Updated September 29, 202621 min read

Top Online Schools for an MSN in Health or Nursing Informatics

Compare fully online informatics MSN schools by cost, earnings, practicum rules and fit

Practicum hours alone separate these programs: the University of South Carolina requires 225, the University of Mary 360, and the University of Maryland, Baltimore 500. For a working RN moving from bedside care into EHR optimization, clinical data or informatics leadership, that is a scheduling problem as much as an academic one.

Every program here is fully online, with no hybrid sessions or campus residencies. Most require a BSN and an unencumbered RN license, and tuition varies sharply between public and private schools.

ANCC informatics certification depends on graduate coursework plus informatics practice hours, so practicum design matters as much as the degree title.

10 Top 100% Online MSN Informatics Programs for Nurses

Every program below delivers its coursework 100% online, and none requires a hybrid schedule or on-campus classes; where practicum or clinical hours are part of the degree, they are arranged locally or at a student's own workplace. The list is ordered by a mixed quality composite rather than a single metric, and each card notes whether the school's concentration sits in nursing informatics or the broader health informatics field.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Graduate earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rates
  • Online delivery for working nurses
  • Accreditation and certification pathways
  • Average net price after aid
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

Vanderbilt University

#1

Nashville, TN · ~$58,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working RNs wanting part-time study

Vanderbilt pairs a part-time, six-semester online MSN in nursing informatics with a practicum tailored to each nurse's goals, so students can keep working full time while they study. Coursework covers data management, workflow redesign, quality improvement, and design thinking, and graduates are eligible for ANCC informatics certification. The school's graduation rate is 93.5%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $15,846.

ACEN accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • Part-time plan across six semesters, about 24 months
  • Built so students can keep working full time
  • Practicum tailored to each student's career goals
  • Coursework in data management, workflow redesign and quality improvement
  • Prepares graduates for ANCC informatics certification
  • ACEN accredited
  • About two years of RN experience preferred

CUNY Graduate School and University Center

#2

New York, NY · $10,000 – $24,000/yr (est.)

Best for: New York area nurses watching tuition

CUNY's online nursing informatics master's is a CCNE-accredited degree with a six-credit practicum and partnerships with major medical centers and CUNY nursing schools. Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA, and an unencumbered RN license. Federal data does not include an institution-wide graduation rate or an average net price after aid for this school, but the program advertises one of the lowest per-credit rates in the Northeast.

  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • Six-credit practicum included
  • CCNE accredited
  • Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA and an unencumbered RN license
  • Transfer credits accepted
  • No application fee before the priority deadline
  • Partnerships with major medical centers and CUNY nursing schools
  • Advertises one of the lowest per-credit rates in the Northeast

University of Utah

#3

Salt Lake City, UT · $9,000 – $28,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Nurses drawn to AI and data science

Utah's CCNE-accredited nursing informatics MS can be finished in three semesters of asynchronous coursework, with clinical experiences arranged locally or online. The curriculum spans data analytics, health information systems, and ethical leadership, and the program has sharpened its focus on artificial intelligence and data science with ties to biomedical informatics. The school's graduation rate is 65.1%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $16,200.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • Three-semester completion with asynchronous coursework
  • Clinical experiences arranged locally or online
  • Coursework in data analytics, health information systems and ethical leadership
  • Growing emphasis on artificial intelligence and data science
  • Co-facilitated with biomedical informatics
  • CCNE accredited
  • Fall application opens September 1 and closes March 1

University of South Carolina

#4

Columbia, SC · ~$14,000/yr (est.)

South Carolina's CCNE-accredited MSN in nursing informatics runs 36 credits over four semesters full time or seven part time, and the 225-hour practicum can often be completed where the student already works. A separate RN to MSN pathway lets nurses without a bachelor's bridge into the same informatics concentration, and no GRE is required for either route. The school's graduation rate is 78.8%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $22,811.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • 36 credit hours
  • Four semesters full time, seven semesters part time
  • 225 clinical practicum hours, often at your own workplace
  • No GRE required
  • Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA and an unencumbered RN license
  • Rolling admissions with fall and spring entry
  • CCNE accredited
CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • Bridge courses for RNs who do not yet hold a BSN
  • 36 total credit hours over four semesters
  • 225 clinical hours
  • Two start dates per year, fall and summer
  • 3.0 GPA minimum and three letters of recommendation
  • Work experience required
  • $50 application fee, with financial aid and scholarships available

University of Maryland, Baltimore

#5

Baltimore, MD · ~$18,000/yr (est.)

