Updated August 30, 202625+ min read

Best Online NP Programs in Missouri — Top Ranked for 2027

Compare tuition, clinical placement support, and outcomes for Missouri's top-ranked MSN and DNP nurse practitioner programs.

Missouri employs roughly 7,710 nurse practitioners statewide, yet more than 40 counties remain federally designated Health Professional Shortage Areas for primary care. That gap makes program selection unusually consequential here: state law requires every NP to maintain a collaborative practice agreement with a physician, so your clinical training sites and faculty connections can directly shape where you land your first prescribing role.

Online family nurse practitioner programs vary widely in how they handle Missouri placements, tuition structures, and preparation for ANCC or AANP certification exams. Some route students to rural preceptors familiar with the CPA process; others leave placement logistics almost entirely to the student. Costs range from under $25,000 to well over $60,000 among online MSN programs in Missouri, and median graduate earnings differ accordingly.

Best Online Nurse Practitioner Programs in Missouri for 2027

Missouri's nurse practitioner programs run the length of the state, from flagship public universities in Columbia, Kansas City, and St. Louis to private colleges and a hospital-based nursing school. Every option in this list can be completed largely or entirely online, and each leads to national certification in a population focus such as family, adult-gerontology, pediatric, women's health, or psychiatric mental health. Compare delivery format, clinical placement support, and specialty mix against your own schedule and career goal.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
  • Online and hybrid delivery readiness
  • Tuition and program cost
  • Specialty breadth for NPs
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

University of Missouri

#1

Columbia, MO · ~$14,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Rural RNs seeking primary care practice

The University of Missouri's Sinclair School of Nursing anchors the state's NP landscape with master's and doctoral tracks in family, pediatric primary care, and psychiatric mental health practice, plus a standalone FNP certificate for nurses who already hold a graduate degree. Coursework is delivered in a blended format with a small number of campus intensives, and clinical placements are frequently arranged close to students' home communities, a deliberate design choice for nurses practicing in rural and underserved parts of Missouri.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • Blended format: coursework online with three required campus visits
  • Prepares for ANCC or AANPCB family nurse practitioner certification
  • Curriculum emphasizes rural and underserved populations
  • Clinical placements often arranged near students' home communities
  • 19.5 total credit hours
  • Delivered fully online
  • Requires a master's degree and advanced practice certification
  • Lets practicing APRNs add family nurse practitioner certification
CCNE accredited
  • Primary care focus spanning birth through young adulthood
  • Prepares for PNCB pediatric primary care certification
  • Emphasis on rural and underserved populations
  • Structured campus visits with clinical hours completed locally when possible
CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid format with core master's coursework plus specialty clinical courses
  • Prepares for ANCC psychiatric mental health certification
  • Covers psychopharmacology, psychotherapy, and advanced health assessment
  • Includes substance use disorder treatment content
  • 3.0 GPA required for admission
CCNE accredited
  • 72 total credit hours
  • Care across the lifespan, from birth through older adulthood
  • DNP residency project required
  • Prepares graduates to diagnose and manage acute and chronic conditions
CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for PMHNP board certification
  • Covers psychotropic medication management and psychotherapeutic interventions
  • Care for all ages, including children
  • Hybrid delivery with an evidence-based primary mental health focus

University of Missouri-St Louis

#2

Saint Louis, MO · $15,000 – $20,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Post-master's APRNs adding new specialties

The University of Missouri-St. Louis concentrates on post-graduate credentials, offering online family and psychiatric mental health NP certificates for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP, alongside DNP tracks in family, adult-gerontology primary care, women's health, and pediatric acute and primary care. Certificate students complete a compact set of core courses plus supervised clinical hours and finish prepared for national board exams.

