Updated September 7, 202616 min read

Best CNA Schools in Nevada for 2027

Compare costs, program length, pass rates, and schedules at top-ranked Nevada CNA training schools.

CNA training in Nevada can cost anywhere from under $1,000 at a rural community college to roughly $2,600 at a university or private career school, with program lengths spanning four weeks to three months depending on format. That range matters because the credential itself is identical: every graduate sits for the same NNAAP competency exam and lands on the same state registry.

The real variable is how quickly and affordably you can get there. Some Las Vegas employers now cover tuition entirely through paid training tracks, while standard evening and weekend schedules let working adults finish without quitting a job. With the state requiring just 75 hours of approved instruction, the barrier to entry is low, but choosing the wrong program can still waste time and money.

Nevada's Top-Ranked CNA Programs for 2027

The following programs represent some of Nevada's strongest options for CNA training, ranging from community college certificate paths to university continuing education and private career colleges. Each takes a slightly different approach to scheduling, cost, and clinical experience, so the right match depends on where you live, how fast you want to finish, and whether you need help covering tuition and fees. School-by-school CNA exam pass rates are not consistently published for Nevada, which makes Board approval status, program structure, and clinical practice especially important to compare.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Approved program status
  • Affordability and net price
  • Student outcomes and completion
  • Program pacing and access
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

Truckee Meadows Community College

#1

Reno, NV · $3,000 – $12,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Aspiring CNAs seeking paid apprenticeship training

Truckee Meadows Community College serves the Reno area with a one-semester certified nursing assistant pathway built around NURS 130. Students move through classroom work, skills practice, and clinical experiences at Nevada health care agencies before becoming eligible to apply for state certification. TMCC also partners with Renown Health on a paid apprenticeship model, creating a direct bridge from the classroom into paid patient care work in the Reno region.

  • One-semester NURS 130 pathway
  • Clinical experiences at Nevada health care agencies
  • Appears on Nevada State Board approved provider lists
  • Paid apprenticeship option with Renown Health
  • Open to students age 16 and older
  • Teaches vital signs, patient support, and direct care

College of Southern Nevada

#2

Las Vegas, NV · $4,000 – $13,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Las Vegas students needing flexible campus locations

The College of Southern Nevada is a major Las Vegas Valley public college and runs its nursing assistant pathway as an open-entry skills certificate. Classes are available at West Charleston, North Las Vegas, Henderson, and Mesquite campuses, with lecture, lab, and clinical components throughout the year. CSN is a strong choice for students who want a Board-approved, low-cost route to nursing assistant certification without competing for a limited-entry seat.

ACEN accredited
  • Open-entry skills certificate, no limited-entry application
  • Classes at four Las Vegas area campuses
  • Lecture, lab, and clinical components
  • Spring, summer, and fall start terms
  • Mandatory orientation and English proficiency prerequisites
  • ACEN accredited

Great Basin College

#3

Elko, NV · $8,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Rural learners seeking hybrid training close to home

Great Basin College expands access to CNA training far beyond its Elko home base, offering the nursing assistant course in Battle Mountain, Winnemucca, Ely, and Pahrump, with distance and hybrid formats for rural learners. The curriculum is aligned with the Nevada Nurse Practice Act, and the course admits students as young as 16 without requiring a high school diploma or GED. Traditional, accelerated, and hybrid schedules make it a practical fit for working adults and high school students across Nevada.

  • Traditional, hybrid, and accelerated schedule options
  • Offerings in Elko, Battle Mountain, Winnemucca, Ely, and Pahrump
  • Distance education options for rural Nevada learners
  • No high school diploma or GED required
  • Accepts students age 16 and older
  • Built around Nevada Nurse Practice Act standards

Western Nevada College

#4

Carson City, NV · $13,000/yr (net price)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Western Nevada College in Carson City keeps its CNA pathway focused: one campus-based, 6-unit nursing assistant course covers the fundamentals needed for Nevada state certification. Students practice daily living assistance, basic patient care, and medical team communication for both long-term care and acute care roles. It is a straightforward, affordable option for northern Nevada residents who want to complete training close to home.

