Three Nevada nursing schools offer nurse practitioner programs, and each expects incoming students to navigate a different mix of online coursework, clinical placement support, and tuition. The state's full practice authority at licensure makes Nevada an attractive place to practice, especially for FNPs in Las Vegas and Reno. Prospective NPs weigh ranked online MSN programs in Nevada, tuition, clinical delivery, licensure, and pay, but the biggest variable remains where a school can place you for clinical rotations. With so few schools, choosing wrong carries real cost: a weak clinical placement pipeline can delay graduation by a semester or more. Confirm placement logistics early, particularly if you live outside Clark County.
Nevada's Best Online Nurse Practitioner Programs for 2027
Nevada's online and hybrid nurse practitioner options center on three institutions, and the differences between them matter more than any single number. Each entry below lists the specialties a school actually enrolls students in, so you can match a track to your license, your location, and the patient population you want to serve.
How we ranked these
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Program-level completion and outcomes
- Clinical placement and specialty range
- Accreditation status of nursing programs
- Original research on individual programs
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
University of Nevada-Reno
#1Reno, NV · $7,000/yr
Best for: Nurses seeking pediatric acute care training
The University of Nevada-Reno runs the state's broadest nurse practitioner portfolio, covering family, adult gerontology primary care, adult gerontology acute care, and pediatric acute care, plus a post-master's pediatric acute care certificate. Pathways start at the master's level and extend through BSN-to-DNP doctorates, so nurses can enter at the level their credentials allow, and the Orvis School of Nursing sits inside a Carnegie R1 research university. Institution-wide, roughly 61 percent of students graduate and graduates who are working a decade after starting earn a median of about $60,600, though those numbers describe the whole university rather than the nursing programs alone. Earnings reported specifically for the NP tracks are not yet available.
- Post-master's certificate in Pediatric Acute Care
- 500 to 780 clinical hours, with placements arranged by the school
- Focus on high-acuity care from infancy to young adulthood
- Includes advanced pediatric assessment and pharmacology
- Family-centered and interdisciplinary care emphasis
- Prepares graduates for pediatric acute care certification
- Adult gerontology acute care specialization
- Seven concentration options within the DNP
- Fall and spring start terms
- Clinical placement support provided
- Carnegie R1 research institution
- Adult gerontology primary care specialization
- BSN-to-DNP pathway for advanced practice
- CCNE accredited program
- Community Engaged university classification
- Emphasis on evidence-based practice and leadership
- Family Nurse Practitioner specialization
- Four DNP concentration options
- Scholarships available for Ph.D. and DNP students
- Terminal professional practice degree
- Prepares graduates for leadership in clinical practice
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
#2Las Vegas, NV · $7,000/yr
Best for: Working RNs balancing hospital shifts with school
UNLV's School of Nursing anchors nurse practitioner education in Las Vegas with a family nurse practitioner MSN, a psychiatric mental health MSN, a post-master's psychiatric certificate built for practicing FNPs, and a DNP family track. The school is direct about clinical logistics: placements are guaranteed for Nevada-licensed students in the Las Vegas area, and out-of-state students are only supported in a short list of partner states, so the program is genuinely built around southern Nevada. Institution-wide, about half of students graduate and median earnings ten years after entry sit near $55,000, figures that cover the entire university rather than nursing alone. Program-level earnings for the NP tracks have not been published.
- Family Nurse Practitioner track within the MSN
- CCNE accredited MSN program
- Full-time and part-time enrollment options
- Guaranteed clinical placements for Nevada-licensed students in the Las Vegas area
- Seven required campus visits plus a two-day orientation
- Curriculum meets AACN Essentials for master's education
- Skills labs and OSCE pass-offs included
- 21-credit post-master's certificate
- Three-semester program length
- Built for practicing Family Nurse Practitioners
- Psychiatric mental health concentration
- Mandatory orientation sessions
- Clinical sites arranged in Nevada
- Requires a valid RN license
- Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner track
- Advanced practice nursing focus
- Medication prescribing and diagnostic test interpretation
- Holistic care planning and patient counseling skills
- Cultural sensitivity and ethical decision-making training
- Leadership role preparation
- Part-time or full-time enrollment
- Doctor of Nursing Practice with an FNP concentration
- Four concentration options within the DNP
- Scholarships available
- Terminal professional practice degree
- Career paths include nursing faculty and healthcare executive roles
Touro University Nevada
#3Henderson, NV · ~$53,000/yr (est.)