Maryland's MSN in nursing informatics is a 36-credit degree with 500 practicum hours that students can arrange near home or work, plus free workshops to prepare for the ANCC exam. A nursing informatics certificate and an RN to MSN path offer shorter or longer on-ramps, and Academic Common Market eligibility can bring in-state rates to some out-of-state nurses. Federal data does not include an institution-wide graduation rate or an average net price after aid for this school; median earnings for former graduate students ten years after entry are about $88,174.

ACEN accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • 36 credit hours, completable in about two years
  • 500 practicum hours arranged at local sites
  • Free workshops to prepare for the ANCC exam
  • Also offered as a nursing informatics certificate
  • RN to MSN accelerated path available
  • Academic Common Market eligibility may bring in-state rates
  • ACEN accredited

SUNY Polytechnic Institute

#6

Utica, NY · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

SUNY Polytechnic's master's in health informatics takes 33 credits over four semesters full time or six part time, and it is open to holders of any bachelor's degree who complete a statistics prerequisite. Starting in fall 2026 students can choose tracks in clinical informatics, public health informatics, or data analytics, and the curriculum blends health information technology with social and behavioral science. The school's graduation rate is 55.1%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $14,164.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: health informatics
  • 33 credit hours, four semesters full time or six part time
  • Rolling admissions with full-time and part-time options
  • Open to holders of any bachelor's degree
  • Undergraduate statistics prerequisite required
  • Fall 2026 tracks in clinical, public health and data analytics informatics
  • Coursework in EHR optimization and AI-enabled decision support
  • In candidacy for CAHIIM accreditation

The University of Texas at Arlington

#7

Arlington, TX · ~$11,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

UT Arlington's online MSN in health informatics combines data science, technology, and healthcare management, and it is built around the schedule of working nurses. Coursework covers data analytics, EHR optimization, and clinical decision support, and it aligns with Informatics Nursing (RN-BC), CPHIMS, and CAHIMS certification. The school's graduation rate is 54%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $13,951.

ACEN accredited
  • Concentration: health informatics
  • Combines data science, technology and healthcare management
  • Coursework in data analytics, EHR optimization and clinical decision support
  • Aligns with Informatics Nursing (RN-BC), CPHIMS and CAHIMS certification
  • Practicum component included
  • Flexible online format for working professionals
  • Official transcripts and an application fee required
  • ACEN and CCNE accredited

Nova Southeastern University

#8

Fort Lauderdale, FL · ~$25,000/yr (est.)

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Nova Southeastern's 36-credit master's in health informatics can be finished in as little as a year, with full-time and part-time options and practicum work at health organizations. The curriculum draws on computer science, clinical informatics, and health information management, and graduates prepare for certifications such as Lean Six Sigma and health IT credentials. The school's graduation rate is 63.3%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $30,371.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: health informatics
  • 36 credits, completable in as little as one year
  • Full-time and part-time study options
  • Practicum experience at health organizations
  • Coursework in computer science, clinical informatics and health information management
  • Prepares students for Lean Six Sigma and health IT certifications
  • Accepts a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution
  • Dual-admission pathway from undergraduate study into the master's

University of Mary

#9

Bismarck, ND · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

The University of Mary's CCNE-accredited MSN in nursing and health care informatics is fully online and runs about two years, with 360 clinical hours and tuition of $510 per credit. Scholarships of up to $3,000 are available, and admission requires a BSN and a minimum 2.75 GPA. The school's graduation rate is 66.6%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $17,770.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • Fully online, about two years
  • 360 clinical hours
  • Tuition of $510 per credit
  • Scholarships up to $3,000 available
  • Admission requires a BSN and a minimum 2.75 GPA
  • Coursework in data analysis, information security and system design
  • CCNE accredited

University of South Alabama

#10

Mobile, AL · ~$9,000/yr (est.)

South Alabama's CCNE-accredited MSN specialty in nursing informatics is delivered entirely online, with core MSN courses plus informatics coursework and clinical rotations arranged locally. The program focuses on using information management tools to improve patient outcomes, and no certification exam is required to complete it. The school's graduation rate is 52.7%, and the approximate average net price after aid is about $17,648.

