Updated August 29, 202616 min read

Best Online Nurse Practitioner Programs in Delaware

Compare costs, clinical hours, and specialties across Delaware's top NP programs to find your best fit.

Can a Delaware RN complete Nurse Practitioner training online and still reach full practice authority? In a state with only three in-state NP options, that question filters most searches. Delaware grants NPs independent practice and prescriptive authority upon APRN licensure, so clinical placement logistics matter as much as coursework.

Salary sharpens the trade-off: Delaware NPs earn above the national median, though metro pay varies. For working RNs, the constraint is matching a specialty like FNP, ACNP, or PMHNP with preceptor availability and tuition spread. MSN-NP timelines run two to three years, BSN-to-DNP tracks stretch closer to five. Because in-state seats are scarce, many nurses compare out-of-state online nurse practitioner programs on clinical placement logistics before applying.

Highest-Rated Online NP Programs for Delaware Residents: 2027 Rankings

Delaware nurses who want to become nurse practitioners can choose among fully online MSN tracks, hybrid programs with occasional campus intensives, and post-master's certificates for nurses already practicing at an advanced level. The three schools below carry the state's main NP offerings, and each takes a different approach to flexibility, specialty breadth, and price. Specialty availability is the place to start, because not every track is offered everywhere and the format that fits a working nurse's schedule varies by school.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institutional graduation rates
  • Online and hybrid delivery availability
  • Specialty breadth and accreditation
  • Net price after aid
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

University of Delaware

#1

Newark, DE · $20,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working RNs seeking every major NP track

The University of Delaware offers the widest slate of NP pathways in the state, spanning Family, Adult Gerontology Primary Care, Adult Gerontology Acute Care, Psychiatric Mental Health, and Pediatric Primary Care at the master's and doctoral levels. Coursework runs online or hybrid with occasional on-campus intensives in Newark, and the school builds clinical placement support into its primary and acute care tracks. A Dean's Scholarship sets a single per-credit rate that applies to Delaware residents and out-of-state students alike.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • Three-year completion time
  • Multiple start terms: fall, winter, spring, summer
  • $886 per credit after the Dean's Scholarship discount
  • Same per-credit rate for in-state and out-of-state students
  • Online delivery with a Family/Individual Across the Lifespan track
  • Bachelor's degree in nursing required for admission
CCNE accredited
  • 42 total credit hours
  • 816 clinical hours with preceptor placement support
  • Three-year part-time plan of study for working nurses
  • Occasional on-campus intensives in Newark
  • 100% licensure pass rate reported by the program
  • 3.0 minimum GPA
  • Financial aid and scholarships available
CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid format combining online coursework with campus time
  • Three-year completion time
  • Prepares graduates for advanced practice psychiatric roles
  • Interprofessional education opportunities
  • Evidence-based practice training threaded through the curriculum
  • Bachelor's degree in nursing required for admission
  • Online certificate for nurses who already hold an NP or CNS credential
  • 24 to 40 credit hours
  • 750 or more supervised clinical hours
  • Two to three years of part-time study
  • 3.5 minimum GPA for admission
  • Individual gap analysis determines required coursework
  • Leads to board certification eligibility in adult gerontology primary care
CCNE accredited
  • 81 total credit hours
  • 1120 clinical hours
  • No entrance exam required
  • Full-time and part-time plans available
  • Hybrid format with on-campus intensives
  • Prepares graduates for national FNP certification
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • 1016 clinical hours
  • $1,116 per credit
  • Pediatric Primary Care concentration
  • Capstone project required
  • Minimum of three letters of recommendation
  • Work experience required for admission
CCNE accredited
  • 1008 clinical training hours
  • Psychotherapy and medication management across the lifespan
  • Post-baccalaureate and post-master's entry options
  • Admission interview required
CCNE accredited
  • Focus on primary care for adults and older adults
  • Delaware RN licensure required
  • One year of nursing experience required
  • Preparation for leadership in interdisciplinary care teams

Delaware State University

#2

Dover, DE · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)