  • Single required 6-unit nursing assistant course
  • Campus-based training in Carson City
  • Covers daily living assistance and basic patient care
  • Communication skills for working with medical teams
  • Prepares for long-term care and acute care settings
  • Meets Nevada certification preparation standards

University of Nevada-Las Vegas

#5

Las Vegas, NV · $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

UNLV gives Las Vegas students a university-based route to CNA training in four weeks. Its continuing education program compresses 96 hours into a hybrid format, pairing online work with in-person skills sessions and simulations. The program is designed around the Nevada State Board of Nursing exam, and workforce funding may be available for students who qualify.

  • 4-week hybrid training format
  • 96 total program hours
  • Includes clinical simulations and skills sessions
  • Requires high school diploma, background check, and CPR/BLS
  • Multiple start dates each year
  • Workforce funding available for eligible students

Pima Medical Institute-Las Vegas

#6

Las Vegas, NV · $20,000 – $25,000/yr

Pima Medical Institute's Las Vegas campus is a private career college focused on hands-on, entry-level health care training. Its nursing assistant/nurse aide certificate is designed to be finished in about six weeks on campus and includes clinical externship work. Pima also offers career services and job placement help, making it an option for students who want private career school wraparound support while preparing for the CNA exam.

  • Certificate completed in about six weeks
  • Hands-on on-campus training
  • Includes clinical externship
  • Covers infection control, emergency procedures, and basic nursing skills
  • Prepares graduates for the CNA certification exam
  • Career services and job placement assistance available

How We Evaluated These CNA Programs

Our evaluation began with the Nevada State Board of Nursing's current approved list of CNA Classes & Programs. Every program included here was checked against that list to confirm active approval status, and unapproved programs were excluded regardless of price or reputation. We also gave preference to programs with clear, published schedules and transparent total costs.

Affordability carried the most weight in the ranking, using each school's net price after financial aid as the primary cost measure. Net price reflects what students actually pay after grants and scholarships, not the sticker price. We also factored in institution-wide graduation rates and availability of multiple class formats, such as day, evening, weekend, or hybrid options, since many students pursuing How to Become a Certified Nursing Assistant balance work and family obligations.

Where the state or individual programs publish CNA exam pass rates, we used those figures as a qualitative signal of how well a program prepares graduates for certification. Pass rates were not available for every program, so missing data did not disqualify a school. Because program-specific completion rates are not consistently reported for CNA training, we relied on broader institutional graduation rates as a proxy and want to be transparent about that limitation.

Finally, this is not a pay-to-rank list. No school or program paid for inclusion or higher placement.

What Nevada Requires for CNA Certification

What training and testing do you need to complete before you can legally work as a CNA in Nevada?

Minimum Training Hours

The Nevada State Board of Nursing requires a minimum of 75 total training hours for CNA certification. At least 60 of those hours must cover theory and lab-based skills instruction, with the remaining hours devoted to supervised clinical practice at a site that holds a signed clinical agreement with the training program. Only graduates of Board-approved programs may take the competency exam, so verify the program's approval status before you enroll in one of the Best Nursing Schools in Nevada.

Competency Exam

After completing an approved program, you must pass both portions of the certification exam:

  • Written test: Approximately 70 multiple-choice questions covering nursing assistant knowledge.
  • Skills demonstration: A hands-on clinical evaluation where you perform selected CNA competencies in front of an examiner.

You have one year from the date you finish training to submit your certification application. If you miss that deadline, the Board requires you to retrain before you can test.

Pre-Enrollment and Application Requirements

Before you start classes or apply for testing, be prepared for these prerequisites:

  • Minimum age: You must be at least 16 years old.
  • Criminal background check: nursing school background check requirements apply to all applicants.
  • Program completion documentation: You will need a transcript or certificate from your approved training program when you apply to take the exam.

Immunization and health screening requirements can vary by clinical site, so check with your specific program early in the enrollment process to avoid delays.

State Licensing at a Glance

The Real Cost of CNA Classes in Las Vegas and Reno

CNA program costs in Nevada range from under $1,000 at rural community colleges to roughly $2,600 at universities and private schools. The table below breaks down what you can expect to pay at major providers across both Las Vegas and Reno. Keep in mind that institution-wide net price figures published by the U.S. Department of Education reflect averages after financial aid across all programs and may not match your actual CNA-specific out-of-pocket expense.

