To become an RN in Arizona, choose one of three routes: a two-year associate degree in nursing at a community college, a four-year bachelor's, or an accelerated BSN of roughly 12 to 17 months for people who already hold a degree in another field. All three end at the same NCLEX-RN.
That is why exam results say more than school names. Among the schools ranked here, first-time pass rates run from about 94% to nearly 99%, and community colleges hold most of the top spots.
The catch is access. Most of the high performers require an entrance exam and select applicants competitively.
Why First-Time NCLEX-RN Results Decide the Order
Every Arizona nursing school promotes strong clinicals and supportive faculty, but only one outcome is shared by every graduate no matter the campus, price, or degree: the licensing exam. ADN, BSN, and accelerated students all sit for the same NCLEX-RN. That makes first-time results the fairest common yardstick for comparing very different programs, and it is why they set the order of the schools below.
How Arizona Compares Nationally
Arizona programs tend to outperform the country. In 2025, first-time pass rates across the state's prelicensure programs averaged about 92.1%, compared with a national rate of 86.7% for U.S.-educated candidates. Individual programs ranged widely, from 79.4% to 98.8%, so NCLEX pass rates by school genuinely matter. The year before told a similar story: Arizona near 93.75% versus 91.16% nationally. Different reporting years can shift the statewide figure slightly, so treat these NCLEX-RN pass rate data as close approximations rather than exact marks.
What the School Cards Do and Don't Show
Each school entry also lists net price and graduation rate. Those figures describe the whole institution, not the nursing program. A university's overall graduation rate says little about how many nursing students finish, and net price reflects all undergraduates, not nursing-specific fees.
How to Check a Program's Own Results
The Arizona State Board of Nursing publishes program-level results in its NCLEX-RN Report 4: Jurisdiction Program Summary, released on a quarterly or annual basis. When you review it:
- Find the right line: Look for the program's first-attempt pass rate, not overall or repeat-attempt results.
- Compare several years: One strong or weak cohort can swing a small program's numbers, so a steady track record is the better sign.
- Use full-year data: 2026 results are still partial, so lean on the most recent complete year.
Top NCLEX-RN Pass Rates: Arizona's 10 Leading Nursing Programs for 2027
Every program below is ordered with NCLEX-RN first-time pass rates as the lead signal, tightened by accreditation status and completion outcomes where results sit close together. The pass rates cited come from the Arizona State Board of Nursing's CY2025 program summary, published in 2026, a year in which the national first-time rate was 86.7%. That summary profiles nine Arizona programs, so some strong schools here have no board-reported rate yet and their cards show program details instead.
How we ranked these
- Institution-wide graduation rate first
- Program completion outcomes
- Accreditation and state approval
- NCLEX-RN first-time pass rates
- Net price and student debt
- Original research on individual programs
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- Program-level NCLEX pass rates from the state boards of nursing — ncsbn.org
- In-house program catalog data
Eastern Arizona College
#1Thatcher, AZ · $5,000 – $10,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 98.1% (3-yr weighted avg)
Best for: Rural Arizonans seeking a small-cohort ADN
Eastern Arizona College anchors this list with the best blend of outcomes and affordability in the state's rural pipeline. Its ACEN-accredited Associate of Applied Science in Nursing runs four semesters after prerequisites, admits a limited cohort through an application separate from general college admission, and the state board's latest summary credits it with a 97.2% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate across 71 candidates. The Thatcher campus keeps class sizes small, and transfer agreements with Arizona State University, Northern Arizona University, and Grand Canyon University give graduates a clear route to a BSN.
- ACEN accredited through Spring 2029
- Entrance exam: TEAS
- Four-semester program plus prerequisites
- Fall and spring start dates
- Cohort admitted through a separate nursing application
- Transfer pathways to ASU, NAU, and Grand Canyon University
- Thatcher campus location
- $87 application fee
Mesa Community College
#2Mesa, AZ · $2,000 – $9,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 98.6% (3-yr weighted avg)
Best for: Valley applicants wanting the strongest NCLEX record
Mesa Community College posted the strongest board-reported first-time NCLEX-RN result in the state at 98.8% across 167 candidates, and its cohort-based AAS in Nursing is one of the Maricopa Nursing sites. Admission is competitive and depends on completed prerequisites, an entrance exam, a Level One fingerprint clearance card, a health declaration, and a timed drug screen. Articulation agreements let graduates step into BSN completion without repeating coursework.