HBCU

Best for: Delaware RNs advancing through a fully online pathway

Delaware State University, a public HBCU in Dover, offers fully online MSN tracks in Family Nurse Practitioner and Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, along with an online RN-to-MSN pathway for nurses building toward an advanced role. The curriculum leans into health disparities, social determinants of health, and care for underserved communities, which matches the populations many Delaware nurses already serve. State authorization rules mean some states are excluded from enrollment, so applicants outside Delaware should confirm eligibility before applying.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 100% online; applicants select ONLINE as the campus location
  • Prepares graduates for APRN licensure and national certification
  • Clinical practice across acute, episodic, and chronic care
  • Curriculum emphasizes health disparities and social determinants
  • Flat $500 per credit tuition listed for the online MSN
  • Some states are not eligible; verify authorization before applying
CCNE accredited
  • Online PMHNP option within the MSN program
  • Lifespan mental health focus with integrated therapeutic modalities
  • Emphasis on primary prevention and holistic evidence-based care
  • Prepares graduates for APRN licensure and certification exams
  • Diversity and equity themes built into coursework
  • Regional tuition rate for students from nearby states

Wilmington University

#3

New Castle, DE · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Master's-prepared nurses adding psychiatric certification

Wilmington University keeps NP study close to home with hybrid and online tracks anchored at its New Castle and Georgetown sites. Offerings span a post-master's Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner certificate, MSN tracks in Adult Gerontology Primary Care and Family Nurse Practitioner, and a combined PMHNP certificate and DNP for nurses who already hold a master's degree. A small number of face-to-face seminars each year keeps working nurses connected to campus while most coursework stays remote.

  • Fully online with no campus attendance requirement
  • 31 credits and 750 clinical hours
  • Focus on psychopharmacology and the neurobiology of mental illness
  • Designed for master's-prepared nurses seeking a new credential
  • Gap analysis identifies prerequisite coursework
  • Graduates eligible for national board certification
CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid delivery with 7-week and 15-week course sessions
  • 48 total credit hours
  • 600 clinical hours in primary care settings
  • Fall start with a March 1 application deadline
  • 2.8 minimum GPA for admission
  • Individual interview required
  • Clinical sites in New Castle and Georgetown
CCNE accredited
  • Family Nurse Practitioner concentration
  • Three-year completion timeframe
  • Five practicum semesters of 120 hours each
  • Online, face-to-face, or hybrid course delivery available
  • Fall and spring admission terms
  • Up to six transfer credits accepted
  • BSN required for admission
CCNE accredited
  • 60 total credit hours across 21 courses
  • 500 DNP practice experience hours alongside certificate clinicals
  • Capstone required
  • Dual credential: PMHNP certificate and DNP
  • Prepares graduates for PMHNP national certification
  • Built for master's-prepared nurses
  • Online coursework with dual program advising

Delaware NP Tuition and Cost Breakdown by School

Tuition is often the first filter prospective NP students apply, and the spread among Delaware options is wider than many expect. The table below lines up estimated per-credit costs alongside each institution's average net price after financial aid. Keep in mind that the net price figure reflects an institution-wide average for all students receiving aid; it is not a guaranteed quote for graduate nursing students specifically, and your actual out-of-pocket cost will depend on the aid package you receive.

Delaware State UniversityWilmington UniversityUniversity of DelawareWidener University
Estimated Per-Credit TuitionNot published for NP track$564$913 (with Dean's Scholarship)$1,090
Tuition Year QuotedN/A2026 to 20272025 to 20262026 to 2027
Approximate NP Credit RangeContact school for detailsVaries by concentration44 to 48 credits (MSN NP tracks)45 credits (BSN to MSN); 73 credits (BSN to DNP)
Estimated Total Tuition (MSN)Not availableEstimated mid-$20,000s (based on per-credit rate, credits not confirmed)Roughly $40,000 to $44,000Approximately $49,050 (45 credits)
In-State vs. Out-of-State GapSignificant gap: undergraduate base rates differ by nearly $10,000No difference: flat rate for all students ($12,630 annual)Large gap: roughly $16,800 in-state vs. $41,400 out-of-state (annual undergraduate base); NP rate set at scholarship level for all enrolleesNo difference: private university with a single rate
Institution-Wide Average Net Price (After Aid)$13,910$15,644$17,799Not reported separately (private institution)
State or SectorPublic, HBCUPrivate nonprofitPublicPrivate nonprofit

NP Specialties You Can Study in Delaware: FNP, ACNP, PMHNP, and More

Delaware's NP enrollment options have consolidated around a few high-demand roles, with acute care and psychiatric mental health sitting at opposite ends of the convenience spectrum. University of Delaware holds the clearest acute care route, while all three in-state schools now list PMHNP pathways.