CCNE accredited
  • Concentration: nursing informatics
  • All courses delivered online
  • Clinical rotations arranged locally
  • Core MSN courses plus specialized informatics classes
  • Focus on applying information management tools to patient outcomes
  • No certification exam required to complete the program
  • CCNE accredited

Behind the List: Weighing Cost, Completion and Earnings for Online-Only Programs

Online informatics master's programs have multiplied faster than most nurses can compare them, and the useful question is which ones give you the most value for your time and money. Fully online delivery came first: a program that requires campus residencies or in-person intensives is a different commitment, so it doesn't belong in this comparison.

What to weigh

Three things matter most once delivery is settled. Affordability means net price, the amount students pay after grants, which often differs sharply from the sticker tuition. Completion tells you how many students at the school finish. Earnings and debt, where the federal College Scorecard publishes them, show what graduates take home and what they owe.

Where the numbers fall short

Read these figures with caution. Graduation rates and net price describe the whole institution, not the informatics MSN specifically. Program-level earnings are missing for some programs, so a gap in the data isn't a verdict on quality. A ranking also can't confirm accreditation or whether a school is authorized to enroll students in your state, so check both directly before you apply.

Why a cross-school view helps

A single school's promotional page will always present its own program favorably. Comparing schools side by side, using the same public figures, gives you a fairer starting point.

Quick Answers on Timeline and Value

How long does it take to get an MSN in nursing informatics online?
Most BSN-entry online MSN nursing informatics programs require roughly 30 to 53 graduate credits, or the equivalent in courses, and take about 18 to 24 months of full-time study.1 Walden lists 53 quarter credits in as few as 18 months. WGU estimates about two years2, and 64% of its BSN-to-MSN graduates finish within 24 months.3 Schools rarely publish part-time timelines, so use a nursing school planning guide to plan on longer if you study part-time. Year-round terms, such as Chamberlain's continuous 8-week sessions, help you reach the shortest advertised timelines.
Is an MSN in nursing informatics worth it?
For many nurses, yes. Informatics roles often pay more than staff RN positions. The degree also leads to evolving nursing roles in clinical systems, EHR optimization and data leadership that bedside experience alone rarely reaches. Your return depends on what you pay and how quickly you finish, so compare net price against expected earnings before enrolling. See the cost, debt and graduate earnings breakdown and the salary snapshot below to weigh your own return on investment.
Can you get an MSN in nursing informatics without a BSN?
Yes. Some schools offer RN-entry or RN-to-MSN tracks for associate degree nurses. These paths combine undergraduate and graduate coursework, so they run longer than BSN-entry programs. Walden's RN-entry option lists 79 to 89 quarter credits, and completion time varies by student. WGU's RN-to-MSN spans 31 courses4, and 63% of its graduates finish within 36 months.3 WGU accepts up to 90 transfer credits4, which can shorten your path.

What an Online Informatics MSN Really Costs: Net Price, Debt and Graduate Earnings

Public and private online informatics MSN degree programs look similar on a program page, but the out-of-pocket gap is stark once tuition and net price are placed side by side. Public in-state tuition can land near $11,000 to $18,000 a year, while private programs range from roughly $9,300 at WGU to nearly $58,000 at Vanderbilt.

Tuition and Net Price at a Glance

Among this group, the most affordable published graduate tuition is WGU at $9,320 per year, followed by CUNY City College's $11,402 in-state rate and Thomas Edison State University's $12,150 flat rate. Vanderbilt sits at the opposite end at $57,868 annually. Chamberlain lists $15,300, and the University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences lists $28,791.

After aid, reported net price highlights a different order. CUNY City College shows about $3,800, Vanderbilt about $15,800, WGU about $12,500, SUNY Polytechnic Institute about $14,200, and Chamberlain about $31,800. Several schools, including the University of Maryland, Baltimore and CUNY Graduate Center, do not publish a net price figure for this program slice.

Where Online Students Still Pay Out-of-State Rates

Online delivery does not always erase residency pricing for Out-of-State Online Nursing Programs. CUNY City College charges $11,402 in state but $20,832 out of state. The University of Maryland, Baltimore lists $17,827 in state and $36,387 out of state. SUNY Poly's in-state rate is $12,865, while out-of-state students are charged $26,535. Thomas Edison State University is a public exception, charging the same $12,150 regardless of residency.

Debt Repayment and the ROI Check

Program-level median federal debt and the 10-year monthly payment are not published for these ten programs, so direct repayment comparisons are not possible here. A useful check is the monthly payment against the RN Pay Increase from moving from staff RN into an informatics role. A $20,000 graduate loan at 6% over ten years would run about $222 per month. If the informatics move adds even a few thousand dollars annually after taxes, that payment can be absorbed without erasing the financial benefit. The strongest ROI case is at the lower end of the tuition range, especially where net price is also low.

