Updated September 16, 202621 min read

Top Online RN to BSN Schools in Georgia for 2027

Compare accredited Georgia programs by cost, speed, and flexibility to find the best fit for working nurses.

Georgia registered nurses earned a median $93,550 in 2025, but roles paying above that increasingly require a BSN. Magnet hospitals, specialty units, and many larger employers prefer or require bachelor's-prepared candidates for charge nurse, preceptor, and leadership positions, roles often tied to an RN pay increase.

Accredited online RN to BSN options from Georgia schools range from a 12-month fully online track through the University System of Georgia eMajor platform to hybrid formats with local clinical hours. The shortest full-time route runs about eight months at Georgia State, one of the fastest RN to BSN programs.

That range sits alongside real differences in cost and RN to BSN requirements, from ABAC's $3,268 annual in-state tuition to programs with higher published rates. Comparing format, price, and prerequisites against your current license and work schedule determines whether the upgrade pays off.

Top Online RN to BSN Programs in Georgia for 2027

Georgia's online RN to BSN landscape runs from a 100% online, 12-month option delivered through the University System of Georgia's eMajor platform to hybrid completion tracks that mix live and on-demand coursework with local clinical hours. We evaluated these programs with a quality composite that weighs accreditation, affordability, student outcomes, and online delivery strength, and every school below is online-delivery eligible.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
  • Nursing accreditation and curriculum
  • Online delivery strength and flexibility
  • Georgia articulation and licensure fit
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

Columbus State University

#1

Columbus, GA · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working RNs seeking a fully online path

Columbus State University delivers its RN to BSN entirely online through the University System of Georgia's eMajor platform, with 8-week asynchronous sessions that working nurses can finish in about a year. The program is CCNE accredited and Georgia Board of Nursing approved, arranges community clinical placements near each student, and assigns a dedicated RN to BSN advisor. Formal articulation agreements, including one with Columbus Technical College, let Georgia ADN graduates transition without losing credits. The school's overall graduation rate is 41.8%, and in-state tuition and fees are published at $5,898 a year.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited and approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing
  • 12-month completion possible; 120 total credit hours
  • 100% online didactic coursework in 8-week asynchronous sessions
  • $199 per credit hour through the USG eMajor platform
  • Five start dates per year, full-time or part-time
  • Community-based clinical placements arranged in your area
  • Dedicated RN to BSN advisor plus free online tutoring
  • No-cost digital textbooks through open educational resources

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College

#2

Tifton, GA · $7,000/yr (net price)

Best for: Rural nurses focused on community health

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College in Tifton offers a 100% asynchronous RN to BSN completion track that working nurses can finish in as few as three semesters without leaving their jobs. Coursework leans into rural healthcare, community nursing, leadership, and nursing research, and beginning Fall 2026 the college joins the University System of Georgia's RN BSN Collaborative so students can take select courses through the consortium. Admission is offered every semester and requires an active single-state or compact Georgia RN license. The school's overall graduation rate is 36.2%, and in-state tuition and fees are listed at $3,268 a year.

  • 100% asynchronous online, completable in as few as three semesters
  • Joins the USG RN to BSN Collaborative beginning Fall 2026
  • Requires an active single-state or compact Georgia RN license
  • Curricular focus on rural healthcare and community nursing
  • Admission every semester; no ACT or SAT required
  • Covers advanced anatomy and physiology, health assessment, and research
  • Prepares graduates for leadership, education, and advanced study

Gordon State College

#3

Barnesville, GA · $8,000/yr

Best for: Hybrid learners balancing online and clinical work

Gordon State College in Barnesville runs its RN to BSN completion program in a hybrid format that combines live and on-demand online coursework with hands-on clinical experiences, with a new cohort starting each summer. The three-semester plan requires 120 credit hours, and 31 semester hours of prior nursing credit are held in escrow until students complete upper-division coursework at Gordon. The program holds Georgia Board of Nursing approval and ACEN accreditation, and a separate agreement gives Southern Crescent Technical College ASN graduates a direct path in. The school's overall graduation rate is 20.4%, and in-state tuition and fees are published at $3,628 a year.

  • ACEN accredited and approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing
  • Hybrid format: online synchronous and asynchronous plus clinical hours
  • Three semesters starting each summer; 120 total credit hours
  • 31 semester hours of prior nursing credit held in escrow
  • 61 core curriculum hours plus 15 upper-division credits via eCampus
  • Coursework in research, health promotion, community health, leadership
  • Articulation agreement with Southern Crescent Technical College

Thomas University

#4

Thomasville, GA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Thomas University in Thomasville is a private university whose online RN to BSN is approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing and accredited by ACEN, with 8-week sessions and a 12-month completion option. The program awards articulation credit for an active RN license, and nurses who finished an ADN or diploma within the past six months may be admitted before licensure as long as they are licensed before practicum courses begin. Field and practicum hours are arranged around the student's own practice site. The school's overall graduation rate is 27.5%, and tuition is published at $11,640 a year.