  • Online graduate certificate for nurses holding an MSN or DNP
  • Minimum 12 credit hours, including 8 practicum credits
  • Core courses in pathophysiology, health assessment, pharmacology, and diagnostic reasoning
  • 75 clinical hours per practicum credit
  • 3.0 GPA and current RN licensure required
  • Online post-graduate certificate for MSN or DNP holders
  • Minimum 12 credit hours with 8 practicum credits
  • One year of psychiatric nursing experience required
  • Prepares for PMHNP board certification
  • Nursing CAS application with a 3.0 minimum GPA
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • Minimum 600 clinical residency hours
  • BSN to DNP pathway with direct admit for UMSL BSN graduates
  • DNP clinical scholarship project required
  • 3.0 GPA required for admission and to stay in the program
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • Prepares for NONPF competencies and national certification
  • Statistics prerequisite required
  • Minimum 8 credits of clinical residency
  • Direct admit option for UMSL BSN graduates
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • Minimum 8 credits of clinical residency across three practicum courses
  • Coursework on social determinants of health
  • Direct admit BSN to DNP option
  • 3.0 GPA minimum with limited class space
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • One year of inpatient pediatric experience required
  • Dual acute care and primary care track options
  • Minimum 8 credits of clinical residency
  • Capstone and clinical scholarship project required
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours with 600 clinical hours
  • Rolling admissions with a BSN to DNP pediatric primary care track
  • Statistics prerequisite required
  • Focus on comprehensive pediatric primary care
CCNE accredited
  • 70 total credit hours
  • Statistics prerequisite and current professional licensure required
  • Direct admit option for UMSL graduates
  • Limited enrollment with a capstone requirement

Maryville University

#3

Saint Louis, MO · ~$16,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working nurses needing fully online flexibility

Maryville University is one of the state's most online-forward nursing schools, with master's, post-master's certificate, and BSN-to-DNP pathways in family, pediatric, adult-gerontology acute and primary care, and psychiatric mental health practice. Most tracks are delivered fully online with clinicals arranged locally, and the university admits students at multiple points through the year without requiring the GRE, GMAT, or a statistics prerequisite.

CCNE accredited
  • 100% online with no campus visits required
  • No GMAT, GRE, or statistics prerequisite
  • Six start dates per year
  • Clinicals completed locally in the student's community
  • CCNE accredited
CCNE accredited
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • 28-month program with three start dates per year
  • Prepares for PNCB certification
  • No entrance exam required
  • Military benefits accepted
CCNE accredited
  • 100% online, no campus visits required
  • 32-month program with six start dates each year
  • Advanced pathophysiology and health assessment coursework
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • Clinicals completed locally
CCNE accredited
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • 32-month program with three entry points each year
  • Coursework in psychopharmacology and mental health diagnosis
  • Clinicals arranged in varied local settings
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • 35 credit hours, part-time over about two years
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • Requires an MSN, 3.0 GPA, and one year of nursing experience
  • Clinical placements arranged locally
  • 32-credit certificate completed 100% online
  • No GMAT, GRE, or statistics requirement
  • Six entry points per year
  • Focus on pediatric growth, development, and primary care
  • Reports a 92% program pass rate
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • Focus on psychopharmacology and lifespan psychiatric management
  • Prepares for prescriptive authority and board certification
  • MSN prerequisite with a part-time study option
  • 35 credits, fully online
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • Six annual entry points
  • Prepares for AGACNP certification
  • Includes clinical practicum courses
  • 100% online completion in about 20 months
  • No GMAT, GRE, or statistics prerequisite
  • Built for nurses who already hold an MSN
  • Spring, summer, and fall start options
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over about 40 months
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • No entrance exam required
  • Six start dates per year
  • Capstone required
CCNE accredited
  • 36-month program with three start dates per year
  • 100% online with clinicals completed locally
  • 3.3 GPA minimum and work experience required
  • Prepares for ANCC adult-gerontology primary care certification
  • No GMAT, GRE, or statistics requirement
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over 40 months
  • 100% online, full-time enrollment
  • No entrance exam required, test optional
  • Clinicals completed locally
  • Military friendly
CCNE accredited
  • 40-month program with three start dates per year
  • 100% online with no campus visits
  • Prepares for PNCB certification
  • No GMAT or GRE required
  • Capstone required

University of Missouri-Kansas City

#4

Kansas City, MO · $14,000 – $32,000/yr (est.)

