Connecticut's 100-hour training requirement is among the lowest in the country, yet the gap between a two-week accelerated boot camp and a semester-length community college course can reshape your schedule, your budget, and how quickly you start earning. With dozens of state-approved programs spread across Hartford, New Haven, Bridgeport, and smaller towns, narrowing the list means weighing tuition (anywhere from free to roughly $2,000), format, and location against your own constraints.
Healthcare employers across the state continue to post openings for certified nursing assistants faster than programs can fill seats, which gives new graduates real leverage, but only if the program they choose actually prepares them to pass the competency exam on the first attempt.
Top CNA Programs in Connecticut Ranked by Affordability
Connecticut's CNA training options vary widely in price, and tuition cost is often the deciding factor for students. This program stands out for combining a low total price with flexible scheduling and multiple locations across the state.
How we ranked these
- Net price after aid
- Total program cost
- Institution-wide graduation rate
- Financial aid access
- Schedule and location flexibility
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
- Original research on individual programs
Connecticut State Community College
#1New Britain, CT · $10,000 – $15,000/yr
Best for: Career changers seeking low-cost training
Connecticut State Community College (CT State), the state's public community college system, offers the Certified Nurse Aide program at campuses across Connecticut in both on-ground and hybrid formats. The roughly six-week course costs $1,799 including textbooks and exams, and graduates are prepared to sit for the Connecticut CNA exam. The typical net price for in-state students is about $11,513 per year, and the college's institution-wide graduation rate is around 24 percent.
- ACEN accredited
- 6-week program length
- On-ground and hybrid formats
- $1,799 total cost with textbooks and exams included
- Multiple campus locations in Connecticut
- Classroom, lab, and clinical training
- Prepares students for the state CNA exam
- WIOA and SNAP funding options
What Does CNA Training Actually Cost in Connecticut?
A community college program advertised at $1,799 and a private academy quoting $1,500 look like they're competing head to head, but the number on the brochure rarely matches what lands on your bank statement. Connecticut's CNA landscape splits into two camps: the CT State Community College system, with a six-week program listed at roughly $1,799 that reportedly bundles textbooks and exam costs, and a handful of private schools that itemize fees separately.
Comparing the Providers
- CT State Community College: Around $1,799 total for the six-week course, with some listings suggesting textbooks and exams are folded in, though pricing notes "may vary" by campus.
- Northeast Medical Institute: Tuition posted at $1,200 plus a $350 application fee, putting the realistic total near $1,550 before supplies or exam costs.
- Excel Academy: A $1,500 package broken into $300 registration, $100 for books and uniform, and $1,100 tuition.
- CNA Prep School: The highest of the group at roughly $1,850, split across $900 tuition, $150 registration, a $300 deposit, and a $500 supplies fee.
Sticker Price vs. Real Price
None of these totals reliably include Connecticut's $118 state competency exam fee, and background checks, CPR certification, and TB testing often show up as separate line items even when a school's homepage implies an all-in price. That gap between the quoted tuition and the final cost is exactly what most competing nursing school cost comparisons gloss over, and it's the difference between budgeting $1,500 and discovering you owe closer to $2,000 once every fee clears.
Worth noting: system-wide debt data for CT State's broader certificate programs runs around $9,200, but that figure reflects longer credit-bearing tracks, not a standalone six-week CNA cohort, so don't assume it applies directly to your CNA bill.
Where Financial Aid Fits
At CT State, more than 95% of students receive Pell Grant support, a strong signal that financial aid for nursing students is widely available even for short-term workforce training. Beyond Pell, Connecticut residents can look into WIOA workforce grants and CT Department of Labor training vouchers, both of which can offset or eliminate tuition entirely. The next section walks through exactly how to access those free and employer-paid pathways.
Free and Employer-Paid CNA Training Options in Connecticut
Free CNA training in Connecticut is real, but the actual cost to you depends on eligibility rules and whether you agree to work for the sponsoring employer after you earn your certificate.
Employer-Sponsored Programs With Work Strings
Several Connecticut facilities cover tuition in exchange for a commitment to work there, though the exact terms vary and are often not publicly posted. Avon Health Center offers a free three-week class, but class and clinical hours are unpaid, and the posting does not state a work commitment. Waveny LifeCare covers tuition, materials, uniforms, and exam costs, and pays students as employees from day one, an earn while you learn arrangement that implies a work requirement, though the length is not specified. Jewish Home for the Elderly requires a high school diploma or GED, a completed application, a written explanation of why you should be hired, and two non-relative references. Hartford HealthCare Senior Services runs a grant-funded six-week program that covers tuition, books, scrubs, and exam fees; it appears to feed into system employment, but no explicit contract is documented. The CNA Academy at Hospital for Special Care is listed as free for five weeks, but eligibility and work obligations are not detailed.