Lowest Net Price Among Fully Online Informatics MSN Schools

Among the fully online informatics MSN schools in our data, CUNY City College posts the lowest average net price at $3,776, less than half the next-lowest figure of $8,624 at Ferris State. These figures come from 2024 federal data and are institution-wide averages after grants and scholarships, so they reflect what a typical student at each school pays overall, not a price quote for this graduate degree. Before you compare budgets, confirm current per-credit graduate tuition and fees directly with each school's nursing program.

Average net price after aid ranges from $3,776 at CUNY City College to $12,548 at Western Governors University.

Informatics Nurse Pay at a Glance

The latest HIMSS workforce survey reports pay in salary bands rather than a single median.

MSN Informatics vs. MS Health Informatics vs. Health Information Management Degrees

All three degrees deal with health data, but they train different people for different work. An MSN in nursing informatics prepares licensed nurses to shape clinical technology. An MS in health informatics teaches data and systems skills to students from many backgrounds. A health information management (HIM) degree focuses on how patient records are coded, governed, secured and kept private.

How the Three Degrees Compare

  • MSN in Nursing Informatics: Requires an active RN license and typically a BSN, often with a minimum GPA around 3.0. Some schools offer RN-to-MSN pathways for ADN-prepared nurses. Coursework blends nursing science with clinical systems, workflow and data. Programs are accredited by CCNE or ACEN, and graduates often pursue the ANCC Informatics Nursing Certification (NI-BC). Common roles include informatics nurse specialist and clinical informatics nurse.
  • MS in Health Informatics: Usually requires a bachelor's degree in any field, sometimes with prep in statistics, programming or databases. No RN license is needed. The focus is analytics and health IT systems. Some programs hold CAHIIM accreditation, but not all. Related credentials include CPHIMS, CPHI and CHDA. Graduates often work as health data analysts or health IT specialists.
  • Health Information Management: Offered at the associate and bachelor's levels, and bachelor's completion tracks may require an associate degree in HIT or HIM. Curriculum covers coding, privacy, security and quality. CAHIIM accreditation matters for RHIT and RHIA exam eligibility. Typical roles include health information technician and HIM manager.

Accreditation doesn't transfer across tracks. CAHIIM approval won't substitute for CCNE or ACEN on a nursing degree, and nursing accreditation alone doesn't make you eligible for the RHIA.

Why Most RNs Should Choose the MSN

If you already hold a license, the MSN builds on it rather than setting it aside. Your clinical judgment becomes the core qualification, since informatics nurses translate bedside workflow into system design, support EHR optimization and train frontline staff. The degree also positions you for NI-BC certification and keeps a nursing graduate credential on your resume.

When an MS in Health Informatics Makes More Sense

The MS fits better if you want a non-clinical career built around analytics, databases or health IT infrastructure, and you're ready to leave patient-facing work behind. Before enrolling, confirm the program's accreditation and which certification exams it actually qualifies you for, because a degree title alone doesn't guarantee eligibility.

More 100% Online Informatics Master's Programs Worth a Look

The programs below round out the fully online informatics master's options beyond our top 10 ranking. This directory is not ranked, and schools appear in the same order as the underlying data rather than by any quality judgment. Where a school's net price has not been publicly reported, we say so instead of estimating.

