes and improving healthcare delivery across diverse populations.
- 3 concentration options available
- CCNE accredited program
- Leadership roles in community health
- Certification exam preparation
- Advanced nursing practice focus
Emory University
Atlanta, GA - Private 4-year - emory.edu
BSN to MSN - Family/Emergency Nurse Practitioner (Emergency Nurse Practitioner)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Emory University's Family/Emergency Nurse Practitioner DNP program, centered on the Emergency Nurse Practitioner concentration, delivers a seven-semester, campus-based curriculum for experienced nurses. Students complete over 700 clinical hours in Level I trauma centers, emergency departments, and primary care clinics, with hands-on training in advanced procedures and interdisciplinary collaboration. The program's state-of-the-art clinical laboratory and on-campus hospital enhance skill acquisition across the lifespan. Emory's United Methodist heritage and military-friendly policies support a diverse learning environment. Graduates are prepared for dual certifications as Family and Emergency Nurse Practitioners, enabling careers in urgent care, emergency medicine, and primary care. Admission exam requirements are not explicitly stated; applicants should verify current criteria with the program.
- Seven-semester DNP program
- 700+ clinical training hours
- Advanced procedural skills training
- Emergency and primary care focus
- Interdisciplinary learning experiences
- State-of-the-art clinical laboratory
- Level I Trauma Center exposure
- Dual certification preparation
BSN to MSN - Emergency Nurse Practitioner
Campus Based - Visit Website
Emory University's Emergency Nurse Practitioner program offers a doctoral pathway focused on acute and emergency care. The curriculum builds on Family Nurse Practitioner principles, emphasizing evaluation, management, and treatment of urgent conditions across all ages. Students gain expertise in complex clinical scenarios, ethical decision-making, and certification readiness. The campus-based format includes access to an on-campus hospital, providing real-world clinical exposure. As a United Methodist institution, Emory integrates values-based practice into its military-friendly academic environment. Graduates are positioned for Emergency Nurse Practitioner certification and leadership roles in emergency departments, urgent care centers, and rural health settings. No entrance exam is specified in available materials, so prospective students should contact the school for admission details.
- Emergency care across life spans
- Family Nurse Practitioner preparation
- Certification exam readiness
- Ethical healthcare framework
- Acute setting expertise
Vanderbilt University
Nashville, TN - Private 4-year - vanderbilt.edu
BSN to MSN - Emergency Nurse Practitioner Specialty
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
Vanderbilt University's Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP) specialty prepares experienced RNs for advanced roles in urgent and emergency care through a hybrid format with flexible full- and part-time study. The program uniquely offers dual Family Nurse Practitioner and Emergency Nurse Practitioner certification paths, ensuring graduates can treat patients across the lifespan. Curriculum highlights include advanced health assessment, clinical reasoning, and emergency procedures, all aligned with AACN educational standards. Students participate in robust nationwide clinical placements, supported by low faculty-to-student ratios. Admission requires significant ED nursing experience and current professional certifications, making this an intensive, career-focused program for practicing nurses.
- Flexible full/part-time options
- Hybrid online/on-campus format
- Robust nationwide clinical experiences
- Requires RN emergency experience
- Dual certification potential
- Low faculty-to-student ratios
- Comprehensive emergency care curriculum
Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA - Private 4-year - drexel.edu
BSN to MSN - MSN: Family/Individual Across the Lifespan with Emergency Specialization (Emergency Nurse Practitioner)
Online Learning - Visit Website
Drexel University's online MSN in Family/Individual Across the Lifespan with Emergency Specialization offers a unique dual preparation for FNP and ENP certification. This CCNE-accredited program combines family nurse practitioner training with emergency care specialization, enabling graduates to treat patients of all ages in primary and emergency settings. Highlights include a #8 national online program ranking, a 100% board exam pass rate, and eligibility for both FNP and ENP exams. Students engage in synchronous interactive lectures, utilize a state-of-the-art simulation lab, and learn from experienced board-certified faculty. The curriculum follows four 10-week quarters annually and requires 1-2 years of emergency experience plus mandatory on-campus intensive sessions. Applicants need a BSN from an accredited institution with a 3.0 GPA.