Grant and Community Programs Without an Employment Tie
Central AHEC's CNA Pathways to College is free, but students pay for their own drug screening, background check, and TB test. Harriot Community Healthcare Academy and New Haven Adult Education are also listed as free, with no published eligibility or commitment details. Hartford Job Corps provides free training for eligible young people, typically ages 16 to 24 and low-income, but specific criteria are not listed. Albertus Magnus College offers a free CNA program through the Good Jobs Challenge grant.
Workforce Funding Covers Tuition at Approved Schools
Even when the school itself is not free, Connecticut workforce funding can cover your costs. Through the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act and Connecticut Department of Labor's American Job Centers, Northeast Medical Institute offers tuition assistance up to $4,000, with no employment contract. Students pay any amount above that cap. Career ConneCT advertises free training for in-demand careers, but CNA-specific conditions are not detailed.
What "Free" Still Requires
No matter how the training is funded, you still must pass the Connecticut CNA certification exam, which carries its own fee, a step covered in more detail in our guide on how to become a certified nursing assistant. Some programs also require you to cover background checks, drug tests, and TB screening out of pocket, as Central AHEC does. Employer-sponsored programs often ask for a work commitment of one to two years, but repayment terms if you leave early are rarely spelled out in public postings. Get any agreement in writing before you enroll.
Explore other Connecticut related topics
Questions to Ask Yourself
Connecticut CNA Training Hours, Certification Exam, and Registry
Connecticut's Department of Public Health sets the training floor at 100 hours for any approved nurse aide program in the state, and no 2025-2026 update has changed that number. Of those hours, at least 75 must cover core skills such as basic nursing care, personal care, working with cognitively impaired residents, mental health and social needs, restorative care, and residents' rights. The remaining 25 hours go toward specialized training in responding to physical, psychiatric, psychosocial, and cognitive disorders. A separate state mandate, in effect since 2022, requires at least 2 of those hours to cover suicide prevention and screening for PTSD, depression, and grief. DPH does not publish an official classroom-versus-clinical split, so programs vary in how they divide lecture and hands-on time, but every program must be coordinated by an RN with at least two years of experience, including one year in a licensed nursing home setting.
Sitting for the Exam
Once training is finished, candidates test through Prometric, Connecticut's approved vendor. The exam has two parts: a Clinical Skills Test and either a Written or an Oral Test. Combined fees run around $118 for the written pairing or $128 for the oral pairing, with separate retake charges if you need to redo just the clinical portion, the written portion, or the oral portion. Rescheduling carries its own fee, and all payments must be made by certified check, money order, or major credit card. Cash and personal checks aren't accepted, and fees are non-refundable, so confirm your test date before paying.
Getting on the Registry
Passing both parts of the exam places you on the Connecticut Nurse Aide Registry automatically. This is the step that actually makes you a certified nursing assistant; finishing a training program alone doesn't count, and neither does passing only one portion of the exam. Renewal is free and simply requires documenting at least one 8-hour shift of paid nursing or personal care work every 24 months. Skip that, and you'll need to retest to reactivate your status.
Coming From Another State
Connecticut generally accepts nurse aide certification earned elsewhere through a reciprocity process, which carries its own modest fee separate from the standard exam charges.
From Application to Badge: CNA Certification Timeline in Connecticut
Whether you choose an accelerated boot camp or a traditional semester-length course, the path to your Connecticut CNA badge follows the same sequence. The difference is how quickly you move through it. Below is each milestone with typical durations for both tracks.

Accelerated Vs. Semester-Length CNA Programs: How Long Training Takes
Connecticut CNA programs range from roughly two weeks to 16 weeks or more, so the right fit depends on your availability and learning style. Accelerated tracks pack classroom theory, lab skills, and clinical rotations into an intensive daily schedule, while semester-length courses spread the same required hours across evenings or weekends. Here is a side-by-side look at how these two formats compare across the state.
