Seven Iowa colleges now deliver an RN to BSN track built for someone who cannot quit a shift to attend class, and the net price across them runs from roughly $10,000 at Mercy College of Health Sciences to nearly $65,000 once the University of Iowa's full cost of attendance is counted. That gap, not the degree itself, is the real decision point. Every option here grants the same credential and satisfies the same Board of Nursing and Magnet staffing requirements employers care about.
What separates them is mundane and financial: per-credit rate, how many associate-degree credits transfer intact, and whether any semester still requires showing up on a campus. Iowa's ADN-heavy workforce means most applicants are negotiating that gap on a working nurse's schedule, not a student's.
Fully Online, Mostly Online, or Hybrid: What Iowa Programs Actually Require on Campus
Not all Iowa online rn to bsn programs ask the same thing of your schedule. Before you apply, sort each option into one of three delivery tiers.
The Three Delivery Tiers
- 100% asynchronous online: No live class meetings. You follow weekly deadlines for discussions and assignments.
- Online coursework with occasional site visits: Courses are online, but a practicum or clinical component happens in your community or at a partner site.
- True hybrid: Scheduled weekly sessions, either synchronous online or face-to-face on campus.
How Iowa’s Ranked Programs Fall
Among the seven ranked programs, six are listed as online and one is hybrid. University of Iowa is online but not fully asynchronous: you complete two in-person practicums, usually in your own community, with no required trip to Iowa City. Some students may drive up to 100 miles for a regional practicum setting. Iowa State is the hybrid exception: nursing courses meet one day per week, and you may attend either synchronously online or face-to-face on campus. Northwestern College is the clearest asynchronous option, 100% online with weekly deadlines and no required campus visit. Allen College, Briar Cliff, Mount Mercy, and Grand View are reported in a 2026 Best Nursing Schools in Iowa listing as online with no required campus visits or residency weekends. Clarke and St. Ambrose have less clearly published delivery details; St. Ambrose’s own materials describe online coursework with in-person clinicals at partner sites, so confirm any on-campus orientation directly.
Why It Matters on Night Shift
Synchronous classes force you to be online at a fixed time, which can collide with a 12-hour night rotation. Asynchronous coursework lets you read, post, and submit around shifts and sleep. If you work nights, prioritize programs that fit a night shift nursing student schedule and do not log you into a live meeting every week.
Ranked: Iowa's Strongest Online RN to BSN Programs
Every program below clears the same starting bar: its RN to BSN coursework is delivered fully online or in a hybrid format, so none of them require you to relocate or sit in a classroom full time. From there, the order reflects a mix of institutional quality and outcomes rather than price alone. A lower spot does not mean a program is cheaper, faster, or better paying than the ones above it, and in most cases the differences that matter come down to credit requirements, credit transfer, and pacing.
How we ranked these
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Online or hybrid delivery
- Credit requirements and pacing
- Program accreditation status
- Original research on individual programs
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
St Luke's College
#1Sioux City, IA · ~$20,000/yr (est.)
Best for: RNs who prefer a small, faith-based college
St. Luke's College is a small private college in Sioux City with a religious affiliation, and its CCNE-accredited RN to BSN completion program applies prior nursing credits toward a 120-credit degree. Full-time and part-time schedules and online delivery through Blackboard Learn are set up for nurses who are working while they study. One change to weigh: since January 1, 2026 the college has operated as a division of Morningside University, and its RN to BSN pathway is in transition, so confirm with the school that the program is still accepting applicants before you plan around it.
- CCNE accredited and approved by the Iowa Board of Nursing
- 120 total credit hours; prior nursing credits applied toward the degree
- Full-time and part-time schedules
- Coursework delivered online through Blackboard Learn
- Core courses in pathophysiology, health assessment, and nursing leadership
- Electives in healthcare business, finance, policy, and specialty topics
University of Iowa
#2Iowa City, IA · $11,000 – $33,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Nurses aiming for graduate school next
The University of Iowa offers the most recognizable research-university credential on this list, and its RN to BSN runs fully online and CCNE accredited through the College of Nursing. The curriculum is aimed at licensed nurses, with a clear route into DNP or PhD study, and applicants enter through transfer admission rather than a separate nursing application. Institution-wide, Iowa claims the highest graduation rate among the schools here, which is a useful signal about the university even though it is not specific to the RN to BSN cohort.