FNP: The Broadest Primary Care Route

FNP remains the most common entry point. University of Delaware and Delaware State University both offer online FNP tracks through online MSN programs in Delaware, built around care for individuals and families across the lifespan. Students in these programs prepare for primary care clinics, community health centers, and family practice, with an emphasis on prevention, chronic disease management, and routine acute visits. The clinical focus is the broadest of the three roles, which makes it a practical default for RNs who want to work with patients of all ages.

AGACNP: Delaware's Narrow In-State Lane

The Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP track, sometimes called ACNP, is the one place Delaware residents need to plan carefully. University of Delaware is the only in-state school in the current program lineup with an AGACNP option, offered as an MSN (42 credits, 816 clinical hours, roughly 36 months) and as a post-master's certificate requiring at least 18 credits. The program is described as online coursework with clinical placements, though some sources characterize the pathway as hybrid; expect hands-on acute care hours regardless of label. This specialty targets complex and acutely ill adults in hospitals, intensive care units, emergency departments, and specialty inpatient units. Walden University also offers an online MSN AGACNP, but Delaware-specific placement support was not confirmed in the sources reviewed, so students should verify preceptor logistics before enrolling.1 Adult-gerontology primary care, by contrast, is not a separate highlighted pathway at Delaware's in-state programs; RNs seeking that concentration may need to evaluate out-of-state online acute care nurse practitioner programs.

PMHNP: More Online Choices, Uneven Placement Help

Psychiatric-mental health NP training is more available to Delaware residents. University of Delaware offers PMHNP at both the MSN level (48 credits, 816 hours) and DNP level (81 credits, 1,008 hours), with a collaborative placement team that can help Delaware students complete clinicals locally. Delaware State University's MSN PMHNP (48 credits, 765 hours) is fully online, but students arrange their own preceptors.2 Wilmington University's post-master's PMHNP certificate (31 credits, 750 hours) is also online with self-arranged placements, alongside combined BSN-to-DNP options through DNP programs in Delaware. If finding a Delaware preceptor is the main obstacle, national programs such as Wilkes, WGU, and Purdue Global accept Delaware residents and provide placement assistance. PMHNPs focus on psychiatric assessment, psychotherapy, and medication management in outpatient behavioral health, inpatient psychiatry, and integrated care settings.

Online, Hybrid, or On-Campus: Format Options for Delaware NP Students

Choosing the right program format is just as important as choosing the right specialty. Delaware NP students can select from fully online, hybrid, or traditional on-campus pathways, each with trade-offs worth weighing carefully. The University of Delaware offers hybrid NP tracks with campus immersion components, while Wilmington University provides more flexible online options. Many working RNs also enroll in fully online programs housed at out-of-state universities that accept Delaware clinical placements.

Pros

  • Fully online programs offer maximum scheduling flexibility, letting working RNs complete coursework on evenings and weekends.
  • Online formats open the door to nationally ranked out-of-state NP programs without relocating from Delaware.
  • Some online programs include self-paced modules, allowing faster completion for motivated students with prior clinical experience.
  • Hybrid programs typically coordinate clinical preceptor placements, reducing the burden of finding your own clinical sites.
  • Campus immersion weekends in hybrid models build strong cohort bonds and hands-on simulation skills that strengthen clinical readiness.
  • On-campus and hybrid formats provide structured timelines and direct faculty mentorship that keep students accountable.