  • ACEN accredited and approved by the Georgia Board of Nursing
  • 12-month online program delivered in 8-week sessions
  • 120 total credit hours, including articulation credit for an RN license
  • 2.5 GPA minimum and prerequisite courses required
  • Applicants within six months of ADN graduation may be admitted before licensure
  • Field and practicum hours arranged at your own practice site
  • Financial aid and scholarships available
  • Full online library access

Mercer University

#5

Macon, GA · $24,000/yr

Mercer University's Georgia Baptist College of Nursing in Macon offers an online RN to BSN completion track for nurses who hold an unencumbered Georgia RN license. The 32-credit curriculum is fully asynchronous, but students complete two clinical practicum courses totaling 90 hours and attend one on-site orientation day, choosing a full-time three-semester or part-time five-semester pathway. Admission is competitive, requiring an essay, professional references, and an interview with the RN to BSN coordinator, and the track participates in the Georgia RN to BSN Articulation Model. The school's overall graduation rate is 69.6%, and tuition is published at $42,312 a year.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited through the Georgia Baptist College of Nursing
  • 32 credit hours, fully asynchronous online coursework
  • Two clinical practicum courses totaling 90 hours
  • Full-time (three semesters) or part-time (five semesters) pathways
  • Three start terms per year: fall, spring, and summer
  • Requires a current unencumbered Georgia RN license
  • One on-site orientation day plus individual academic advisement
  • Competitive admission: essay, references, and coordinator interview

Georgia Southern University

#6

Statesboro, GA · $15,000 – $20,000/yr

Georgia Southern University in Statesboro offers a fully asynchronous online RN to BSN with no campus visits required, and students can finish in as few as two semesters or take up to five years. Coursework covers community health, nursing leadership, management, research, and ethics, with up to 29 nursing credits transferable and provisional admission available for applicants with a 2.7 GPA. The program takes part in the University System of Georgia RN to BSN Articulation Agreement with the Technical College System of Georgia, so associate-degree coursework from Georgia technical colleges transfers cleanly. The school's overall graduation rate is 54.9%, and in-state tuition and fees are published at $6,022 a year.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited and fully asynchronous; no campus visits required
  • Complete in as few as two semesters, or take up to five years
  • 120 credit hours across 10 courses
  • Transfer up to 29 nursing credits
  • 3.0 GPA minimum, with provisional admission at 2.7
  • $30 application fee; waived for prior Georgia Southern applicants
  • Participates in the USG RN to BSN Articulation Agreement with TCSG
  • Valid Georgia or compact RN license required

East Georgia State College

#7

Swainsboro, GA · ~$10,000/yr (est.)

East Georgia State College in Swainsboro built an online RN to BSN bridge program covering community health, nursing research, leadership, and ethics across 120 credit hours, including 30 upper-division nursing credits. The college has stopped accepting new RN to BSN bridge students, so Georgia nurses considering this route should confirm the program's current status directly with the college before applying. The school's overall graduation rate is 16.7%, and in-state tuition and fees are listed at $2,900 a year.

  • ACEN accredited; 120 total credit hours
  • 30 upper-division nursing credits required
  • Valid Georgia RN license and 2.5 GPA minimum
  • Coursework in community health, research, leadership, and ethics
  • Online delivery with small class sizes
  • No longer accepting new RN to BSN Bridge students

Selecting the Right Georgia RN to BSN Program for Your Goals

Three of Georgia's public RN to BSN programs hold current CCNE accreditation: Kennesaw State, Georgia State, and the University of West Georgia. The College of Coastal Georgia's RN to BSN is accredited by ACEN. For Mercer, Georgia Southwestern State, Clayton State, Middle Georgia State, and Columbus State, 2026 research did not confirm which accreditor applies specifically to the RN to BSN completion track, so verify that detail directly with each program.

Accreditation: CCNE vs. ACEN

Both CCNE and ACEN are recognized nursing accrediting bodies, and either designation supports employer recognition, graduate school eligibility such as MSN programs in Georgia, and access to federal financial aid. A nursing school may hold RN to BSN accreditation without the RN to BSN track being separately listed, so ask whether the completion program falls under the same accreditation umbrella. When a program's RN to BSN track is not clearly listed, contact the nursing department directly and request the most recent accreditation letter. For the five programs where accreditation was not confirmed in 2026 research, do not assume the track is unaccredited; it may simply not have been published in the sources reviewed.