- Fully online for licensed RNs with an associate degree or diploma
- Applicants apply through transfer admission and select the RN-BSN option
- 3.0 cumulative GPA and a valid Iowa RN license required
- Prerequisite coursework can be completed at a community college
- 3+1 pathway with Iowa Central and Iowa Western community colleges
- Fall deadline March 1; spring deadline September 1
- Continues into DNP and PhD study after graduation
- CCNE accredited through the College of Nursing
Iowa State University
#3Ames, IA · $19,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: RNs who prefer hybrid coursework
Iowa State's RN to BSN is a hybrid program, so plan on some campus-based expectations rather than a fully remote experience. It asks for 32 credit hours of nursing coursework, with a population health practicum, leadership and management content, and a global health thread running through the curriculum. Admission is comparatively open at a 2.5 GPA minimum, and the university's institution-wide graduation rate sits near the top of this group.
- Hybrid program with online coursework and campus-based components
- 32 credit hours of nursing coursework
- 2.5 GPA minimum plus prerequisite courses
- Population health nursing course with a practicum
- Leadership and management coursework
- Global health and cultural competence content
- Full-time and part-time enrollment options
Morningside University
#4Sioux City, IA · $30,000 – $35,000/yr (est.)
Morningside University is the most generous of these schools on transfer credit, accepting up to 94 credits from accredited two-year colleges, and its CCNE-accredited online RN to BSN runs 30 credit hours that the school says can be finished in about a year. Per-credit pricing is stated at roughly $385. The trade-off is cost and completion: Morningside's institution-wide net price is the highest on this list and its graduation rate the lowest, so the transfer policy is the real reason to look here. Since January 1, 2026 it has also operated St. Luke's College as a division, so ask what happens to prior St. Luke's coursework.
- Transfer up to 94 credits from accredited two-year colleges
- 30 credit hours; completable in about one year
- Approximately $385 per credit, about $11,550 in total tuition
- CCNE accredited
- 2.8 GPA minimum for admission
- Built around ten core competencies, including informatics and population health
- Individualized plan of study with full-time and part-time pacing
- Pathway into Morningside's online MSN and DNP programs
Mercy College of Health Sciences
#5Des Moines, IA · ~$27,000/yr (est.)
Mercy College of Health Sciences is a health-sciences-focused private college in Des Moines, and its CCNE-accredited RN to BSN compresses 30 credit hours into a 12-month part-time sequence with fall and spring starts. The curriculum was designed with nursing leaders and covers leadership, community health, evidence-based practice, and health policy, and faculty bring more than 23 years of clinical experience each. Institution-wide, Mercy reports the lowest median graduate debt among the Iowa programs here, alongside a mid-range net price.
- CCNE accredited and approved by the Iowa Board of Nursing
- 30 credit hours, finished part-time in about 12 months
- Fall and spring start dates
- Fully online with virtual support from instructors and advisors
- Curriculum covers leadership, community health, evidence-based practice, and policy
- Faculty average more than 23 years of clinical experience
- Total program tuition just over $10,000
- Prerequisite courses required
Northwestern College
#6Orange City, IA · ~$26,000/yr (est.)
Northwestern College is a private liberal arts college in Orange City whose CCNE-accredited RN to BSN completion option grants credit for prior nursing education and for professional experience, including licenses held more than seven years. It is the heaviest path here on paper: 124 total credits, 240 clinical hours, and coursework in cross-cultural nursing, research and informatics, and public health, capped by a leadership capstone. The program carries a faith-based, whole-person care emphasis that will fit some nurses and not others, and a CNA certification is required before entry.
