Most CNA programs in Columbia finish in 11 to 16 weeks, among the quickest routes into paid patient care in mid-Missouri. The decision is where to train: MACC, the Columbia Area Career Center, Job Point, or a nursing home's in-house course.
Tuition is only part of the bill. The Career Center lists $999, but exam fees are not always included, and supplies, background screening and missed shifts add up. Some facilities waive tuition in exchange for a work commitment.
Use the rankings first, then compare costs, state rules, admissions, clinicals and pay. Either way, Missouri allows one year from your first class to finish training and pass both parts of the state exam.
Top CNA Schools Serving Columbia, MO Students
Below are the top CNA programs serving Columbia students, ordered by how well each one fits someone starting out in mid-Missouri. The schools that rise here pair a manageable price with a real record of getting students to the finish line, meaning a passing score on the state exam and a first aide job. Most campuses sit outside Columbia, so each entry explains how classroom format and travel shape the commitment.
How we ranked these
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Program cost and required hours
- Clinical placement quality
- Distance from Columbia
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
- Original research on individual programs
East Central College
#1Union, MO · ~$13,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Cost-conscious career changers
East Central College pairs one of the lowest tuition rates in the state with a single-focus CNA track: 75 classroom hours plus 100 clinical hours, capped at 15 students. Program cost runs $800 to $1,500, and the college says state funding can offset it for qualified students. In-state tuition is $4,608 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $13,128, which is a school-wide figure rather than a quote for the aide course; the school's overall graduation rate sits near 48 percent. For a Columbia student this is a 14 to 16 week commitment best handled as a short relocation or a heavy weekly drive to Union.
- 75 classroom hours plus 100 clinical hours
- Program cost ranges from $800 to $1,500
- State funding available for qualified students
- Applicants must be 18 and pass background and drug checks
- No GED or high school diploma required
- Runs 14 to 16 weeks on campus
- Enrollment capped at 15 students
- Prepares students for the Missouri certification exam
Jefferson College
#2Hillsboro, MO · $7,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: Aspiring CNAs seeking paid apprenticeship hours
Jefferson College runs a 12 week CNA program with an explicit bedside focus: at least 75 classroom hours plus 100 supervised clinical hours in long-term care settings, and an optional paid apprenticeship layered on top. Total program tuition is about $2,550, with financial aid and scholarships noted by the college. In-state tuition is $7,050 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is roughly $7,378 across all students, not a quote for the aide course; the overall graduation rate is about 38 percent. The apprenticeship is the draw for Columbia students, since paid clinical hours can offset the cost of traveling to Hillsboro.
- Total program tuition of about $2,550
- 12 week format with 75 classroom hours
- 100 hours of supervised clinical practice
- Optional CNA apprenticeship adds paid experience
- Financial aid and scholarships available
- Prepares students for Missouri knowledge and skills exams
- In-person instruction with direct instructor supervision
- Focus on long-term care and rehabilitation settings
Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City
#3Kansas City, MO · $8,000/yr (est. net price)
Best for: First-time students new to healthcare
Metropolitan Community College-Kansas City teaches the standard Missouri sequence, 75 hours of theory and lab plus 100 clinical hours, and bundles the state exam, textbook, stethoscope, gait belt and background check into the price. In-state tuition is $7,110 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $8,398, an overall figure rather than the CNA course price; the school's overall graduation rate is roughly 34 percent. No prior healthcare experience is needed, which makes this a clean entry point for Columbia residents willing to finish a short program in the Kansas City metro and then return home to work.
- 75 hours of theory and lab plus 100 clinical hours
- State exam, textbook, stethoscope and gait belt included
- Background check included in tuition
- Campus-based, in-person instruction
- Covers vital signs, bathing, feeding and transfer technique
- No prior healthcare experience needed
- College admission application required before enrollment
- Prepares students for the Missouri CNA assessment
St. Charles Community College
#4Cottleville, MO · ~$6,000/yr (est.)
St. Charles Community College runs two routes: a campus-based CNA sequence at its Center for Healthy Living and a hybrid version that delivers 75 classroom hours online through Canvas plus 100 hours of clinical internship at partner facilities, with tuition in the $600 to $950 range. In-state tuition is $5,400 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $5,837, a school-wide average rather than a program price; the overall graduation rate is roughly 25 percent. The hybrid route is the one built for Columbia students, since only the clinical shifts require travel to Cottleville.
- Campus-based training at the Dardenne Creek Campus
- Housed in the Center for Healthy Living
- Hands-on skill building for direct patient care roles
- Prepared for entry-level healthcare employment
- 75 hours of online classroom instruction via Canvas
- 100 hours of clinical internship at partner facilities
- Tuition ranges from $600 to $950
- Spring and summer start dates
- Accelerated hybrid option available
- Background check, drug screen and vaccinations required
- Must be 18 or older for clinical rotations
- Missouri DHSS approved program
Crowder College
#5Neosho, MO · $6,000 – $8,000/yr (est.)