The University of Missouri-Kansas City delivers its NP programs through UMKC Online, blending web-based coursework with required residencies in Kansas City. The catalog covers family, women's health, pediatric primary and acute care, and adult-gerontology primary care at the master's and DNP levels, plus a slate of post-master's certificates for practicing APRNs who want to add a population focus. In-state tuition rates are extended to online students in authorized states.

CCNE accredited
  • 46 credit hours completed in 2 to 3 years
  • Hybrid format with online coursework and on-campus residencies
  • 3.2 GPA, BSN, and current RN license required
  • Spring and summer starts with full-time and part-time options
  • Precepted clinical experiences in community settings
CCNE accredited
  • 46 credit hours over two years
  • Full-time and part-time options with a summer start
  • Synchronous and asynchronous course options
  • Clinical preceptors in community, inpatient, and outpatient settings
  • Prepares for national certification
CCNE accredited
  • 52 credit hours over 2 to 3 years
  • Two years of pediatric experience required
  • Prepares for ANCC and PNCB certification
  • Hybrid format with on-campus residencies
CCNE accredited
  • 46 credit hours over 2 to 3 years
  • Coursework in advanced physiology, policy, and ethics
  • Clinical practicum included
  • 3.2 GPA and current RN licensure required
  • 18 credit hours
  • Hybrid format with online and on-campus components
  • Includes graduate pharmacology and a synthesis practicum
  • Prepares for national FNP certification
  • Individualized study plan built from a gap analysis
  • Includes advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment
  • Prepares for national pediatric certification
  • Designed for nurses who already hold an MSN or DNP
  • 21 total credit hours
  • Two acute care clinical courses plus a primary care of children course
  • Prepares for PNCB certification
  • Graduate pharmacology course included
  • 18 standard credit hours over 2 to 3 years
  • Hybrid delivery, most coursework online with campus visits
  • Two years of RN experience preferred
  • Prepares for national certification
  • 3.2 minimum GPA
  • 18 credit hours over 18 months to 2 years
  • Hybrid format with some campus visits
  • Covers gynecologic, prenatal, and primary care of women
  • Seamless transition into the DNP program
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over 4 to 5 years
  • Blended delivery with a summer residency
  • Coursework in epidemiology and ethics
  • Prepares for national FNP certification
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over 4 to 5 years
  • Blended delivery with on-campus visits
  • Clinical rotations arranged near the student's location
  • Prepares for national WHNP certification
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over 2 to 3 years
  • Mandatory summer residency with blended online coursework
  • Local clinical rotations
  • Prepares for national certification
CCNE accredited
  • 74 total credit hours over four years
  • On-campus intensives once per semester
  • Available in 48 states through SARA
  • Prepares for ANCC certification

Rockhurst University

#5

Kansas City, MO · ~$21,000/yr (est.)

Rockhurst University's Saint Luke's College of Nursing runs online NP tracks built for working nurses, including a dual MSN that combines family and adult-gerontology acute care preparation in a single degree. Students complete one campus immersion and one virtual immersion, and the university provides clinical placement services rather than leaving students to find preceptors on their own. A post-master's psychiatric mental health certificate rounds out the graduate offerings.

CCNE accredited
  • 62 credit hours with 1,250 clinical hours
  • Combines FNP and AGACNP preparation in one degree
  • Full-time in 8 semesters or part-time in 10
  • One campus immersion and one virtual immersion
  • Three intakes per year with clinical placement services
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours with 750 clinical hours
  • MSN completed in 6 to 8 semesters
  • One campus immersion and one virtual immersion
  • No GRE or GMAT required
  • Prepares for AANP or ANCC certification
  • Reports a 100% first-time certification pass rate
  • 22 credit hours minimum over four semesters
  • 750 clinical hours with free placement services
  • Prepares for the ANCC PMHNP-BC exam
  • MSN or higher, active RN license, and 3.0 GPA required
  • One campus immersion and one virtual immersion

Saint Louis University

#6

Saint Louis, MO · ~$26,000/yr (est.)