Cost, Format, and Transfer Credits

  • Net price: Compare total cost after grants, scholarships, and employer tuition benefits rather than sticker tuition. Ask whether out-of-state online students pay the in-state rate, since that option is not automatic at every Georgia school. Request a net price estimate from the financial aid office.
  • Format flexibility: Check whether courses are asynchronous, synchronous, or a mix, and whether start dates and part-time pacing fit a working nurse's schedule.
  • Transfer credits: Many Georgia RN to BSN programs accept 60 to 90 prior credits, but policies for RN to BSN transfer credits vary by school. Request a written transfer evaluation before committing. If you completed nursing prerequisites outside Georgia, ask how out-of-state credits map.

Practicum Requirements

A fully online label usually refers to didactic coursework, not necessarily to all clinical requirements. Some programs still require local practicum or project hours in your own community, which can be completed where you live but still add scheduling commitments. Confirm the number of hours, placement assistance, and whether hours can be completed at your current employer. The format comparison section later provides program-by-program detail.

Georgia RN to BSN Tuition Side by Side

Cost is often the deciding factor for working RNs weighing BSN programs. Among Georgia's options, Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College (ABAC) offers the lowest published in-state tuition at $3,268 per year, while ABAC also posts the lowest institution-wide average net price at $6,842. For out-of-state students, East Georgia State College comes in at $9,860. Keep in mind that the net price figures below reflect institution-wide averages after financial aid for all undergraduate students, not guaranteed costs for RN to BSN enrollees specifically. Where available, median graduate debt is also listed; these figures represent all graduates at the institution, not RN to BSN completers alone. All data is drawn from federal sources published by the U.S. Department of Education (2024).

SchoolIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionNet Price (Institution Avg.)Median Graduate Debt (Institution-Wide)
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College$3,268$10,588$6,842$16,750
Gordon State College$3,628$10,948$8,105$17,500
East Georgia State College$2,900$9,860$9,626$11,750
Columbus State University$5,898$17,610$13,115$26,000
Georgia Southern University$6,022$17,734$15,267$23,250
Thomas University$11,640$11,640$18,499$21,198
Mercer University$31,565$31,565$23,847$24,199

Scholarships and Financial Aid for Georgia RN to BSN Students

Paying out of pocket or borrowing the full cost of your BSN presents very different financial paths, and Georgia RN to BSN students have several options to reduce that burden through scholarships, employer assistance, and federal financial aid for nursing students.

Georgia-Specific Nursing Scholarships

The Georgia Nurses Foundation offers scholarships specifically for nursing students enrolled in accredited Georgia programs. The Annie Lou Overton Scholarship explicitly prioritizes RN to BSN students, with awards starting at $500 and a minimum GPA requirement of 2.5. Applications typically open in spring with deadlines around late May. General eligibility includes demonstrated financial need, enrollment in an accredited Georgia RN to BSN program, and a commitment to practicing in Georgia after graduation. Check the Georgia Nurses Association website for current cycle dates, as application windows vary by year.

HOPE and Zell Miller Scholarships

Georgia's HOPE Scholarship and Zell Miller Scholarship can apply to RN to BSN programs if the BSN is your first bachelor's degree. HOPE requires a 3.0 GPA, while Zell Miller has stricter standards: a 3.7 high school GPA plus SAT scores of 1200 or ACT of 25, then maintaining a 3.3 in college. Both programs cap eligibility at 127 attempted semester hours and require Georgia residency. If you already have a bachelor's degree in another field, neither scholarship applies.

Federal NURSE Corps Loan Repayment

The HRSA NURSE Corps Loan Repayment Program offers substantial debt relief for RNs who work full-time at critical shortage facilities. The program can repay a significant portion of qualifying nursing education loans over a two-year commitment, with potential for additional repayment in a third year. Eligibility and funding depend on annual appropriations, so verify current terms directly with HRSA.

Employer Tuition Reimbursement

Many Georgia hospital systems, including Emory Healthcare, Piedmont, and WellStar, offer tuition assistance for employees pursuing BSN completion. Benefits vary by employer, so contact your HR department for specifics on annual caps, required grades, and service commitments.

Regardless of which funding sources you pursue, complete your FAFSA and contact each school's financial aid office to understand the full aid package available for your program.

How Long Does an Online RN to BSN Take in Georgia?