Cost CategoryCSN (Las Vegas, Public)TMCC (Reno, Public)Great Basin College (Elko, Public)UNLV Continuing Ed (Las Vegas)Pima Medical Institute (Las Vegas, Private)Majen Training Center (Reno, Private)
Tuition$742.50 (6 credits at $123.75)~$507 (6 credits)~$960Included in totalIncluded in total$1,800 to $2,100
Lab Fee$20~$50$135Included in totalIncluded in totalIncluded in tuition
Books and Supplies~$150Included in total estimateVariesIncluded in totalIncluded in totalIncluded in tuition
Uniforms and Equipment~$100Included in total estimate~$190 (if purchased through school)Included in totalIncluded in totalNot specified separately
Background Check and Fingerprinting$146 ($86 background, $60 fingerprints)Not itemized separately$125 to $175Required (cost included in total)Required (cost not itemized)Not specified separately
CPR Certification~$60Not itemized separatelyNot itemized separatelyRequired before enrollmentIncluded in programNot specified separately
Physical Exam and TB Screening~$135 ($75 physical, $60 TB)Not itemized separatelyNot itemized separatelyRequired before enrollmentNot itemizedNot specified separately
NSBN Application Fee$50$50$50$50$50$50
State Certification Exam~$140 ($50 written, $90 skills)~$140~$140~$140~$140~$140
Estimated Total~$1,695$1,200 to $1,700$720 to $960 (varies by enrollment type)~$2,625 (all inclusive)Contact school for current pricing$1,900 to $2,400

Program Length, Schedule Options, and Free Training in Nevada

The core tradeoff in choosing CNA certification before nursing school is speed versus sustainability: a compressed 4-week track gets you working faster, but a standard 8-12 week schedule leaves room for a job, family, or the sheer volume of clinical material.

Accelerated vs. Standard Formats

Las Vegas has 4-week CNA programs, but they are intensive by design. Expect 8+ hour days, back-to-back lecture and skills lab, and clinical rotations packed into the final weeks. They work well for students who can treat training like a full-time job and who learn well under pressure.

Standard 8-12 week programs, more common at community colleges and larger training centers in both Las Vegas and Reno, spread the same required hours across fewer daily sessions. That pace gives more time to absorb infection control, vital signs, and patient transfer techniques before clinicals.

Day, Evening, and Weekend Options

Schedule availability varies by provider, and specific offerings shift term to term, so confirm directly before enrolling:

  • Daytime cohorts: the default at community colleges and most accelerated programs, typically running Monday through Friday.
  • Evening classes: offered by several private training centers in the Las Vegas metro for students working day jobs; sessions usually run three to four evenings per week over a longer stretch.
  • Weekend tracks: less common and often fill quickly; ask providers whether a weekend cohort is scheduled for the term you want.

Free and Employer-Funded Training

Goodwill of Southern Nevada runs a CNA pathway in Las Vegas that pairs a one-week healthcare bootcamp with 4 to 6 weeks of formal CNA training, followed by the state licensing exam. It is marketed to financially disadvantaged residents, and funding coverage is decided case by case, so contact Goodwill directly to confirm current eligibility and whether your cost would be fully or partially covered.

Beyond Goodwill, two other funding routes are worth exploring:

  • WIOA workforce grants: administered in Southern Nevada through Workforce Connections and statewide via Nevadaworks, these can cover tuition at approved training providers for eligible job seekers.
  • Pell-eligible programs: some CNA certificates offered through accredited colleges may qualify for federal aid; confirm Title IV eligibility with the financial aid office.

No-Cost CNA Programs often carry strings attached, most commonly a post-certification work commitment with the sponsoring employer or agency. Read the service agreement before signing.

Online Vs. In-Person CNA Classes: What's Actually Available in Nevada

If you are hoping to complete your entire CNA program from home, Nevada's requirements will narrow your options quickly. The state mandates hands-on clinical hours that must be completed at an approved facility under direct supervision, so a fully online CNA program is not an option here. That said, a small number of Nevada programs use a hybrid format that moves classroom theory online while keeping clinicals in person.