- CCNE accredited program
- 100% board exam pass rate
- Two certification exam eligibilities
- Synchronous interactive lectures
- 1-2 years emergency experience required
- Mandatory on-campus intensive sessions
- Four 10-week quarters annually
- State-of-the-art simulation lab
- Experienced board-certified faculty
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, AL - Public 4-Year - uab.edu
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Family Nurse Practitioner and Emergency Nurse Practitioner dual-option specialty (Emergency Nurse Practitioner)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The University of Alabama at Birmingham offers an MSN with a dual-option specialty in Family Nurse Practitioner and Emergency Nurse Practitioner, with a dedicated ENP concentration. This hybrid program blends online coursework with on-campus experiences, designed for registered nurses with at least one year of emergency care experience. Students receive interdisciplinary training covering acute and life-threatening conditions, emergency department operations, urgent care, and transport medicine. The curriculum emphasizes evidence-based emergency-specific practices and prepares graduates for national certification exams. Led by expert faculty, the program combines academic rigor with practical emergency medicine knowledge, enabling nurses to deliver critical care across diverse high-intensity settings. This flexible distance-accessible format supports working professionals seeking advanced emergency nursing skills.
- Emergency NP subspecialty track
- Hybrid/distance education format
- Interdisciplinary instruction
- Certification exam preparation
- Requires 1+ year emergency experience
- Dual-option MSN specialty
- Expert faculty leadership
University of South Alabama
Mobile, AL - Public 4-Year - southalabama.edu
BSN to MSN - Dual Role (Family NP/Emergency NP) (Emergency Nurse Practitioner)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The University of South Alabama offers a hybrid Dual Role Family NP/Emergency NP program designed for nurses seeking advanced clinical skills in urgent and primary care. This 57-credit curriculum includes 840 clinical practicum hours and 2-3 on-campus intensives, preparing graduates for dual certification. The Emergency Nurse Practitioner concentration equips students to manage acute, critical, and urgent conditions across ages in emergency and primary care settings. With a five-year completion window, the program offers flexibility while maintaining a rigorous, comprehensive advanced nursing curriculum. Graduates can pursue careers in emergency departments, urgent care clinics, and primary care practices.
- 57 total credit hours
- 840 clinical practicum hours
- Hybrid program format
- 2-3 on-campus clinical intensives
- Prepares for dual certification
- Career opportunities in multiple settings
- Comprehensive advanced nursing curriculum
- Five-year program completion window
Samford University
Birmingham, AL - Private 4-year - samford.edu
BSN to MSN - MSN to DNP Emergency Nurse Practitioner
Online Learning - Visit Website
Samford University's online MSN to DNP with an Emergency Nurse Practitioner concentration is designed for master's-prepared Family Nurse Practitioners seeking advanced expertise in urgent and critical care. This two-year program encompasses 660 clinical hours, a single on-campus intensive, and flexible clinical placements. Candidates must hold current FNP certification and a 3.5 GPA; no entrance exam is required. Graduates are prepared for national ENP certification, and the program reports a 100% FNP certification pass rate. As a Baptist-affiliated, military-friendly institution, Samford offers a supportive environment for working nurses to elevate their emergency care practice without relocating.
- Online 2-year DNP program
- 660 clinical practice hours
- ENP national certification prep
- Minimum 3.5 GPA required
- One on-campus intensive
- Flexible clinical placement
- 100% FNP certification pass rate
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Houston, TX - Public 4-Year - uth.edu
BSN to MSN - Emergency Nurse Practitioner (Emergency/Trauma Care)
Online & Campus Based - Visit Website
The Emergency Nurse Practitioner (ENP) concentration at UTHealth Houston specializes in Emergency/Trauma Care, preparing advanced practice nurses for high-acuity environments. This hybrid, post-graduate program combines mostly online coursework with occasional on-campus sessions, offering two enrollment pathways and 10 credit hours of study. Students develop expertise in comprehensive assessment, critical intervention, and acute care, with interprofessional training opportunities and practice in emergency departments. The program can be completed in 2–3 semesters and prepares graduates for the ENP certification examination. Competitive $10,000 student stipends are available. The program does not specify an entrance exam requirement. Graduates emerge ready to excel in emergency and trauma care settings.