Saint Louis University pairs a long-running online MSN-NP with post-master's certificates and BSN-to-DNP pathways, and its family nurse practitioner post-master's certificate is approved by the Missouri State Board of Nursing. Concentrations span family, adult-gerontology acute care, and psychiatric mental health practice, with faculty advisors assigned to each student and clinical preceptors secured by the school. Jesuit values and whole-person care shape the curriculum across all tracks.

CCNE accredited
  • Complete in as little as two years
  • Fall, spring, and summer start dates
  • Faculty advisor and personalized degree completion plan
  • Prepares for FNP national certification
  • Scholarships available with no application fee
CCNE accredited
  • 34 total credit hours
  • Rolling admissions with full-time and part-time options
  • One required campus visit
  • Prepares for ANCC and AACN certification
  • Employer tuition reimbursement supported
CCNE accredited
  • 38 total credit hours with 750 clinical hours
  • Coursework in psychotherapy and psychopharmacology
  • Prepares for ANCC certification
  • Rolling admissions with no entrance exam required
  • Faculty advisor assigned to every student
Rolling admissionsEmployer tuition reimbursement
  • 16 total credit hours
  • Approved by the Missouri State Board of Nursing
  • Requires one campus visit; SLU secures clinical preceptors
  • Rolling admissions with a 3.0 GPA minimum
  • Transfer up to six credits
  • Minimum 15 credits
  • Hybrid format with one required on-campus visit
  • Focus on recovery-oriented, culturally sensitive care
  • Clinical placement assistance and faculty mentorship
  • Rolling admissions with a 3.0 GPA requirement
CCNE accredited
  • Care for patients from birth to age 21
  • 1,050 to 1,125 clinical hours
  • Hybrid program format
  • Prepares for national certification
CCNE accredited
  • 64 total credit hours over four years
  • 1,000 clinical hours and a capstone
  • Two campus residency visits required
  • Rolling admissions with a 3.2 GPA minimum
  • Prepares for ANCC or AANP certification
CCNE accredited
  • 68 total credit hours over four years
  • 1,000 clinical hours and a capstone
  • Covers psychotherapy and psychopharmacology
  • Two required campus visits
  • Prepares for PMHNP national certification

Missouri State University

#7

Springfield, MO · ~$8,000/yr (est.)

Missouri State University takes a hybrid approach, pairing online coursework with seated classes. The School of Nursing guarantees clinical placement for FNP students and reports a 100% first-time pass rate on the FNP certification exam, which removes two of the biggest logistical hurdles for nurses in smaller Missouri communities. Graduate certificates in family and adult-gerontology acute care practice let master's-prepared nurses add a population focus without a full degree.

CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid format combining seated and online courses
  • Three-year full-time plan
  • Clinical placement assistance provided
  • Prepares for the FNP certification exam
  • Reports a 100% first-time FNP exam pass rate
  • Hybrid online and seated classes
  • Completed in four semesters
  • Prepares for national certification exams
  • Focus on family practice care
  • Application submitted through NursingCAS
  • Online classes with a two-year completion time
  • Minimum 500 clinical hours
  • For registered nurses who already hold a master's degree
  • Prepares for national certification in adult-gerontology acute care
CCNE accredited
  • Four-year full-time program
  • Hybrid online and seated classes
  • Clinical rotation at the MSU Care clinic
  • Reports a 100% licensure pass rate
  • Prepares for FNP national certification
CCNE accredited
  • Four-year full-time program
  • Hybrid online and seated classes
  • Prepares for careers in clinical practice, administration, and education
  • Financial aid and scholarships available
CCNE accredited
  • Four-year full-time schedule
  • Hybrid in-person and online courses
  • Specializes in adult critical and acute care
  • Mentorship from experienced faculty
  • Transfer credit accepted

University of Central Missouri

#8

Warrensburg, MO · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

The University of Central Missouri offers a single NP credential, a hybrid MSN with a family nurse practitioner concentration that combines online coursework with on-campus sessions in the Kansas City area. The program runs 44 credit hours and can be finished in as little as 18 to 24 months, with practicum hours split across primary care, women's health, and pediatrics at clinical sites in Missouri and Kansas.