- CCNE accredited
- 124 total credit hours and 240 clinical hours
- Credit granted for prior nursing education and long-held RN licenses
- Courses in cross-cultural nursing, research and informatics, and public health
- Nursing leadership capstone
- CNA certification required before entry
- Valid RN license waives prerequisite coursework
- Faith-based, whole-person care emphasis
Saint Ambrose University
#7Davenport, IA · ~$25,000/yr (est.)
Saint Ambrose University in Davenport delivers its RN to BSN through the Nano Nagle Online School of Nursing, and at 28 credit hours it asks for the fewest credits of any program on this list. It is CCNE accredited, runs rolling admissions with fall and spring starts, and can be finished in as few as three semesters, though you should expect in-person clinicals at partner health centers in the Midwest. The program is priced at $640 per credit, and its institution-wide graduation rate and net price land in the middle of this group.
- CCNE accredited; approved by the Iowa Board of Nursing
- 28 credit hours, the leanest requirement on this list
- Completable in as few as three semesters (about 11 months)
- Rolling admissions with fall and spring starts
- Priority application dates of December 1 and July 1
- 3.0 GPA minimum plus prerequisite courses
- Fully online coursework with in-person clinicals at Midwest partner sites
- Tuition of $640 per credit, $17,920 total
Per-Credit Rates, Fees, and the Real Total Price of an Iowa RN to BSN
A 30-credit completion track in Iowa realistically runs from roughly $10,000 at Mercy College of Health Sciences and about $11,550 at Morningside University up to the high teens or low twenties at Saint Ambrose University, where the billed rate of $770 per credit ($640 tuition plus a $130 online fee) puts total direct charges near $21,785. The second figure in each row below is the institution-wide average net price reported to the U.S. Department of Education, which blends undergraduate students across all majors after grant aid; treat it as context for how a school prices itself, never as a quote for your RN to BSN. Private schools such as Saint Ambrose, Morningside, Mercy, Northwestern, and St. Luke's charge one online rate regardless of where you live, while Iowa State University and the University of Iowa are the two programs on this list that still carry a separate nonresident tuition schedule, so residency matters most at the public institutions.
| School | Program Tuition or Per-Credit Rate | Published Tuition and Fees (In-State / Out-of-State) | Institution-Wide Average Net Price | Residency Pricing Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mercy College of Health Sciences (Des Moines) | About $10,000 total, 30 credit hours | $17,664 / $17,664 | $26,924 | Single private rate; no separate out-of-state tuition |
| Morningside University (Sioux City) | $385 per credit, about $11,550 total for 30 credits | $39,519 / $39,519 | $31,320 | Single private rate; no separate out-of-state tuition |
| Iowa State University (Ames) | 2026 resident tuition $9,816 plus $1,586 mandatory nursing fees, about $11,402; nonresident tuition $29,864 | $10,787 / $28,881 | $18,589 | Public; nonresident schedule applies |
| University of Iowa (Iowa City) | Program total reported at $18,112 | $11,283 / $33,371 | $22,531 | Public; nonresident schedule applies. Out-of-state online pricing not clearly published |
| Saint Ambrose University (Davenport) | $770 per credit billed ($640 tuition plus $130 online fee), 28 credits, total direct charges $21,785 | $36,658 / $36,658 | $24,691 | Single private online rate; residency not a factor |
| St. Luke's College (Sioux City) | Reported nursing-core cost near $18,600; 120 credit hours required for the degree | $24,175 / $24,175 | $19,820 | Single private rate; no separate out-of-state tuition |
| Northwestern College (Orange City) | Per-credit rate not published for the completion option; 124 credit hours required for the degree | $36,710 / $36,710 | $25,907 | Single private rate; no separate out-of-state tuition |
| Graceland University | $535 per semester hour, plus a $25 clinical resource fee, $18 online program support fee, and $50 research fee; late registration and re-sequencing each cost $100 | Not reported | Not reported | Single private online rate; no separate out-of-state rate published |
Iowa by City
Explore other Iowa related topics
What You Need in Hand Before You Apply
Iowa's two public RN to BSN pathways publish different thresholds, so check your transcript against the specific school before you pay an application fee.