- Unique Texas-based ENP specialty track
- 10 credit hour program
- Mostly online education
- Post-graduate program
- $10,000 student stipends available
- Two enrollment pathways
- 2-3 semester completion
- Practice in emergency departments
- Interprofessional training opportunities
Widener University
Chester, PA - Private 4-year - widener.edu
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing with major in Burn, Emergency, and Trauma Nursing (Emergency Nursing)
Campus Based - Visit Website
Widener University offers a campus-based Master of Science in Nursing with a specialized concentration in Emergency Nursing, designed for advanced practice in high-acuity settings. The curriculum emphasizes critical patient assessment, trauma management, and rapid medical response, preparing nurses to make decisive, life-saving interventions in emergency departments and urgent care environments. Students develop proficiency in handling complex clinical scenarios through rigorous coursework and practical training. The program is structured to build leadership skills for emergency healthcare leadership, and the university is recognized as military-friendly, supporting veterans and active-duty personnel. Graduates are equipped to deliver expert care in fast-paced, unpredictable medical situations, making them valuable assets in emergency medicine.
- Campus-based MSN program
- Emergency Nursing concentration
- Advanced nursing skills training
- Specialized trauma care focus
- Professional emergency healthcare preparation
University of Alabama in Huntsville
Huntsville, AL - Public 4-Year - uah.edu
BSN to MSN - Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) (Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner)
Campus Based - Visit Website
This MSN program at the University of Alabama in Huntsville prepares registered nurses for advanced practice as Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioners (AGACNP). The curriculum emphasizes complex acute care management, diagnostic reasoning, and evidence-based interventions for adult and elderly populations. Students engage in clinical experiences across intensive care, emergency, and critical care settings, with coursework addressing acute care pharmacology, pathophysiology, and health policy. CCNE accreditation ensures quality, and an optional DNP pathway supports further career advancement. The program is designed for working professionals and is recognized as military-friendly. Admission does not specify a GRE requirement; applicants should verify the latest entrance exam policies.
- CCNE Accredited Program
- Advanced Clinical Specialization
- Evidence-Based Practice Focus
- Comprehensive Acute Care Training
- Optional DNP Pathway Available
Choosing an Emergency Nurse Practitioner Program
There are a few things students should consider when researching emergency nurse practitioner programs:
Accreditation
Proper accreditation, through national organizations like the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and the Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN) are essential in choosing a good emergency nurse practitioner program. Local and regional accreditations may also be available.
Program Cost
Emergency nurse practitioner programs usually list their tuition per credit hour. Most programs in the specialty charge between $800 and $1,000 or more per credit, for both master's and doctoral pathways. Keep in mind that tuition costs don't typically include additional expenses such as program fees, course materials, and other mandatory costs.
Program Length
MSN-level emergency nurse practitioner programs generally require around 55 credits in order to graduate, meaning that students can usually finish in 4-7 semesters, depending on part-time or full-time study. DNP emergency nurse practitioner programs require roughly 77 credits to graduate, and are sometimes combined with a family nurse practitioner subspecialty. Students in a doctoral program typically finish with 3-4 years of dedicated study.
Internship/Externship Opportunities
Clinical hours are required with either degree level of the emergency nurse practitioner program. Many schools have relationships with local hospitals and medical centers in which students can complete their hands-on training; prospective students can inquire with their school of choice.
Online/Campus Options
Many programs now offer both online and campus-based emergency nurse practitioner programs. Some schools even offer a "hybrid" program, allowing students to take many courses online but also offering classroom-based lectures and labs.
See Related Articles
Emergency Nurse Practitioner Degree Levels Offered
Students have the choice of entering a master's or doctoral degree to become an emergency nurse practitioner. While MSN degrees are more common for this specialty, DNP programs are available, many in conjunction with another nurse practitioner specialty, such as the family nurse practitioner (FNP).