- ACEN accredited
- Cohort-based admission with prerequisites
- Entrance exam required
- Clinicals in acute care, long-term care, and community settings
- Level One fingerprint clearance card required
- Health declaration and timed drug screen required
- Articulation agreements with BSN programs
- Full-time enrollment of 12 to 18 credits per semester
Estrella Mountain Community College
#3Avondale, AZ · $2,000 – $9,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 97.2% (3-yr weighted avg)
Best for: Students pursuing ADN and BSN at once
Estrella Mountain Community College is another Maricopa Nursing site, offering a four-semester AAS in Nursing in Avondale with classroom instruction and clinical training across acute care and community settings. Its standout option is the Concurrent Enrollment Program, which lets students work toward the AAS and a BSN at the same time rather than sequencing them. The ACEN-accredited program requires CPR certification, a background check, and a fingerprint clearance card before clinical placement.
- ACEN accredited
- Four-semester AAS in Nursing
- Part of the Maricopa Nursing consortium
- Concurrent Enrollment Program for AAS and BSN together
- Eligibility for RN licensure on completion
- CPR certification required
- Background check and fingerprint clearance card required
GateWay Community College
#4Phoenix, AZ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 97.4% (3-yr weighted avg)
GateWay Community College runs two distinct nursing paths in central Phoenix: a cohort-based AAS in Nursing that leads to RN licensure, and a hybrid RN-to-BSN completion program for nurses who already hold a license. The AAS is ACEN accredited, admits by cohort with limited seats, and requires an entrance exam, prerequisites, and a Level One fingerprint clearance card. The state board's latest summary credits the ADN cohort with a 97.0% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate across 200 candidates.
- Hybrid format for licensed RNs
- 120 total credits
- Current RN license required for admission
- Focus on leadership and evidence-based practice
- Health assessment, research, and informatics coursework
- Advanced nursing capstone
- Prepares students for graduate study
- ACEN accredited
- Cohort-based with limited seats
- Entrance exam and prerequisites required
- Approved by the Arizona State Board of Nursing
- Level One fingerprint clearance card required
- University transfer pathway to a BSN
- Minimum grade of C required in all courses
- Aligned with Nurse of the Future Competencies
Northland Pioneer College
#5Holbrook, AZ · $9,000/yr (est. net price) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 97.3% (3-yr weighted avg)
Northland Pioneer College serves northeastern Arizona from Holbrook with a two-year Registered Nursing AAS that pairs small classes and personal tutoring with labs and clinicals every semester. The college keeps costs well below the state average and has built LPN-to-RN and paramedic-to-RN bridge options for working clinicians who want to move up. Graduates transfer into BSN programs at Northern Arizona University, Arizona State University, and Grand Canyon University.
- ACEN and Arizona State Board of Nursing accredited
- HESI entrance exam required
- Two-year program with labs and clinicals each semester
- 3.0 GPA minimum for admission
- LPN-to-RN and paramedic-to-RN bridge options
- Transfer to BSN programs at NAU, ASU, or GCU
- Financial aid and scholarships available
Scottsdale Community College
#6Scottsdale, AZ · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 96.6% (3-yr weighted avg)
Scottsdale Community College offers an ACEN-accredited AAS in Nursing built around the Nurse of the Future Competencies, with clinical placements in acute care, long-term care, and community settings. The program runs six full-time semesters and requires an entrance exam, prerequisites, a Level One fingerprint clearance card, and drug screening. A university transfer pathway lets graduates continue straight into a BSN.
- ACEN accredited
- Six full-time semesters
- Cohort-based admission with entrance exam
- Approved by the Arizona State Board of Nursing
- Level One fingerprint clearance and drug screening
- Aligned with Nurse of the Future Competencies
- Pathway to a BSN through university transfer
Paradise Valley Community College
#7Phoenix, AZ · $12,000/yr (est. net price) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 96.6% (3-yr weighted avg)
Paradise Valley Community College delivers the Maricopa Nursing AAS curriculum at its north Phoenix campus, one of eight colleges in the consortium sharing the same board-approved program. The cohort model requires an entrance exam, a 2.0 GPA minimum, prerequisites, a fingerprint clearance card, and a timed drug screen, and graduates are eligible to sit for the RN licensure exam. A transfer pathway to BSN completion is available for students who want to keep going.