| Accelerated (2 to 4 Weeks) | Semester-Length (8 to 16 Weeks) |
|---|---|
| 2 to 4 weeks full-time; the fastest option in Connecticut is a 2-week daytime course at The CNA Prep School, while programs at CNA Bootcamp of CT, Cornerstone Medical Training, and Excel Academy run about 4 weeks | 8 to 16 weeks part-time; Albertus Magnus College offers an 8-week, 110-hour course, and Wallingford Adult Education runs a 16-week program (35 sessions) |
| Monday through Friday, roughly 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. or later; expect 25 to 35 hours per week in class and clinicals | Typically two or three evenings per week; Wallingford Adult Education, for example, meets Tuesday and Thursday from 5:00 p.m. to 8:30 p.m. |
| Students who can dedicate full weekdays to training and want to enter the workforce quickly | Working adults or students balancing other responsibilities who need evening or weekend flexibility |
| In-person daytime or hybrid; Northeast Medical Institute offers a self-paced hybrid with 2 to 3 weeks of online theory followed by 7 days of in-person labs and clinicals | Primarily in-person evening classes, though some colleges design schedules to fit varying availability |
| Limited; a few schools offer compressed evening tracks (Cornerstone Medical Training's evening program finishes in about 4.5 weeks, and The CNA Prep School runs a 5-week night course) | Evenings are the standard format; weekend sections are less common but some programs such as Training Direct in Bridgeport list weekend availability |
| The CNA Prep School (2 weeks), Northeast Medical Institute in Woodbridge (about 2 to 3 weeks), CNA Bootcamp of CT (4 weeks), Excel Academy in North Haven (4 weeks), Training Direct in Bridgeport (3 to 4 weeks) | Albertus Magnus College (8 weeks), Wallingford Adult Education (16 weeks), and several Hartford area evening programs running 6 or more weeks |
Online and Hybrid CNA Classes Available in Connecticut
Several Connecticut training providers now deliver CNA coursework in a hybrid format, letting students complete theory online before reporting in person for labs and clinicals.
Why Fully Online Is Not an Option
Connecticut's Department of Public Health requires all CNA training programs to include hands-on clinical practice at an approved facility. That means no fully online program can lead to certification in the state. Every hybrid option pairs online didactic instruction with mandatory in-person skills labs and clinical rotations.
Providers Offering Hybrid CNA Training
- Northeast Medical Institute (Bristol and other locations): 48 hours of self-paced online theory, 40 hours of in-person lab, and 16 hours of clinical training, totaling 104 hours. Students typically finish the online portion in two to three weeks, then attend seven days of on-site labs and clinicals.
- CompassCare Institute: 57 hours of instructor-led online training through live virtual lectures and recorded sessions, followed by 16 hours of practical lab and 36 hours of clinical rotations at local partner facilities. Total program: 109 hours.
- Cornerstone Medical Training: A modular program with 45.5 lecture hours, 28.5 lab hours, and 34 clinical hours. Students can choose a hybrid track where theory lectures are delivered online, though all labs and clinicals remain in person.
- AIHT Education: Combines online course materials and at-home study with in-person classes and a clinical externship at a long-term care center.
- PTC Training Academy (Danbury): Theory is completed online at the student's own pace, with clinical skills and labs held at the Danbury campus.
Who Benefits Most From Hybrid Formats
Students juggling work schedules or family responsibilities gain the most from hybrid programs. Completing theory online, often on evenings or weekends, reduces the number of days spent commuting to a campus. Geographic flexibility also matters: a student in a rural part of the state can handle lectures from home and limit travel to the clinical portion.
Comparative pass-rate or completion data for hybrid versus traditional CNA programs in Connecticut is not currently published by the state, so prospective students should ask each provider directly for their most recent exam outcomes.
CNA Pay in Connecticut: Statewide and Metro-Level Wages
Official 2026 wage figures for nursing assistants in Connecticut have not yet been published. The most recent federal data available comes from the May 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics (OEWS) release. Below you will find the geographic areas covered in that dataset along with guidance on how to look up the exact percentile wages yourself. To find current numbers, visit BLS.gov, select "Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics," and search for SOC code 31-1131 (Nursing Assistants). You can filter by state or by metro area to see median, 10th, 25th, 75th, and 90th percentile wages plus total employment counts. Note that Bridgeport and Stamford are reported as a single combined metro area (Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury, CT), so you will not find separate city-level breakouts. Beyond BLS data, the Connecticut Department of Labor publishes its own occupational wage tables, and organizations such as the Connecticut Hospital Association and the Connecticut Nurses' Association periodically release workforce reports and salary surveys worth reviewing.
| Geographic Area | Latest OEWS Data Available | 2026 Median Annual Wage | How to Look It Up |
|---|---|---|---|
| Connecticut (Statewide) | May 2025 | Not yet published for 2026 | Go to BLS.gov, choose OEWS, search SOC 31-1131, select Connecticut |
| Hartford-West Hartford-East Hartford, CT | May 2025 | Not yet published for 2026 | On the BLS OEWS metro area page, search SOC 31-1131 and select this metro |
| New Haven, CT | May 2025 | Not yet published for 2026 | On the BLS OEWS metro area page, search SOC 31-1131 and select New Haven |
| Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury, CT (combined area) | May 2025 | Not yet published for 2026 | On the BLS OEWS metro area page, search SOC 31-1131 and select Bridgeport-Stamford-Danbury |