Crowder College posts the strongest overall outcome in this group, with a school-wide graduation rate near 49 percent, and its CNA credential is an 8 credit hour certificate that meets Missouri certification requirements. In-state tuition is $4,152 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $9,023 for all students, so treat both as school-wide numbers rather than the aide course price. Clinical placement requires a background check and a TB test. For Columbia students the honest read is distance: Neosho sits in the far southwest corner of the state, so this is a relocation option rather than a commute.
- 8 credit hour certificate program
- Campus-based instruction
- Leads to Missouri state certification
- Background check and TB test required for clinicals
- Multiple campus locations
- Financial aid available for eligible students
State Fair Community College
#6Sedalia, MO · $8,000/yr (est. net price)
State Fair Community College is the closest campus in this group to Columbia, roughly an hour west, and it offers two paths: an 8 week nurse aide course through its LearningForce workforce division and a credit certificate stack that runs from a 16.5 credit skills certificate up to a 61.5 credit associate track. Coursework is available on campus in Sedalia and online, which cuts the number of trips from Columbia. In-state tuition is $4,704 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $7,985, both institution-wide figures; the overall graduation rate is roughly 44 percent.
- 8 week short-term workforce training
- Delivered through The LearningForce division
- Prepares students for employment in healthcare settings
- Skills Certificate totals 16.5 credits
- Professional Certificate totals 31.5 credits
- Associate degree track totals 61.5 credits
- Available on campus in Sedalia and online
- Prepares students for the CNA exam
- Also prepares students for the CMT exam
- Meets certification requirements in Missouri, Illinois and Kansas
Saint Louis Community College
#7Bridgeton, MO · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.)
Saint Louis Community College offers a 9 week hybrid Patient Care Technician program that blends classroom work, online coursework and 12 hour clinical shifts at partner hospitals, including a BJC HealthCare partnership, and graduates can challenge the CNA exam. In-state tuition is $4,440 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $8,440, an overall figure rather than a program quote; the overall graduation rate is roughly 21 percent. Funding through employer partnerships is available for selected candidates, so Columbia students should ask about sponsorship before committing to the drive to Bridgeton.
- 9 week hybrid training program
- Classroom, online coursework and hospital clinicals
- Clinical shifts run 12 hours, weekends possible
- Graduates can challenge the CNA exam
- Meets Missouri requirements for unlicensed assistive personnel
- Funding available through employer partnerships
- No prior healthcare experience required
- BJC HealthCare partnership provides clinical placements
Missouri State University-West Plains
#8West Plains, MO · ~$10,000/yr (est.)
Missouri State University-West Plains packages CNA training inside a 28 to 31 credit Certificate of Pre-Nursing, so the aide classroom and clinical courses count toward an eventual ASN application rather than standing alone. In-state tuition is $4,760 and the approximate institution-wide average net price is about $9,750, an overall figure rather than the cost of the CNA courses; the overall graduation rate is roughly 41 percent. It suits Columbia students who plan to keep going for an RN license and want one transcript that carries them from aide to nurse, though West Plains means relocating for a term or more.
- 28 to 31 total credit hours
- Includes an ALH 100 CNA course and ALH 105 clinical component
- Pathway to the Associate of Science in Nursing
- Requires anatomy, physiology and medical terminology coursework
- Leads to CNA certification eligibility
- Fall and spring semester structure
- Requires C grades in specified courses
Columbia CNA Programs Side by Side: Cost, Hours and Schedule
How long does it take to become a CNA in Columbia? Most local programs run about 11 to 16 weeks, or roughly three to four months, with MACC's 11-week hybrid course the fastest, the Columbia Area Career Center's $999 program the cheapest published tuition, and the Career Center's Tuesday and Thursday evenings or Job Point's weekday evening format the best fit for working adults. Facility-based options such as Lenoir Healthcare Center advertise free or employer-paid training but do not publish hours, length or start dates. Costs, schedules and start dates change often, so confirm current details on each provider's own page before you enroll.
| Program | Total Cost | Classroom / Clinical Hours | Length | Schedule | Exam Fee Included? | Next Start |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moberly Area Community College (MACC), Columbia | $1,100 | 80 hours online instruction / 100 clinical hours | 11 weeks | Hybrid (online coursework plus in-person clinicals) | Not stated | Not published |
| Columbia Area Career Center | $999 | Classroom hours not published / 100 clinical hours | About 4 months | Tuesdays and Thursdays, 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm | Not stated | Not published |
| Job Point, Columbia | $1,085 | 75 classroom hours / 100 clinical hours | 16 weeks | Two weekday evenings per week (3 hours each), plus two 8-hour days to be scheduled | Yes, certification tests and exams included | September 3 and September 9, 2026 cohorts (check with Job Point for the next opening) |
What Missouri Requires: 75 Classroom Hours and 100 Clinical Hours
CNA programs in Missouri are state-approved CNA training programs that combine 75 hours of classroom instruction with 100 hours of supervised on-the-job training under a licensed nurse. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services (DHSS) sets that minimum. The federal floor is also 75 hours, so Missouri's 100 clinical hours are what put it above the national baseline.