- Cohort-based structure
- Entrance exam required
- 2.0 GPA minimum
- Offered at eight Maricopa colleges
- Approved by the Arizona State Board of Nursing
- Graduates eligible for the RN licensure exam
- Level One fingerprint clearance card required
- Transfer pathway to a BSN
Cochise County Community College District
#8Sierra Vista, AZ · ~$8,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 96% (3-yr weighted avg)
Cochise College in Sierra Vista runs the associate degree nursing program for southeastern Arizona, with lectures at the Downtown Center and labs on the Douglas, Sierra Vista, and Benson campuses. Entry is competitive and requires a TEAS score of at least 66.1, completed prerequisites, and a fingerprint clearance card. Clinical rotations take place in hospitals and health agencies across Cochise and Pima counties.
- TEAS score of 66.1 or higher required
- Fingerprint clearance card required
- Competitive entry; prerequisites must be complete
- Lectures at the Downtown Center in Sierra Vista
- Labs on the Douglas, Sierra Vista, and Benson campuses
- Clinical rotations across Cochise and Pima counties
- Financial aid and scholarships available
Pima Community College
#9Tucson, AZ · under $5,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 94.7% (3-yr weighted avg)
Pima Community College's ADN program at West Campus takes five to six semesters full time and can be finished in three years or less. Students can stack credentials along the way, earning CNA certification after the first semester and LPN after three, and they can work toward a BSN concurrently at partner universities. The state board's latest summary reports a 95.1% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate across 144 candidates.
- Five to six semesters full time
- Finish in three years or less
- CNA credential after the first semester
- LPN credential after three semesters
- Concurrent BSN at partner universities
- Classes at West Campus in person, online, or hybrid
- Military benefits accepted
- Honors certification available
Grand Canyon University
#10Phoenix, AZ · ~$22,000/yr (est.) · NCLEX-RN pass rate 94.4% (3-yr weighted avg)
Grand Canyon University's pre-licensure BSN in Phoenix is CCNE accredited, spans 123 credit hours, and accepts up to 90 transfer credits, which makes it a common landing spot for students changing majors or moving over from a community college. The curriculum includes an evidence-based capstone, immersive simulation suites, and a Transition to Practice nurse residency. The state board's latest summary reports a 97.0% first-time NCLEX-RN pass rate across 305 candidates.
- CCNE accredited
- 123 total credit hours
- 2.5 GPA minimum
- Up to 90 transfer credits accepted
- Capstone evidence-based project
- Immersive simulation suites
- Transition to Practice nurse residency
- Clinical hours in diverse settings
ADN Programs in Arizona: Maricopa, Pima, and Rural Community College Routes to RN
Arizona's community college ADN pathways are not one statewide system, and there is no single official statewide count of ADN programs. They are district-run programs with their own calendars, exams, and selection processes, so first identify the district where you can apply.
Maricopa Community Colleges
Maricopa's nursing program uses a shared curriculum across multiple campuses. For the 2026-2027 admission cycle, completed applications are accepted on a rolling basis, so there is no single annual deadline.1 Every applicant must submit one complete application; provisional or incomplete submissions are not accepted. Required components include the HESI A2 exam taken within 24 months, a current Level One Non-IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card, prerequisite grades of C or better, and official transcripts sent to your first-choice college.1
How hard is it to get in? The current packet does not publish a point formula, lottery, or waitlist, which means applicants should treat prerequisite strength and HESI A2 readiness as the practical admission bar.1
Pima Community College
Pima uses a point system that weighs prerequisite GPA and the NLN Nursing Entrance Exam. Regular admission windows are December 1 through February 1 for fall and July 1 through September 1 for spring. A separate Pima concurrent ADN/BSN page lists an April 1 through June 1 window, so verify which deadline applies to your intended pathway. Pima's nursing pages state no waitlist is necessary, though that statement may not cover every applicant route.