Most Georgia RN to BSN programs take 12 to 18 months when enrolled full time, or roughly 24 to 36 months at a part-time pace. Georgia State University offers one of the fastest paths at approximately 8 months for full-time students, while programs at Mercer University may span four to five semesters. The single biggest factor in your timeline is how many credits transfer in: a nurse who brings 90 eligible credits to a 120-credit program has far less coursework ahead than one transferring 60. As for the popular question about finishing in six months, no accredited Georgia RN to BSN program currently advertises completion in that timeframe.

Infographic showing 12 months as the typical minimum completion time for full-time online RN to BSN programs in Georgia

What Georgia RN to BSN Programs Require for Admission

Nearly every Georgia RN to BSN program shares a handful of baseline requirements: an active, unencumbered RN license, an associate degree or diploma in nursing, and a minimum GPA that typically falls between 2.5 and 3.0. Beyond those common threads, individual schools differ in the prerequisite coursework they expect, the documents they require, and how they structure their application timelines. The table below puts these details side by side so you can quickly identify which programs align with the credentials you already hold.

SchoolMin GPARN License RequiredKey PrerequisitesApplication Format
University of West Georgia2.5Active U.S. RN licenseAt least 48 semester hours of BSN core coursework including ENGL 1101 and 1102, one college level math course, Statistics, at least 3 of 5 BSN lab sciences (Biology or Chemistry sequence, Human Anatomy and Physiology I and II, Microbiology), plus 24 hours in designated core areasApply to UWG, then submit separate RN to BSN application and required documents; evaluated after May 1 based on program GPA and completion of core hours
Georgia State University2.5Georgia RN license (or academic preparation to sit for NCLEX; licensure must be obtained by the end of the first semester)Graduation from or current enrollment in an accredited ADN or diploma nursing program; completion of required general education courses with a grade of C or higherApply to Georgia State and meet program requirements; must submit health data forms, evidence of health insurance, proof of RN licensure, and CPR certification
Kennesaw State University2.5Active, unencumbered Georgia RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingApply to Kennesaw State and the RN to BSN program; one letter of recommendation required; no ACT or SAT requirement
Mercer University2.5 to 3.0 (exact threshold not publicly specified)Active, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact Mercer admissions for current application details
Clayton State UniversityN/AActive, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact Clayton State admissions for current application details
Georgia Southwestern State UniversityN/AActive, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact Georgia Southwestern admissions for current application details
Columbus State UniversityN/AActive, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact Columbus State admissions for current application details
Middle Georgia State UniversityN/AActive, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact Middle Georgia State admissions for current application details
College of Coastal GeorgiaN/AActive, unencumbered RN licenseAssociate degree or diploma in nursingContact the College of Coastal Georgia admissions for current application details

Fully Online, Hybrid, or Campus: What Each Georgia Program Actually Requires

The label "online" can mean very different things depending on the school. Some Georgia RN to BSN programs are fully asynchronous with no campus visits, while others require clinical practica that must be completed in person, and at least one program uses a true hybrid format with synchronous sessions. The table below breaks down what each program actually asks of you so you can match the delivery model to your schedule.

ProgramDelivery FormatClinical or Practicum HoursIn-Person Campus VisitsFlexibility Notes
Columbus State University100% online, asynchronousCommunity-based clinicals arranged in the student's local areaNone requiredEight-week course sessions with five start dates per year; clinicals arranged near your home
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College100% online, asynchronousNot publicly specified in detailNone documentedCompletable in as few as three semesters; part of the USG RN to BSN Collaborative beginning Fall 2026
Georgia Southern University100% online, asynchronousNot publicly detailed; no campus-based component listedNone requiredCan finish in as few as two semesters; up to five years allowed for completion
University of West Georgia100% online (most courses delivered through eMajor)Includes a practicum/capstone course; specific hour total is not publishedNone documented, though the practicum course format is not confirmed as fully online30 upper-level nursing credit hours; scheduling may include days, evenings, or weekends
Mercer UniversityOnline, asynchronous90 hours across two clinical courses (45 hours each)An orientation day is listed at program start; no other mandatory campus visits documentedFull-time (three semesters) or part-time (five semesters); three start terms per year
Clayton State UniversityOnline90 hours split across community (30), education (30), and leadership (30) practicaNone documentedPracticum categories may overlap with your current workplace if approved by the program
College of Coastal Georgia100% onlineThree clinical experiences completed at a location of the student's choice; total hours not publishedNone documentedStudents choose their own clinical locations, which adds geographic flexibility
Georgia Southwestern State UniversityOnlineTwo clinical courses plus one practicum course; total hour requirement is not publishedNot confirmed; program materials emphasize online delivery but do not explicitly address orientation requirementsSmaller program with individualized pacing options
Georgia State UniversityOnline (clinical rotations use assigned partner organizations)Two clinical rotations; total hours not publishedNot documented, but clinical placements are limited to assigned partner sitesLess geographic flexibility for clinicals because placements must be at designated partner organizations
Gordon State CollegeHybrid (online plus on-site clinical experiences)Hands-on clinical component included; total hours not publishedYes, the hybrid format includes synchronous sessions and in-person clinical requirementsThree-semester program starting each summer; includes both synchronous and asynchronous coursework
East Georgia State CollegeOnlineNot detailed in available program materialsNone documented120 total credit hours including 30 upper-division nursing credits; small class sizes
Thomas UniversityOnlineClinical partnerships with regional healthcare providers; specific hour requirements not publishedNone documentedAccelerated eight-week course sessions; completable in as little as 12 months