Pros

  • Hybrid programs let you study theory lectures and coursework on your own schedule, which is helpful if you are balancing work or family.
  • Online theory components can reduce time spent commuting to campus, lowering transportation costs during the didactic portion.
  • Self-paced modules in hybrid formats allow students to review difficult material as many times as needed before clinical rotations begin.
  • In-person clinical training, required in every format, ensures you gain the direct patient care skills employers expect from day one.

Cons

  • Very few approved CNA programs in Nevada currently offer a hybrid option; most are fully in-person, limiting your choices.
  • Even hybrid students must commit significant hours on site for clinical rotations, so the schedule flexibility is only partial.
  • Hybrid formats require strong self-discipline and reliable internet access, which can be a barrier for some students.
  • Programs that are entirely online and claim Nevada certification should be viewed with caution, as they may not meet state approval standards.

CNA Pay Across Nevada: What to Expect in Las Vegas, Reno, and Beyond

Understanding what CNAs earn across Nevada can help you plan your finances and your career path. The table below draws on Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational wage estimates for Nursing Assistants (May 2023), the most recent state and metro data available at publication. Keep in mind that Reno's slightly higher cost of living compared to Las Vegas may offset its marginally higher entry-level pay, so take-home purchasing power is roughly comparable between the two metros. If you are looking to boost your earning potential beyond the CNA ceiling, CNA-to-LPN and CNA-to-RN bridge programs can open the door to salaries that are often two to three times higher. You can explore those pathways and detailed salary breakdowns on registerednursing.org.

Geography10th Percentile25th PercentileMedian75th Percentile90th Percentile
Nevada (Statewide)$30,190$39,100$45,490$47,990$47,640
Las Vegas, Henderson, Paradise MSA$30,560N/AN/AN/A$47,640
Reno MSA$30,570N/AN/AN/A$47,640

Answers to Common CNA Training Questions in Nevada

Below are answers to the questions prospective nursing assistants in Nevada ask most often. Each response is based on current state requirements and published program details, though you should always verify costs and policies directly with the school or the Nevada State Board of Nursing before enrolling.

What does the CSN CNA program cost and how do I enroll?
The College of Southern Nevada's Nursing Assistant certificate is a 6-credit course with an estimated total cost of roughly $1,695 for Nevada residents. That figure covers tuition at $123.75 per credit, lab and technology fees, books, uniforms, CPR certification, background checks, and exam fees. Non-residents pay an additional $136.25 per credit surcharge. Enroll through CSN's Health Programs Advisement Office at the Charleston, North Las Vegas, or Henderson campus.
How long does CNA training take in Las Vegas?
Program length varies by school and schedule format. CSN's North Las Vegas campus lists approximately 180 clock hours of instruction. Across the Las Vegas market, most CNA programs run anywhere from about four weeks for accelerated tracks up to several months for part-time or evening schedules. Contact your chosen program directly for its current calendar, because start dates and session lengths change each semester.
Can I work as a CNA in Nevada while waiting for my exam results?
Nevada does not have a widely published rule authorizing CNA work while exam results are pending. Score reports from the competency exam typically appear within hours, and official results usually reach the Board within about one week. Because there is no confirmed interim work authorization, check with the Nevada State Board of Nursing and your prospective employer before assuming you can begin working prior to certification.
Do Nevada CNA certifications transfer to other states through reciprocity?
Nevada uses a process called "licensure by endorsement" rather than automatic reciprocity. You must submit a completed application, a copy of your active out-of-state certificate, proof of state-approved training that meets federal OBRA requirements, documentation of at least 8 hours of CNA employment in the previous two years, endorsement forms from your original state, and fingerprints. The endorsement application fee is $50.
What is the difference between a CNA and a certified medication aide in Nevada?
A CNA, one of the most common Nursing Acronyms, provides direct patient care such as bathing, feeding, and vital-sign monitoring under the supervision of a licensed nurse. A certified medication aide, sometimes called a CMA, has completed additional training that authorizes the administration of certain medications in approved settings. Both roles require active Nevada certification, but the CMA credential adds coursework and a separate approval process beyond standard CNA training.
What continuing education does Nevada require for CNA renewal?
To renew your Nevada CNA certification, you must complete 24 hours of continuing nursing education and document at least 40 hours of nursing-related practice performed under the supervision of a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse. Both requirements must be met within the two-year renewal cycle. The Board of Nursing outlines accepted CE topics and approved providers on its website.

Follow us