CCNE accredited
  • 44 credit hours completed in 18 to 24 months
  • Hybrid format with online coursework and on-campus sessions
  • Practicum hours in primary care, women's health, and pediatrics
  • Clinical rotations completed in Missouri or Kansas
  • 3.0 GPA and one year of nursing experience required
  • Prepares for AANP and ANCC certification

Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing

#9

Saint Louis, MO · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of Nursing builds its NP programs around the clinical resources of Barnes-Jewish Hospital, with hybrid doctoral tracks in adult-gerontology acute care and family practice plus master's options in family and adult-gerontology primary care. Acute care students choose an intensivist or hospitalist track and complete clinical immersion inside one of the region's largest academic medical centers, and post-master's certificates are available for nurses adding acute care credentials.

CCNE accredited
  • 51 total credit hours over 30 months
  • Hybrid online and campus format
  • Clinical experience focused on primary care across the family
  • Missouri RN license, 3.0 GPA, and BLS certification required
  • Fall and spring starts
CCNE accredited
  • 48 total credit hours over 30 months
  • Hybrid format with an 8-term structure
  • Missouri RN license and BLS certification required
  • Coursework in theory, research, ethics, and policy
CCNE accredited
  • 66 total credit hours over nine terms
  • Clinical immersion at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
  • One year of RN experience and ACLS status required
  • On-campus sessions one to two times per term
  • DNP project required
CCNE accredited
  • 66 total credit hours over nine terms
  • Hospitalist track with invasive procedures training
  • Clinical immersion at Barnes-Jewish Hospital
  • 20 to 40 hours per week commitment
  • Fall and spring starts
CCNE accredited
  • 63 total credit hours over nine terms
  • Primary care across the lifespan
  • DNP project required
  • Fall and spring start dates
  • 42 total credit hours over four terms
  • Hybrid format with campus visits each term
  • MSN, DNP, or PhD required for admission
  • One year of RN experience plus ICU experience required
  • ACLS certification required
  • 42 total credit hours over four terms
  • Two tracks: intensivist and hospitalist
  • Fall deadline July 31, spring deadline November 30
  • Transfer credit possible with gap analysis

Missouri Baptist University

#10

Saint Louis, MO · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Missouri Baptist University offers a post-MSN certificate in psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner practice, designed for nurses who already hold a graduate nursing degree and want to add psychiatric prescribing and therapy skills. The online format covers psychopathology, psychopharmacology, and psychotherapy, with supervised clinical practicums built into the curriculum.

  • 24 to 34 credit hours depending on prior coursework
  • Online delivery designed for working professionals
  • Coursework in psychopathology, psychopharmacology, and psychotherapy
  • Clinical practicums included
  • Requires a master's degree in nursing and a valid RN license

Evaluating Missouri NP Programs: Criteria That Actually Matter

The most useful way to evaluate Missouri online nurse practitioner programs is to ignore marketing claims and check three details: accreditation status, true cost per credit, and how clinical placement actually works. Those details shape certification eligibility, your budget, and whether you can finish clinical hours in a rural county.

Confirm CCNE or ACEN Accreditation

National FNP certification through ANCC or AANP generally requires graduation from a nationally accredited NP program. In Missouri, CCNE and ACEN are the two nursing accreditation bodies that matter. CCNE is more common for graduate nursing programs, while ACEN accredits all levels. Both meet national certification eligibility, but some employers and doctoral programs look more closely at CCNE. Confirm the school lists the exact NP track you are considering, not just the institution.

Compare Cost Per Credit, Not Just Sticker Tuition

Public Missouri programs tend to price below private, all-online options, but run the per-credit math before assuming the state rate is cheaper. Multiply the per-credit rate by total program credits and add any per-course or clinical fees. A seemingly lower public rate can lose its edge if the program requires additional credits or significant hidden costs.

Clinical Placement: Who Finds Your Preceptor?

Missouri online FNP programs typically require 500 to 800 clinical hours, with 600 to 750 the most common range. The real differentiator is ownership: do you find the clinical preceptor or does the program? At Missouri Valley College, the 600-hour requirement splits into 100 pediatric, 200 adult, and 300 family practicum hours.1 Capella University and Grand Canyon University each require 750 hours and expect students to secure their own preceptors, with the school approving but not locating sites.23 For rural online students, self-arranged preceptors can stall progress if no local provider is willing to supervise.