- Cumulative GPAIowa State asks for a 2.5 cumulative GPA across all college coursework. The University of Iowa lists 2.75 as its published figure, though admissions materials also reference a 3.0 standard and note that every application is reviewed, nurses below the preferred line are still encouraged to apply. Assume nothing is automatic and ask an advisor where you actually stand.
- RN licensureIowa State requires a current, unrestricted Iowa or compact state RN license that stays in good standing the entire time you're enrolled. The University of Iowa requires an active, unencumbered license, with some materials allowing verification by the end of your first semester rather than at the point of application.
- Prerequisite courseworkExpect anatomy and physiology, statistics, and English composition across both schools. Iowa State also requires chemistry, human nutrition, and sociology, all finished before the program starts with a grade of C or higher, a C- does not count. The University of Iowa's list adds composition II and speech or public speaking.
- Diploma-prepared RNsThe University of Iowa explicitly accepts applicants holding either an ADN or a hospital diploma in nursing. Iowa State's published requirements reference an associate degree in nursing or NCLEX-RN eligibility and do not spell out diploma eligibility, so diploma graduates should contact the college directly before applying.
- Deadlines and admission cycleThe University of Iowa uses fixed dates: September 1 for spring entry and March 1 for fall. Iowa State opens applications up to a year ahead of the intended start without a single published cutoff, so applying early is the safer move.
How Much of Your ADN Transfers, and How Many Credits You Still Owe
In Iowa, the ADN to BSN transfer question comes down to two numbers: how many community college credits a university will accept, and how many upper-division credits remain after that. Most RN to BSN programs award RN to BSN transfer credits as a block of nursing credit once your RN license and official ADN transcript are verified, rather than transferring your nursing courses one by one.
Typical Transfer Structure
At the University of Iowa, the BSN requires 123 semester hours. Registered nurses receive 32 semester hours for prior nursing preparation and licensure, and the University of Iowa accepts up to 64 semester hours of community college credit toward the degree. Iowa State University takes a similar approach, awarding 32 credits for RN licensure and applying up to 65 transferable credits to a 120-credit BSN. Herzing University's Iowa program accepts up to 90 total credits and up to 70 nursing core credits from an associate degree or diploma.
Community College Articulation
Published University of Iowa partner lists in 2026 name North Iowa Area Community College and Iowa Western Community College, with separate plan-of-study pages for DMACC and Indian Hills Community College. Nurses often ask about Kirkwood and Hawkeye as well, but a partner list does not guarantee every course will apply. Iowa's statewide articulation framework, a community college to university nursing pathway, typically covers up to half of required BSN credits, and some ADN courses may have a six-year transfer time limit.
Watch for Quiet Gaps
General education requirements are where timelines slip. If you are missing a statistics, writing, or humanities course, the block of nursing credit will not cover it and you may need an extra semester. Request a pre-admission transcript evaluation before applying so an advisor can flag missing general education courses and confirm how your ADN courses map to the university's requirements.
Iowa RN to BSN Questions Nurses Ask Before Enrolling
These are the questions Iowa nurses raise most often once they start comparing bridge programs. Answers below reflect what Iowa schools publish about enrollment, clinical placement, and delivery; always confirm the specifics with an advisor before you pay a deposit.
Can an out-of-state or rural Iowa nurse enroll in an Iowa online RN to BSN program?
Does the University of Iowa RN to BSN require any campus visits?
Do Iowa RN to BSN programs require clinical hours, and can they be completed at my current employer?
How many credits transfer from an Iowa ADN into a BSN completion program?
Will a BSN change my pay as a bedside nurse in Iowa?
Can I keep working full time while enrolled, and does part-time study raise my total cost?