East Tennessee State University
The MSN with a Nursing Informatics concentration requires 38 credit hours and is delivered through the TN eCampus format. Coursework pairs core nursing theory with healthcare data analysis and information systems, plus an informatics practicum. Admission requires an unencumbered RN license, a bachelor's degree with a 3.0 GPA, and undergraduate statistics. Approximate net price: $15,983.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Informatics)
Johnson City, TN · Online
Georgia Southwestern State University
This MSN offers a Nurse Informatics concentration with a 22-month full-time option delivered through the Georgia On My Line platform. The curriculum combines five core courses with seven informatics courses and a practical project. Applicants need a BSN, a 3.0 GPA, and an active RN license. Approximate net price: $12,019.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nurse Informatics)
Americus, GA · Online
Xavier University of Louisiana
The Master of Science in Health Informatics spans 36 credits with thesis or capstone options and concentrations in population health informatics, clinical informatics, and bioinformatics. Core coursework covers statistics, database architecture, health data analysis, and project management. Approximate net price: $17,127.
  • Health Informatics, M.S. (Population Health Informatics, Clinical Informatics, Bioinformatics)
New Orleans, LA · Online
Columbus State University
Columbus State's Nurse Informatics MSN is 100% online and asynchronous, with no campus commuting required and clinical hours completed locally. The 36-credit program can be finished in two years full time, with part-time options and up to 9 transfer credits. Approximate net price: $13,115.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nurse Informatics)
Columbus, GA · Online
CUNY City College
This MSN in Nursing Informatics includes a six-credit practicum and accepts up to 12 transfer credits. The curriculum covers data management, compliance, and leadership development, and the program is built for working professionals. Applicants need a bachelor's in nursing, a 3.0 GPA, and an unencumbered license. Approximate net price: $3,776.
  • Master of Science in Nursing Informatics
New York, NY · Online
Thomas Edison State University
This 30-credit MSN in Nursing Informatics lets students earn a graduate certificate in Nursing Informatics alongside the degree. The online curriculum includes 100-hour practicum courses and coursework in systems life cycle, databases and knowledge management, and consumer informatics. Up to 12 graduate credits may transfer. Net price is not reported for this institution.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Informatics)
Trenton, NJ · Online
Walden University
Walden's MSN Nursing Informatics specialization can be completed in as few as 18 months through course-based or self-paced Tempo Learning formats. The curriculum covers health information systems, data analysis, and clinical decision support, and includes a non-clinical field experience with practicum support. No application fee or GRE is required. Approximate net price: $33,817.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Informatics)
Minneapolis, MN · Online
University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences
The MSN Nurse Informaticist concentration is a 36-credit online program covering clinical data analytics, system life cycle analysis, and information management for safety. Practicum experiences are completed in the local community, and accelerated study plans are available for working nurses. Net price is not reported for this institution.
  • Nursing, MSN (Nurse Informaticist)
San Marcos, CA · Online
Western Governors University
WGU offers Nursing Informatics pathways for both BSN and RN-to-MSN students using a competency-based model with no set log-in times. The curriculum covers data management and analytics with clinical practice experiences, and graduates also earn an NAHQ HQ Principles certificate. Approximate net price: $12,548.
  • Master of Science, Nursing - Nursing Informatics
  • Master of Science, Nursing - Nursing Informatics (RN to MSN)
  • Nursing Informatics
Salt Lake City, UT · Online
Nebraska Methodist College
The MSN in Nursing Informatics is a 36-credit program that can be completed in 24 months with no GRE required. Courses run five to ten weeks and include 200 clinical hours and a capstone, and students receive HIMSS national and chapter membership. Approximate net price: $21,863.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Informatics)
  • RN to MSN Online Degree Program (Nursing Informatics) (Health/Nursing Informatics)
Omaha, NE · Online
University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus
The Health Care Informatics concentration covers decision support, data management, semantic representation, and the information systems lifecycle, with 270 practicum hours. Total program hours range from 36 to 40, and applications are submitted through NursingCAS. Approximate net price: $11,900.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Health Care Informatics)
Denver, CO · Online
Chamberlain University-Illinois
Chamberlain's MSN Nursing Informatics specialization is 100% online with a practicum component and can be completed in as few as two years. The non-clinical curriculum covers health data and information workflows, and a pathway to the Doctor of Nursing Practice is available. Approximate net price: $31,837.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Nursing Informatics
Addison, IL · Online
Excelsior University
Excelsior's 36-credit MSN Informatics blends nursing science with data technology, covering data management, clinical decision support, and systems development. Courses start every eight weeks, no campus visits are required, and a capstone project is part of the degree. Net price is not reported for this institution.
  • Master of Science in Nursing Informatics
  • RN to Master of Science in Nursing Informatics
Albany, NY · Online
University of South Dakota
The MSN with a Nursing Informatics and e-Health specialization focuses on data, information systems, and healthcare technologies, including telehealth and virtual care delivery. The online program is offered part time or full time and includes collaboration with business and technology schools. Approximate net price: $19,858.
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Nursing Informatics and e-Health)
Vermillion, SD · Online
Millersville University of Pennsylvania
Millersville's 37-credit MSN Nursing Informatics concentration can be completed in 14 to 24 months. Courses run seven weeks and cover healthcare data analytics, project management, and informatics systems, with a practicum and capstone included. No GMAT or GRE is required. Approximate net price: $20,787.
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Nursing Informatics
Millersville, PA · Online

Follow us