Why Clinical Quality Matters for Missouri NP Careers

Missouri requires nurse practitioners to practice under a collaborative practice agreement, so clinical training quality directly affects post-graduation readiness. Capella's Missouri preceptor criteria reflect that standard: preceptors must hold an APRN Document of Recognition and practice under a written collaborative agreement.2

MSN-FNP Tuition vs. Earnings: Is the Investment Worth It in Missouri?

Understanding how tuition stacks up against post-graduation earnings is essential when choosing an NP program. The table below compares estimated in-state tuition, median graduate debt, institutional-level median earnings ten years after enrollment, and a return-on-investment ratio for Missouri NP programs. Note that net price figures and median earnings reflect institution-wide data from the U.S. Department of Education (IPEDS and College Scorecard, 2024) and are approximate, not a per-student guarantee. Program-level earnings at one and four years post-completion are not yet available for these programs.

SchoolCityEstimated In-State TuitionMedian Graduate DebtInstitutional Median Earnings (10 yr)Approx. Net PriceROI Ratio
Barnes-Jewish College Goldfarb School of NursingSaint Louis$12,810 (per listed rate)$16,750$84,393N/A5.04
Rockhurst UniversityKansas City$20,842$18,250$67,102$25,8843.68
University of Missouri, Kansas CityKansas City$13,726$18,750$59,637$13,3103.18
University of Missouri, ColumbiaColumbia$13,681$20,500$63,403$20,2683.09
Saint Louis UniversitySaint Louis$25,590$25,000$70,783$24,3982.83
Maryville UniversitySaint Louis$16,246$22,000$62,105$22,0662.82
University of Missouri, St. LouisSaint Louis$15,480$20,000$53,037$15,0712.65
University of Central MissouriWarrensburg$10,296$21,000$49,560$14,4622.36
Missouri State UniversitySpringfield$8,204$21,992$49,827$17,6132.27
Missouri Baptist UniversitySaint Louis$11,538$22,500$46,660$27,0062.07

From BSN to Practicing NP: Missouri's Licensing Roadmap

Earning your BSN is just the starting line. Missouri's path to practicing as a nurse practitioner involves graduate education, national certification, a state-issued Document of Recognition, and a collaborative practice agreement. Here is the full sequence, with realistic timelines for each stage.

Five-step licensing timeline from BSN through MSN or DNP, national certification, Missouri Document of Recognition, collaborative practice agreement, and CSR and DEA registration

NP Education Routes: MSN, BSN-to-DNP, RN-to-NP, and Post-Master's Certificates

Which degree path actually gets you to nurse practitioner licensure fastest, and which one fits where you're starting from? Missouri offers four main routes, and the right one depends on your current credential.

The Four Main Pathways

  • BSN-to-MSN (FNP): The most common entry point and the default answer to "BSN to NP programs." You already hold a BSN and RN license, and you complete a master's degree with an FNP concentration in roughly two to three years. Most online Missouri programs, including offerings from the University of Missouri and Missouri State, follow this structure.
  • BSN-to-DNP: A direct doctoral entry that bypasses the standalone master's. Expect three to four years of full-time study. This route is growing as national nursing organizations push the DNP as the preferred terminal degree for advanced practice.
  • RN-to-MSN bridge: Designed for ADN-prepared nurses who want to skip earning a separate BSN. You complete BSN-level coursework and MSN-FNP content in one integrated sequence.
  • Post-master's FNP certificate: For APRNs already certified in another specialty (say, acute care or psych) who want to add family practice scope. These are shorter, focused programs that skip core MSN coursework you've already completed.

Which Route Missouri Programs Emphasize

Across Missouri's online options, BSN-to-MSN FNP tracks dominate, with post-master's certificates as a common secondary offering. BSN-to-DNP availability is smaller but expanding.