BSN Salary Premium and Career Outcomes for Georgia Nurses

In Georgia, the salary case for an RN to BSN starts with what registered nurses already earn statewide. The 2025 Salary.com estimate puts the Georgia median at $93,550 per year, with the middle half of RNs earning between $79,090 and $106,330.1 In the Atlanta metro, the median climbs to $100,490, and the 90th percentile reaches $132,230. That range matters because a BSN can influence which end of it a nurse reaches.

What the BSN premium looks like in practice

Published research does not offer a clean Georgia-specific dollar premium for BSN-prepared over ADN-prepared RNs, and program-level first-year and fourth-year earnings are not currently reported for the ranked Georgia RN to BSN programs. For transparency, those completer-level figures reflect graduates of a specific program, not all working RNs in the state, and they are not yet available in the current federal data. The more reliable signal is the statewide earnings distribution itself: BSN preparation aligns with the roles, units, and settings that sit at the higher end.

ROI in plain numbers

Median federal student debt reported by these ranked programs ranges from about $11,750 to $26,000. Against a Georgia RN median salary of $93,550, that debt is a small fraction of one year's income. Even the highest debt figure is manageable for most working nurses, especially in Atlanta and other metro markets where pay runs higher. The available return-on-investment indicators for these programs also lean positive, with ratios ranging from roughly 1.7 to 3.2 depending on the institution.

Beyond the paycheck

Salary is not the whole story. Georgia has at least 16 Magnet-designated facilities,3 and 2026 announcements from Wellstar Paulding Medical Center4, Emory University Orthopaedics & Spine Hospital3, and St. Joseph's/Candler5 show the credential remains active. Magnet environments tend to favor BSN-prepared nurses for shared governance, charge, and management roles. The BSN also clears the way to MSN degree programs, DNP programs in Georgia, and specialized leadership tracks, which is a multi-year career advantage, not just a one-time raise.

Georgia RN Earnings at a Glance

Georgia RN salaries span a wide range depending on experience, specialty, and education level. BSN-prepared nurses tend to cluster in the upper half of the distribution, frequently landing at or above the 75th percentile thanks to eligibility for leadership roles, specialty units, and Magnet-designated hospitals. For comparison, the national median RN salary sits at approximately $86,070.

Georgia RN wage distribution from $52,730 at the 10th percentile to $107,010 at the 90th, with a median of $77,220

Is an RN to BSN Worth It in Georgia? Key Factors to Weigh

Deciding whether to pursue an RN to BSN ultimately comes down to your personal career goals, timeline, and financial situation. For many Georgia nurses, the investment pays off through stronger earning power and broader professional opportunities. For others, the timing or cost may not align with current priorities. Here is a straightforward look at both sides.

Pros

  • BSN-prepared nurses in Georgia typically earn higher salaries, with the gap widening over a full career.
  • A BSN qualifies you to work at Magnet-designated hospitals, which often offer better pay and work environments.
  • Earning your BSN opens the door to MSN or DNP programs, enabling advanced practice and specialization.
  • Nurses with a BSN report stronger job security, especially as more employers prefer or require the degree.
  • Leadership and management roles in Georgia healthcare systems increasingly list a BSN as a minimum requirement.

Cons

  • Tuition costs can range from roughly $6,000 to over $20,000, and some nurses may need to take on student debt.
  • Balancing coursework with shifts and family responsibilities requires a serious time commitment, typically 12 to 24 months.
  • Certain Georgia programs include clinical or practicum hours that must be completed at approved local sites.
  • Georgia does not currently mandate a BSN for RN licensure, so the degree is not legally necessary to practice.

Follow us