MSN Programs
MSN-level emergency nurse practitioner programs are cropping up all over the country. Students enrolled in this type of program take courses such as Introduction to Clinical Specialty: Emergency Nurse Practitioner, Management of Acute and Chronic Illness, and Health Care Quality and Patient Safety. In addition to the coursework, students will also be required to complete a minimum number of clinical hours in the field. Emory University, as an example, offers an accredited MSN Emergency Nurse Practitioner program.
DNP Programs
Doctoral emergency nurse practitioner programs are most commonly paired with a family nurse practitioner specialty. Students enrolled in this type of program can expect to take courses like Social Determinants of Health, FNP in Emergency Care Theory, Leadership for the Doctor of Nursing Practice, and more. The DNP curriculum goes beyond the master's degree to emphasize leadership within the practice. Rutgers School of Nursing offers a Family Nurse Practitioner in Emergency Care DNP program.
Learn about post-master’s emergency nurse practitioner certificate programs.
Online Emergency Nurse Practitioner Programs
Online emergency nurse practitioner programs are steadily growing in popularity, and schools are beginning to offer more of these distance-learning options. Be aware that some online programs still require a few on-campus experiences, and all students will still need to complete their clinical rotations in person.
Advantages of an Online Program
Students with busy lifestyles and hectic schedules appreciate the convenience and flexibility of online coursework, as they are able to complete classes from the comfort of home. This is also an invaluable resource for those who live in rural areas and may not have a university nearby. Online emergency nurse practitioner students also have the advantage of reduced transportation costs, such as gas and parking fees.
Program Accreditation
Like their classroom-based counterparts, online emergency nurse practitioner programs should be fully accredited. ACEN or CCNE accreditation is indicative of a quality program.
Costs and Length
Distance-based emergency nurse practitioner programs require the same amount of credits as campus-based programs do, but generally offer more flexibility regarding when and where the coursework is completed. This means that program length can fluctuate more for online programs. Tuition can also be similar to campus programs, although online students won't have to worry about transportation expenses. For example, Drexel University offers an online emergency nurse practitioner program with a tuition cost of $1,044 per credit.
What Are the Admissions and Certification Requirements?
Admissions requirements for most emergency nurse practitioner programs include:
- BSN or MSN from an accredited university
- GPA of 3.0 or above
- Current, unrestricted United States RN license
- 1-2 years applicable professional experience may be required
- Two professional letters of recommendation
- Personal statement/essay
- ACLS, BLS, PALS certifications
The American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board offers an ENP certification by examination. Current Family Nurse Practitioners who wish to specialize as ENPs can take the exam if they meet one of the eligibility options outlined below.
Option 1:
- Minimum of 2,000 direct, emergency care clinical practice hours as a Family NP in the past 5 years
- Evidence of 100 hours of continuing emergency care education
- Minimum of 30 continuing emergency care education hours in emergency care procedural skills within those 5 years
Option 2:
- Completion of an academic emergency care graduate/post-graduate NP program from an accredited nursing program, OR
- Completion of a dual FNP/ENP graduate/post-graduate certificate program from an accredited nursing program
Option 3:
- Completion of an approved emergency fellowship program
List of Emergency Nurse Practitioner Programs
There are a variety of emergency nurse practitioner programs available including the following schools below.
Jump to Your State Listings
Alabama
Samford University
- Emergency Nurse Practitioner Hybrid
- Emergency Nurse Practitioner Online
Birmingham, AL 35229
(205) 726-2011
Arizona
Arizona State University
- Emergency Nurse Practitioner Campus
Phoenix, AZ 85004
(480) 965-7788
Florida
Jacksonville University
- MSN - FNP/ENP Campus
Jacksonville, FL 32211
(904) 266-8000
Georgia
Emory University
- Emergency Nurse Practitioner Hybrid
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 727-7980
Pennsylvania
Drexel University
Philadelphia, PA 19104
(877) 215-0009
Are we missing your school's program or need to update information listed? Please contact us so we can make the necessary changes.