Missouri Collaborative Practice Agreements: How They Shape FNP Careers

A collaborative practice agreement (CPA) is a written contract between a nurse practitioner and a Missouri-licensed physician that grants the NP authority to diagnose, prescribe, and initiate treatment. In Missouri this is not a one-time form: you must maintain a current CPA for your entire NP career unless proposed exemptions become law.2

Reduced practice, not full practice authority

Missouri remains a reduced-practice state in 2026, as reflected in NP practice authority by state.1 Unlike full-practice-authority states, Missouri NPs cannot practice independently under the Board of Nursing. The CPA must be signed, dated, retained for eight years after it ends, and include provisions for scope, consultation, referral, and record review.2 Current 2026 guidance describes review every 14 days of at least 10% of services and 20% of controlled-substance prescriptions, though earlier summaries said every two weeks, so verify the latest board rules.2 A physician may collaborate with no more than six full-time-equivalent APRNs or PAs, and controlled-substance prescribing must be explicitly delegated in the CPA.2

Rural practice and employment constraints

Missouri adds geographic limits. After an initial one-month co-location period, the NP and physician must practice within 75 miles by road, and the physician must be immediately available.2 In rural areas with physician shortages, as outlined in the Guide to Rural Nursing, these requirements can limit job options or force NPs to delay practice while searching for a collaborating physician. Employment offers often hinge on whether a practice already has a physician willing and able to sign the CPA.

Legislative reform in flux

Missouri lawmakers have considered changes, including HB 392, which would remove proximity limits, create an exemption after 4,000 practice hours, and expand controlled-substance authority.3 As of 2026, these proposals are not yet enacted.4 Because CPA rules are operationally burdensome and evolving, program choice matters: when comparing Best Online Nurse Practitioner Schools & Programs, clinical networks and preceptor pipelines may better prepare you to secure and maintain a compliant collaborating physician, especially in underserved communities.

What Nurse Practitioners Earn Across Missouri

Missouri employs roughly 7,710 nurse practitioners statewide, with a mean annual wage of approximately $130,970 according to recent Bureau of Labor Statistics estimates. The middle 50% of NP earners in the state fall between about $119,910 and $144,640, placing Missouri's compensation broadly competitive with national figures. Detailed median wages for most individual metro areas have not yet been published in available datasets, so the table below presents confirmed figures alongside statewide benchmarks.

AreaEmployment (approx.)Mean Annual Wage25th PercentileMedian Annual Wage75th Percentile
Missouri (statewide)7,710$130,970$119,910$129,930$144,640
Columbia, MO250$117,520Not reportedNot reportedNot reported

Salary Insight

Salary Insight

Missouri NP Licensing, Certification, and State Requirements

Before you can practice as a nurse practitioner in Missouri, you must complete several licensing and credentialing steps at the state and federal levels. Here is what to have in order.

  1. Earn a Graduate Degree From an Accredited Program
    Complete a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) or Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) from a program accredited by the CCNE or ACEN. Your program must include advanced pharmacology, advanced health assessment, and advanced pathophysiology coursework.
  2. Obtain National Certification
    Pass a national certification exam through the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners Certification Board (AANPCB) or the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) in your chosen population focus, such as Family Nurse Practitioner.
  3. Apply for Missouri Document of Recognition
    Submit a Document of Recognition application to the Missouri State Board of Nursing along with the required fee. This credential authorizes advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) status in the state.
  4. Establish a Collaborative Practice Agreement
    Execute a written collaborative practice agreement with a licensed physician. Missouri requires this agreement to be in place before you begin practicing, and it must outline the scope of your prescriptive authority and collaborative protocols.
  5. Register for Controlled Substance Prescribing
    Apply for a Controlled Substance Registration (CSR) through the Missouri Bureau of Narcotics and Dangerous Drugs if you plan to prescribe controlled substances. You must also obtain a separate DEA registration at the federal level.
  6. Maintain Continuing Education for Renewal
    Complete the continuing education hours required by the Missouri State Board of Nursing for license renewal. Requirements include pharmacology-specific CE hours to maintain your prescriptive authority, so plan accordingly each renewal cycle.

State Licensing

Follow us