Rural routes and concurrent ADN-to-BSN
Rural community college options include Northland Pioneer, Yavapai, Cochise, Central Arizona, and Arizona Western, a set of routes explored in the Guide to Rural Nursing. For students who plan to continue to a BSN through one of the online RN to BSN programs in Arizona, Arizona State University's Concurrent Enrollment Program allows eligible nursing students to earn an ADN at a community college while completing BSN coursework online. Pima's ADN/BSN concurrent option requires prerequisites for both the Pima AAS in Nursing and the selected university before applying. Partnerships with ASU, NAU, and GCU are referenced, but public materials do not yet spell out full 2026 eligibility rules, credit limits, or time savings.
Quick takeaways
- Maricopa: Rolling complete-application acceptance for 2026-2027; incomplete applications are rejected.1
- Pima: Points from prerequisite GPA plus the NLN exam; fall deadline February 1.
- Rural ADN options: Northland Pioneer, Yavapai, Cochise, Central Arizona, and Arizona Western.
- Concurrent enrollment: ASU, NAU, and GCU partnerships exist, but exact 2026 rules vary and remain underpublished.
- Accreditation: Confirm ACEN accreditation directly with each college because admission packets do not always state current status.
Before You Apply: Prerequisites, Entrance Exams, and Point Systems
Arizona has no single statewide points system. Each college sets its own entry rules, and those rules change every application cycle. Use this checklist to prepare, then confirm current requirements directly with each program before you apply.
- Prerequisite science and general-education coursesMaricopa's 2026–2027 ADN packet lists college math (MAT140, MAT141, or MAT142), BIO156 or BIO181, BIO201, CHM130 with lab, and ENG101 or ENG107. NAU accepts prerequisites taken at NAU or another accredited institution.
- Minimum prerequisite GPAMaricopa requires a 2.0 GPA in its prerequisites, with each course passed at C or better, to enter the cohort queue. ASU's first-year BSN admission accepts top 10% class rank, a 3.80 GPA in competency courses, or a 3.50 GPA plus a 25 ACT or 1230 SAT. ASU also requires a separate advancement application.
- Nursing entrance examMaricopa uses the HESI A2 English composite and math sections, and scores must be dated within 24 months. Pima uses the NLN Nursing Entrance Exam through Proctor360. Neither program's current materials publish a score cutoff, so ask before you test.
- Fingerprint clearance cardMaricopa requires an Arizona Level One Non-IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card to apply. Allow up to eight weeks to receive it.
- Background check and drug screenMaricopa completes both during registration.
- CNA credentialPima's Practical Nursing program requires an active CNA/LNA license or nursing-assistant training completed within the past 365 days. This requirement does not appear in Pima's ADN requirements.
- CPR/BLS and immunizationsPrograms commonly require these before clinical placements. Confirm the specific list with each school.
Arizona by City
Explore other Arizona related topics
Accelerated BSN Programs in Arizona: Phoenix, Tucson, and Flagstaff Options
Yes, Arizona has accelerated BSN programs. Most run 12 to 17 months and suit career changers who already hold a bachelor's degree in another field. Expect a full-time schedule of coursework, skills labs, and clinical rotations that leaves little room for outside employment. Most programs also ask for a minimum 3.0 GPA, completed prerequisites, the TEAS exam, transcripts, recommendation letters, and an admissions interview. Northern Arizona University's accelerated track meets in Phoenix rather than Flagstaff, and Chamberlain's Phoenix program is a year-round BSN open to high school graduates and transfer students, not a post-bachelor's option. For a closer look at admissions and workload, see the dedicated ABSN guide on registerednursing.org. Nurses who are already licensed should go to the site's RN-to-BSN hub instead.