Best for: Nurses wanting year-round cohort start options
Touro University Nevada in Henderson offers a compact MSN family nurse practitioner track that finishes in about 20 months, admits three cohorts a year, and uses three on-campus clinical intensives alongside distance coursework. It also runs a post-master's FNP certificate for nurses who already hold a graduate degree in nursing. The university's health-sciences focus means nursing students share a campus culture built around clinical practice, and the FNP track reports a 95 percent graduation rate with preparation for both the AANP and ANCC national exams. Federal net price and institution-wide graduation figures are not reported in the same way as for the public universities, so compare Touro on total cost of attendance requested directly from the school.
- 20-month MSN-FNP for registered nurses
- Three on-campus clinical intensives
- Three start dates per year, in fall, spring, and summer
- Reported 95 percent graduation rate
- Preparation for AANP and ANCC national certification exams
- 3.0 cumulative GPA required
- $75 application fee, no entrance exam
- Clinical practicum placement assistance
- Post-master's certificate for nurses who already hold an MSN
- CCNE accredited
- Active RN license and 3.0 GPA required
- Resume, personal statement, and one recommendation
- Hands-on simulation labs
- Fall, spring, and summer cohort deadlines
- Evidence-based practice focus
What It Actually Costs: Tuition at UNLV, Touro, and Roseman
Tuition is one of the biggest factors when choosing an NP program, and costs vary significantly across Nevada's three main options. The table below breaks down per-credit rates, estimated total program costs, and notable fees for each school's MSN-FNP track. If you are searching for the cheapest NP schools in Nevada, Roseman University currently offers the lowest published total program cost at $36,460 for 48 credits, though additional fees for technology and instructional materials bring the true out-of-pocket figure higher. UNLV remains the most affordable option on a per-credit basis for Nevada residents, but nonresident students should budget considerably more. Keep in mind that after financial aid, the actual amount you pay may be lower than the sticker price listed here.
| School | Credits Required | Per-Credit Rate (Resident or Standard) | Estimated Total Tuition | Additional Fees to Know | Approximate After-Aid Cost (Undergraduate Institutional Average) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| UNLV (MSN-FNP) | Approximately 53 | $718.25 (base $383.25 plus $335.00 nursing differential) | Approximately $38,067 for residents; significantly higher for nonresidents | Mandatory university fees per credit apply; nonresident surcharge adds roughly $422 per credit | About $10,359 (institution-wide undergraduate average, not NP-specific) |
| Touro University Nevada (MSN-FNP) | 53 | $750 | Approximately $43,000 (includes tuition and fees) | $75 application fee; per-semester fees of roughly $110; rate may increase to $825 per credit in future terms | Not separately published for the NP program |
| Roseman University (MSN-FNP) | 48 | Approximately $760 (derived from total tuition divided by 48 credits) | $36,460 (tuition only, per 2026 to 2027 schedule) | $500 technology fee; $1,500 instructional material fee; health insurance required (waived with proof of coverage) | Not separately published for the NP program |
Explore other Nevada related topics
How Each Program Delivers: Online, Hybrid, and Clinical Logistics
Choosing between Nevada's NP programs often comes down to how coursework is delivered and, more importantly, how clinical placements work. Clinical placement support is one of the most common questions prospective students ask, and the answer varies significantly across the three main Nevada programs. Here is a side-by-side look at delivery format, clinical hour requirements, and how each school handles the preceptor search.