Cons

  • Many fully online programs require students to arrange their own clinical preceptors, which can be challenging in smaller Delaware markets.
  • Online learners may experience less organic peer networking compared to cohort-based hybrid or on-campus classmates.
  • Fully online formats sometimes offer less structured schedules, which can slow progress for students who need external accountability.
  • Hybrid programs require periodic travel to a physical campus, adding transportation and lodging costs for students outside the immediate area.
  • Hybrid and on-campus options reduce schedule flexibility, making it harder to balance coursework with full-time nursing employment.
  • Choosing a hybrid format may limit your school selection to in-state institutions or those with nearby satellite campuses.

How Long It Takes to Finish an Online NP Program in Delaware

Your timeline to becoming a nurse practitioner in Delaware depends on the pathway you choose and whether you enroll full-time or part-time. MSN-NP programs typically take two to three years, BSN-to-DNP tracks run about three to five years, and post-master's certificate or DNP options offer the fastest route for nurses who already hold an MSN.

Comparison of NP program timelines in Delaware showing MSN-NP at 2 to 3 years, BSN-to-DNP at 3 to 5 years, and post-master's options at 1.5 to 3 years as of 2025-2026

Admissions Requirements Side by Side: Delaware NP Programs

Knowing what each school expects before you apply can save time and prevent surprises. The table below compares key admissions criteria for three NP programs serving Delaware residents. All three schools require a 3.0 minimum GPA and an active RN license, but they differ on clinical experience expectations, prerequisite coursework, and supplemental application materials such as interviews and goal statements.

SchoolMin GPARN Experience RequiredPrerequisitesTest ScoresOther Requirements
University of Delaware (DNP, FNP)3.0 undergraduate (post-baccalaureate route); 3.5 master's (post-master's route)One year of full-time RN experience (or equivalent) required before first clinical courseBSN from a CCNE, CNEA, or ACEN accredited nursing program; post-master's applicants need an accredited MSN plus APRN certificationGRE not required; TOEFL or IELTS for non-native English speakers onlyInterview with DNP Program Coordinator or subcommittee; written statement of goals and objectives; three letters of recommendation; copy of U.S. RN license; CV or resume; post-master's applicants must document prior clinical hours
Wilmington University (MSN, FNP)3.0 cumulative in BSN (MSN applicants); 3.0 in MSN or DNP (graduate certificate applicants)Not specified as an admissions requirementBSN from a nationally accredited program; undergraduate health assessment course completed with a grade of B or better, or equivalent continuing educationGRE/MAT not required; TOEFL (minimum 46 overall, 12 per section) or IELTS (minimum 5.5 overall) for international studentsCurrent RN licensure in every state where clinical experiences will take place; official transcripts
Widener University (MSN, FNP)3.0 in previous bachelor's nursing programNot specified as an admissions requirementGraduation from an accredited BSN program; undergraduate statistics course with a grade of C (2.0) or higherGRE not requiredValid RN license (Pennsylvania licensure as appropriate); two recommendations addressing clinical practice and advanced practice potential; goal statement related to FNP role; proof of health insurance; copy of liability insurance within limits for advanced practice specialty

Your Path From RN to Licensed Nurse Practitioner in Delaware

Becoming a licensed nurse practitioner in Delaware follows a clear sequence of education, certification, and state licensure. While the timeline varies depending on whether you pursue an MSN or DNP and whether you study full-time or part-time, most RNs can expect the journey to take roughly three to five years from start to independent practice eligibility.

Six-step pathway from earning a BSN through independent NP practice in Delaware, spanning roughly three to five years

What Nurse Practitioners Earn in Delaware

Delaware nurse practitioners command salaries well above the national median, making the state a financially rewarding place to practice. According to the Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics program from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (2024 data), the statewide median annual wage for NPs is $127,810, compared to a national median of roughly $126,260. With approximately 1,210 NPs employed across the state, Delaware's compact geography and growing healthcare infrastructure continue to fuel steady demand for advanced practice providers.

Wage PercentileAnnual Salary
10th PercentileNot reported
25th Percentile$115,400
Median (50th Percentile)$127,810
75th Percentile$135,500
90th PercentileNot reported
Mean (Average)$130,190

State Licensing Alert: Delaware APRN Requirements

Follow us