| School | Location | Program Length | Start Terms | Format | Eligibility |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arizona State University | Downtown Phoenix (Spring), West Valley (Fall), plus select Arizona communities through Learn Where You Live | 12 months | 2 per year: Spring (January) and Fall (August) | Campus-based at listed sites | Bachelor's degree in another discipline; some first-bachelor's students who meet eligibility requirements may be considered |
| Grand Canyon University | Phoenix | As few as 16 months | 3 per year | Campus-based; location-specific requirements may vary | Non-nursing bachelor's degree or at least 60 non-nursing college credits; Phoenix requires at least 60 credits and a 3.0 cumulative GPA; prerequisites may apply |
| Northern Arizona University | Phoenix | 12 months | N/A | In person, full time | Bachelor's degree from a regionally or CHEA-accredited college plus completed prerequisites |
| Chamberlain University (BSN, not a post-bachelor's ABSN) | Phoenix | 3 years (122 credit hours) | N/A | N/A | No prerequisites required; accepts high school graduates and transfer students, with transfer-credit evaluation |
ADN vs. BSN vs. ABSN in Arizona: Net Price, Debt, and Time to Licensure
Is it better to get an ADN or BSN in Arizona? On pure return on investment, the ADN usually wins: it costs the least, gets you to the NCLEX-RN fastest, and leaves room to finish an RN to BSN while you earn an RN paycheck. The traditional BSN suits students who want the full university experience and an early start toward leadership or graduate study. The ABSN is the strongest value for career changers who already hold a bachelor's degree.
| Factor | ADN (Community College) | Traditional BSN | Accelerated BSN (ABSN) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Typical time to NCLEX-RN eligibility | About 24 months of nursing coursework after prerequisites (Pima Community College); about 20 months at Pima Medical Institute. Prerequisites can push the total past 2 years. | About 48 months including general education. The University of Arizona nursing sequence itself runs about 24 months. | Commonly 12 to 24 months; a prior bachelor's degree is required. |
| Average annual net price (institution-wide, federal data, 2024) | About $3,405 (Pima Community College) to $12,132 (Mesa Community College) across the community colleges ranked here | Not compiled for this comparison; use each university's net price calculator | Not compiled for this comparison; ABSN pricing is set program by program |
| Median debt at graduation (institution-wide, not nursing-specific) | About $4,826 (Arizona Western College) to $10,010 (Central Arizona College) | Not reported here | Not reported here |
| Program-level earnings and completions | Program-level nursing earnings and completion counts are not yet available for these programs | Not yet available | Not yet available |
| Published program cost example | Pima Community College 2026 cost sheet: $14,278.10 (general tuition $6,592, nursing differential tuition $3,570, course fees $725, access codes and materials $2,609.10). Another 2025-2026 estimate puts the full in-state cost near $16,000. | Varies widely by university | Varies widely by program |
| Mandatory extras net price misses | DPS Level One fingerprint clearance card ($67 at Pima), background check ($55 to $65 at Pima), NCLEX-RN plus Arizona State Board of Nursing fees (about $550), drug screen, uniforms, shoes, stethoscope and nurse kit, CPR, health records, entrance exam (HESI A2 at Maricopa colleges) | Similar screening, uniform, equipment, and licensure costs (at least $550 for NCLEX-RN and licensure) | Similar screening, uniform, equipment, and licensure costs (at least $550 for NCLEX-RN and licensure) |
| Who comes out ahead on ROI | Budget-focused students who want to start working as an RN quickly, then complete an RN to BSN later | Students starting college who want a bachelor's from day one and plan for leadership or graduate school | Career changers with a prior bachelor's who want the fastest route to a BSN-level RN license |
What Registered Nurses Earn Statewide in Arizona
Licensure in Arizona opens the door to a solid statewide wage.
Arizona State Board of Nursing: Who Licenses RNs
From Nursing Student to Licensed RN in Arizona: The Five-Step Path
Expect to pay up to about $550 in nonrefundable fees for licensure by exam in 2026, and start the paperwork before graduation so review and fingerprinting can finish before you test. Nurses already licensed in a non-compact state who are moving to Arizona apply through endorsement instead of this exam path.

More Arizona Nursing Programs to Consider
The schools below round out the picture beyond the ranked programs covered earlier in this guide. They are grouped by region so you can start close to home, then compare city, degree level, delivery format, and average net price. Each entry links to the page where the school publishes its own admission details.
Phoenix Metro
- Nursing
- Associate in Applied Science (AAS) in Nursing
- Associate Degree in Nursing
- Nursing (AAS)
- Nursing Associate Degree Program
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN to BSN)
- Nursing, BSN
- Associate Degree in Nursing
- BSN Program
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN)
Tucson Area
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing (Integrative Health)
- Associate Degree in Nursing
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN to BSN)
- Baccalaureate Degree Program in Nursing
Northern Arizona
- Nursing
- Bachelor of Science in Nursing
- Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing
Western Arizona
- Associate Degree in Nursing