Three Semesters, Five Semesters, or the University of Iowa 3+1 Route
The real choice isn't whether to pick the fastest RN to BSN programs or a slower route, it's whether your schedule can survive the pace a fast finish demands. Iowa programs publish completion windows from about 12 months full time to 24-30 months part time, and picking wrong in either direction creates burnout or drift.
What the 3+1 Label Actually Means
The University of Iowa's 3+1 structure describes agreements that let qualifying nursing graduates move from their associate program directly into the College of Nursing to finish a BSN in three, four, or five semesters. It's not a separate curriculum so much as a plan of study built for a nurse who already holds an RN license and needs 32 semester hours with at least a 2.00 GPA. The three-semester track suits someone working reduced hours who can front-load coursework; the five-semester track spreads the same 32 credits unevenly (6, 6, 8, 6, 6) so no single term overwhelms a full-time work schedule, with summers off either way.
Why Hybrid Structures Lock In Your Timeline
Because the program runs primarily online with practicum placed in your own community, cohort pacing still governs when courses open. Enrolling part-time doesn't mean enrolling anytime; you still start and finish within the college's published semester windows.
Does Slower Cost More
Iowa bills per credit rather than by flat term rate, so stretching your 32 required credits across five semesters instead of three shouldn't inflate the total tuition for those credits, only when you pay it. Mandatory fees and residency status can still shift the final bill, so confirm current per-credit rates, and compare 5 Affordable RN to BSN Programs, before committing to a pace.
CCNE or ACEN? Accreditation and the Practicum Hours Nobody Mentions
Accreditation determines whether your Iowa BSN helps or blocks your next step, and eight of the state's nine programs answer that question the same way.
Who Holds What
Briar Cliff, Graceland, Herzing, Mercy College, Morningside, Mount Mercy, St. Luke's, and the University of Iowa all carry CCNE accreditation. Iowa State stands alone under ACEN. Both are recognized nursing accreditors, and either satisfies most graduate school and employer requirements, but confirm the specific credential yourself before enrolling, since accreditation status can shift and directly affects admission to MSN programs or DNP programs in Iowa, VA and military tuition assistance, and whether your employer's reimbursement policy will pay out.
Practicum Hours: The Part Left Off Most Brochures
Most Iowa programs describe a capstone or leadership project without publishing specific nursing school clinical hours, which does not mean no requirement exists, only that it is not advertised upfront. Two programs are explicit: Iowa State requires at least 45 practicum hours built around population health and local immersion work, and Herzing pairs a 45-hour community project with a 5.00-credit BSN practicum course rather than traditional clinicals.
Who Lines Up Your Preceptor
This is where rural nurses hit friction. At the University of Iowa, two practicum courses require in-person work completable near home: the school places students within 100 miles for the community health practicum and pairs them with a preceptor directly. For the leadership practicum, most students working at Iowa healthcare employers complete it on the job; those outside Iowa coordinate with faculty to arrange an affiliation agreement. Ask every program directly whether the school or you arrange the preceptor before you enroll.
Inside Our Scoring: What Earned an Iowa Program a Spot
Every program on this list clears one non-negotiable gate: the school must deliver RN to BSN coursework to Iowa nurses in a fully online or hybrid format. A campus-only bridge, no matter how strong, does not make the cut, because the readers this list serves are working registered nurses who need to keep their shifts.
How the Composite Is Built
Past the eligibility gate, we weight two things. Online delivery flexibility carries the heaviest share, one of The 6 Most Important Considerations in Choosing an Online Nursing Program, since asynchronous access and minimal on-campus requirements matter most to employed nurses. Institutional quality signals fill in the rest: net price, graduation rate, and student retention.
One honest limitation: graduation rate and net price are reported institution-wide, not for the RN to BSN cohort specifically. A large university's overall numbers may not mirror what post-licensure bridge students experience.
Reweight It Yourself
If cost drives your decision, re-sort by per-credit tuition and ignore the composite order. If pacing matters more, prioritize programs offering three-semester or self-paced tracks. Our ranking is a starting point, not a verdict.