Can You Take CNA Classes Online in Missouri?
Partly, at some providers. A few CNA programs offer the classroom portion in a hybrid format. The Missouri Health Care Association, for example, advertises 75 online classroom hours for 2026.1 The 100 clinical hours must still be completed in person at an approved facility. DHSS's excerpts do not spell out a statewide rule on how much classroom time can be online, so confirm the format with DHSS or the school before you enroll.
How to Confirm a Program Is State-Approved
Check the school or facility by name against the lists on the DHSS CNA page: approved facility training agencies and approved school training agencies. Do not rely on an ad, a recruiter, or the name of the clinical site. Approved sponsors include community colleges, vocational-technical schools, hospitals, and licensed nursing homes, and DHSS approval runs for two years.
This step matters because an unapproved course will not qualify you to sit for the exam, and tuition paid for it is usually gone.
Completion Windows
DHSS's available guidance does not set one statewide deadline for finishing the course. Individual providers do. The 2026 MHCA program, for instance, allows 100 days for online coursework and requires clinical training and certification testing within six months of the start date.1 Ask any program you are considering for its own time limits in writing.
What CNA Training Really Costs in Columbia, and How to Pay Less
Paying tuition up front and paying nothing at all are both realistic routes to a Columbia CNA certificate. Which one you qualify for depends on your work situation, so it pays to understand the full CNA program cost before you decide.
The Real Out-of-Pocket Cost
Tuition is only part of it. Across Missouri, course fees run roughly $400 to $1,200, and once textbooks and supplies are added the total often lands between $800 and $1,500. Community college routes can reach about $2,550. On top of that, budget for:
- Scrubs and basic supplies: typically $50 to $150 each.
- Background screening: Missouri requires both FCSR and EDL checks; fees vary by provider.
- Health requirements: a TB test, immunizations, and CPR certification.
- State exam fee: $135 total ($32 for the knowledge portion, $103 for skills), plus a $10 surcharge if you request an audio or oral version. Some programs fold this into tuition, so confirm what is covered.
Ways to Pay Less (or Nothing)
Are there free CNA classes in Columbia? Yes. Several long-term care employers sponsor training. EverTrue/Lutheran Senior Services pays wages during training and covers CNA certification costs at participating communities, and Lenoir Healthcare Center is listed as employer-paid. These arrangements usually carry a work commitment, and some employers reimburse newly hired aides who certified shortly before starting. Terms vary, so ask about any repayment clause.
Grant funding is the other major path. WIOA, administered locally through Job Point and the Missouri Job Center, can cover tuition, textbooks, scrubs, background checks, immunizations, TB testing, and the exam when you train with a state-approved provider. Eligibility typically targets those who are unemployed, underemployed, or facing a barrier to employment, and requires an intake review. Job Point's own fast-track CNA program, funded through WIOA and Missouri Fast Track, leaves qualifying students with no out-of-pocket cost and includes exam prep.
Finally, ask providers about payment plans. Short noncredit CNA courses generally do not qualify for federal Pell aid.
What You Need to Enroll in a Columbia CNA Program
Entry requirements differ by provider, and not every Columbia program publishes its full checklist. Use what is documented for 2026 below, then confirm the rest with admissions before you apply.
- Minimum ageJob Point requires applicants to be at least 18. Moberly Area Community College (MACC) Columbia does not publish a CNA-specific minimum age. Columbia Area Career Center offers its CNA course through its high-school health sciences program.
- Education or skills testingMACC requires a high school diploma or HiSET (formerly GED). Applicants with an associate degree or higher may submit college transcripts instead. Official transcripts are due within the first 10 days of class. Job Point asks for an 8th-grade reading level and minimum National Career Readiness Certificate scores of 3.
- Background checkAll three providers require a background check. At Job Point, the check must come back clear, but a misdemeanor is reviewed case by case and a good-cause waiver is accepted. Ask each school whether its check includes Missouri's Family Care Safety Registry screening.
- Health screeningsJob Point requires a negative drug screen, a negative TB test or chest X-ray, COVID-19 vaccination, and the physical ability to perform CNA duties. Columbia Area Career Center advises applicants to confirm its immunization and testing requirements directly.
- ID and CPRNone of these providers lists photo ID, Social Security card, or CPR requirements for 2026. Ask about these when you request an application.
From First Class to the Missouri Nurse Aide Registry
Missouri gives you one year from the start of your training course to finish the program and pass both parts of the state exam, so treat the steps below as one continuous timeline. Exam fees are not always bundled into tuition, so ask your Columbia program directly. The state lists $32 for the knowledge test and $103 for the skills test in 2026, but another 2026 schedule shows different amounts, so confirm the fee in Missouri's testing registration system before you pay.