| Feature | UNLV | Touro University Nevada | Roseman University |
|---|---|---|---|
| Delivery Format | Hybrid: didactic coursework is delivered online with required on-campus sessions, including a two-day orientation and approximately seven campus visits for skills labs and OSCE evaluations | Hybrid: online didactics combined with three on-campus clinical intensives at the Henderson campus during the 20-month program | Hybrid: online coursework with on-campus components; students should plan for periodic immersion or lab sessions |
| Total Required Clinical Hours | 675 hours, allocated across adult, pediatric, geriatric, and women's health rotations | 585 directly supervised clinical hours (note: some older third-party sources list 630, but 585 reflects the current official requirement) | 750 direct patient-care hours, plus additional indirect clinical hours |
| Clinical Placement Model | Primarily student-driven. Students identify and select their own preceptor sites. A clinical coordinator is available to assist if needed, but ultimate responsibility rests with the student. | Mixed model. Students are encouraged to find their own preceptors and sites, but the university offers placement assistance including help with documentation and approvals. All sites and preceptors must be approved by the school. | Students arrange their own clinical placements, and all sites require college approval before hours can begin. |
| Geographic Restrictions or Guarantees | Clinical placements are guaranteed only for Nevada-licensed students within roughly 75 miles of the Las Vegas campus. Out-of-state students must either secure their own approved preceptor or relocate to the Las Vegas metro area and obtain a Nevada RN license. | No explicit geographic restrictions are published. Students may be able to complete hours in other states if proper site contracts are established, though placement is not guaranteed in any specific area. | Clinical sites are generally limited to Nevada and Utah. Students outside those states should confirm site availability before enrolling. |
| Preceptor Requirements | Preceptors evaluate students at midterm and final. Specific eligibility criteria (years of experience, licensure type) are outlined in the clinical handbook but are not fully detailed in public-facing materials. | Preceptors must hold an APRN, MD, or DO credential with at least one year of clinical experience in the relevant specialty. They submit agreement forms along with licensure verification, a CV, and certification evidence. | Preceptors must be approved by the college. Detailed eligibility criteria are available through the program's clinical placement guidelines. |
| On-Campus Requirements for Out-of-State Students | Plan for a two-day orientation plus seven campus visits to Las Vegas for skills labs and clinical evaluations. Out-of-state students face additional pressure to secure clinical placements independently. | Three on-campus clinical intensives at the Henderson, Nevada campus are required. Touro offers three start dates per year, giving students some scheduling flexibility. | Periodic on-campus sessions may be required. Out-of-state students should budget for travel to Nevada and confirm whether clinical sites in their home state can be approved. |
NP Specializations You Can Pursue Through Nevada Schools
Choosing a specialization means weighing patient population against long-term career flexibility: a broad primary care track opens more job listings, while a focused acute care nurse practitioner track or psychiatric track can command higher pay and sharper clinical identity. Nevada's programs are relatively narrow in what they offer, so the tradeoff often comes down to whether you commit to the FNP path most schools support or pursue a niche track that may require looking out of state.
Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
The FNP is the workhorse credential in Nevada. Both the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) and Touro University Nevada offer MSN-FNP tracks, preparing graduates to provide primary care across the lifespan, from newborns through older adults. FNPs manage acute and chronic conditions, order diagnostics, prescribe medications, and coordinate preventive care in clinics, community health centers, and family practices. If you want maximum job mobility in Nevada, online family nurse practitioner programs are the safest bet.
Pediatric Acute Care
The University of Nevada, Reno offers a post-master's graduate certificate in Pediatric Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (PACNP), delivered online with 500 to 780 clinical hours. PACNPs care for children with complex, high-acuity conditions in pediatric ICUs, emergency departments, and specialty clinics. This is a post-master's option, meaning you need an existing MSN to enroll.
What's Not Widely Offered In-State
Nevada schools currently do not run dedicated in-state online tracks for Psychiatric-Mental Health NP (PMHNP), Adult-Gerontology NP (AGNP), or Women's Health NP. Nevada RNs pursuing these specialties typically enroll in out-of-state online programs that accept Nevada clinical placements. If PMHNP or AGNP is your target, plan to look beyond state borders.
BSN-to-DNP Options
Neither UNLV nor Touro currently markets a direct BSN-to-DNP nurse practitioner pathway as a headline program. Most Nevada-based NPs still enter through the MSN route and complete one of the DNP programs in Nevada later if they choose. If you want to skip the MSN and go straight to the doctorate, expect to look at out-of-state online BSN-to-DNP programs.
Certification Pass Rates and Graduate Outcomes by Program
Board certification pass rates are one of the most telling indicators of program quality. Nevada requires national certification (AANP or ANCC) for APRN licensure, so a program's pass rate directly reflects how well its graduates are prepared to practice. The national first-time FNP pass rate hovers around 81-82% across both exams, giving you a clear benchmark for comparison.

What NP Admissions Committees in Nevada Expect
Nevada's three NP-granting schools share a common baseline for admission, but each adds its own wrinkles. Knowing exactly what is required, and where programs differ, lets you build a stronger application the first time around.
- BSN from an accredited programEvery NP program in Nevada requires a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from a regionally or nationally accredited institution. This is non-negotiable at UNLV, Touro University Nevada, and Roseman University alike.
- Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0A 3.0 GPA is the standard threshold across all three schools. Touro does offer conditional admission for MSN applicants with a GPA between 2.7 and 2.99, but those students must earn a 3.0 during their first trimester to continue. Roseman requires a 3.0 specifically in nursing coursework.
- Active, unencumbered RN licenseYou must hold a current RN license in the state where you will complete clinical rotations. Touro explicitly requires licensure in Arizona or Nevada and also requires state residency in one of those two states.
- RN clinical experienceExperience expectations vary more than any other requirement. UNLV calls for at least one year of RN experience. Roseman lists one year of experience as preferred but not required. Touro does not specify a minimum number of experience years at all, making it the most flexible option for newer nurses.
- Prerequisite courseworkRoseman requires an undergraduate statistics course completed within the past ten years with a grade of B or better. UNLV's post-master's FNP certificate requires prior graduate coursework in Advanced Physical Assessment, Advanced Pathophysiology, and Advanced Pharmacology along with at least 2,000 documented practice hours. Touro lists no specific course prerequisites beyond the BSN for its MSN track.
- Letters of recommendation and personal statementAll three programs expect a personal statement or goal essay and multiple letters of recommendation, UNLV's certificate track, for example, requires three. Roseman may also invite selected applicants for a personal interview as part of its review process.
- Standardized test scores (GRE/MAT)None of the three Nevada NP programs currently list a GRE or MAT requirement, which is consistent with a broader national trend of waiving standardized entrance exams for graduate nursing applicants.
- Additional application componentsTouro requires proof of a Nevada license application receipt, a background check, and up-to-date immunizations before beginning clinicals. Roseman requires non-native English speakers to submit a TOEFL score of at least 600 on the paper-based exam, and applications are submitted through NursingCAS. Transcripts, a current resume or CV, and licensure verification are standard across all programs.
Nurse Practitioner Pay in Las Vegas and Across Nevada
Nevada nurse practitioners earn a median annual wage that outpaces the national figure by more than $8,000, making the state one of the more competitive markets for NP compensation in the West. The table below breaks down NP wages by percentile using Bureau of Labor Statistics data. Note that metro-level figures specific to the Las Vegas, Henderson, and Paradise area are not separately published in available BLS releases for this occupation, so statewide data serves as the best available benchmark.
| Wage Measure | Nevada (Statewide) | National |
|---|---|---|
| Total Employment | 1,930 | N/A |
| Median Hourly Wage | $67.63 | N/A |
| 10th Percentile Annual Wage | $85,380 | N/A |
| 25th Percentile Annual Wage | $110,160 | N/A |
| Median (50th Percentile) Annual Wage | $140,670 | $132,300 |
| 75th Percentile Annual Wage | $172,170 | N/A |
| 90th Percentile Annual Wage | $172,170 | N/A |
| Mean Annual Wage | $137,410 | $137,300 |
Is an NP Degree Worth It? ROI at Nevada Schools
Graduate earnings from Nevada's nurse practitioner programs consistently outpace the debt required to complete them, though the payoff timeline depends heavily on which school you attend and whether you qualify for in-state tuition.
Breaking Down the Numbers
Touro University Nevada posts the strongest return-on-investment ratio among the state's NP programs. With median graduate debt around $12,500 and institutional earnings data showing graduates reaching six-figure salaries, the math works decisively in favor of completing the degree. The 20-month hybrid program carries a fixed tuition of roughly $53,000, but students who minimize borrowing through employer tuition assistance or savings can recoup their investment within the first year of NP practice.
UNLV and UNR offer more variable cost structures. UNLV's in-state tuition runs approximately $7,400 annually for the online MSN program, while out-of-state students pay closer to $25,500. UNR follows a similar pattern with its Nevada post-graduate certificate in nursing programs. Graduates from both institutions carry median debt near $19,000 to $19,500, translating to monthly payments around $200 for a standard 10-year repayment plan.
What This Means for Your Timeline
Compare those monthly payments to the salary data from Las Vegas and Reno. With median NP earnings exceeding $120,000 annually in Nevada's metro areas, even graduates carrying the higher debt loads can expect to recover their educational investment within 18 to 24 months of full-time practice.
Variables That Shift the Calculation
ROI calculations change based on your chosen specialty, work setting, and residency status. An acute care NP in a hospital system typically earns more than a family NP in outpatient primary care. Students who secure in-state tuition rates at public universities see substantially better returns than those paying out-of-state premiums.

