Updated September 23, 202618 min read

Best Online BSN-to-MSN and RN-to-MSN Schools in Washington

Compare accredited online and hybrid master's nursing pathways in Washington by cost, credits, completion time, and specialty track.

Washington has a thin pool of MSN-granting universities, and the online-eligible programs split along three role tracks. Gonzaga runs an online Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner MSN with a two-day on-campus immersion; UW Bothell and Western Washington offer online-delivery-eligible tracks in nursing education and nursing leadership, with Western Washington fully asynchronous. Your specialty choice narrows the school list before you weigh much else.

The decision comes down to entry pathway, format, and total cost: RN-to-MSN, BSN-to-MSN, or direct entry; online vs. hybrid campus obligations; and all-in price after clinical hours and fees. The ranked programs below are online-delivery-eligible and scored on a mixed quality composite with a published methodology. Washington nursing employers recruit differently across these tracks, so the specialty carries the real market signal.

Best Online MSN Schools in Washington

These three Washington universities all offer master's nursing programs that nurses can complete online or with limited campus time, and each points toward a different career destination: nurse education, psychiatric advanced practice, or nursing leadership. They are the strongest online-eligible options in the state for nurses weighing a graduate degree right now.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rate
  • Program accreditation and concentration fit
  • Online delivery access for Washington nurses
  • Net price after aid, weighted lower
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

University of Washington-Bothell Campus

#1

Bothell, WA · ~$19,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Nurses drawn to educator roles

The University of Washington-Bothell Campus anchors this group with a Master of Nursing built for nurses who want to teach. Its nurse education track pairs online coursework with faculty-led fieldwork in hospitals and nursing schools, and the degree carries CCNE accreditation. Institution-wide, the campus graduates about 65 percent of its students, and its average net price after aid is the lowest of the three schools here.

  • CCNE accredited
  • 50 total credit hours across 8 courses
  • 100 faculty-led fieldwork hours
  • Capstone project required
  • Coursework in advanced pathophysiology and health systems leadership
  • Electives can be taken across UW campuses
  • Curriculum aligned with AACN Essentials

Gonzaga University

#2

Spokane, WA · ~$22,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working nurses needing mostly online study

Gonzaga University devotes its MSN to psychiatric mental health, preparing nurses for advanced practice in one of the state's most in-demand specialties. The program runs online with required on-campus immersions in Spokane, and the university reports an institution-wide graduation rate near 86 percent. Its average net price after aid is the highest of the three, reflecting private tuition.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 47 credits required
  • 660 clinical hours included
  • Nine semesters to completion
  • Five on-campus immersions in Spokane
  • Psychopharmacology and DSM-5 diagnostic coursework
  • Advanced health assessment practicum
  • Focus on lifespan psychiatric care

Western Washington University

#3

Bellingham, WA · $14,000 – $27,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Washington RNs who want to stay local

Western Washington University's MSN in Nursing Leadership and Administration targets nurses who want to move into management, quality improvement, and executive roles. The program combines online coursework with practice hours and a mentor-guided capstone, and it maps to the competencies behind the NE-BC and CNML certifications. The campus reports an institution-wide graduation rate of about 65 percent.

  • 48-credit non-thesis degree
  • Two-year full-time plan of study
  • Capstone project mentored by nurse leaders
  • Prepares graduates for NE-BC certification
  • Prepares graduates for CNML certification
  • Coursework in financial management and informatics
  • Focus on health equity and population health
  • Washington Board of Nursing Phase III approval

How We Ranked Washington's Online MSN Programs

Rankings of MSN Programs have shifted over the past few years from reputation surveys toward federal outcome data, and that shift shapes how this list was built.

The gate, then the composite

Delivery format comes first. A Washington program has to offer a genuinely online or hybrid MSN to appear here at all; campus-bound programs are excluded regardless of how strong they look otherwise. Everything that clears that gate is then scored on a quality composite made up of three inputs: net price (what students actually pay after grant aid, not sticker tuition), the institution's graduation rate, and the outcomes reported for program completers in federal College Scorecard data.

Where the numbers get soft

Two of those inputs deserve a caveat. Net price and graduation rate are institution-wide figures, not MSN-specific ones, so a large university's undergraduate performance influences a number that we are applying to a graduate nursing program. Earnings and debt figures are published only for certain program and credential combinations, which means some Washington MSN programs simply have no completer outcome data available yet. Where that happens, the composite leans on what does exist rather than filling the gap with an estimate.

What we did not measure

This ranking does not capture NCLEX or national certification pass rates, faculty-to-student ratios, or the quality of preceptor matching and clinical placement support. For an MSN, that last one matters enormously, and no public dataset tracks it. Those are questions for admissions staff and current students.

Use it as a starting shortlist

Treat the order below as a shortlist of three ranked programs, not as a verdict. Admission status changes: cohorts close, specialty tracks pause, and accreditation reviews happen. Confirm current availability and application deadlines directly with each school before you commit time to an application.

Which MSN Pathway Fits You: RN-to-MSN, BSN-to-MSN, or Direct Entry

An MSN pathway is simply the entry ramp your prior education requires before you can start graduate-level nursing coursework, and the Best Nursing Schools in Washington offer three distinct on-ramps depending on where you're starting from.

The Three Entry Points

  • ADN/diploma RN-to-MSN bridge: Built for working RNs with an associate degree or diploma license and no BSN. These programs fold bachelor's-level coursework into the front end before transitioning into master's classes.
  • BSN-to-MSN: The standard route for RNs who already have a BSN and want to move directly into APRN or leadership coursework without repeating undergraduate content.
  • Direct Entry MSN Programs (MEPN/MENP): Designed for career changers with a bachelor's degree outside nursing and no nursing license. These programs front-load pre-licensure clinical training before layering on graduate coursework.

Yes, You Can Skip the BSN, But It Costs Time

Washington nurses without a bachelor's in nursing can absolutely reach an MSN, but the bridge coursework adds extra terms and tuition compared to a BSN-holder starting the same program. Budget for that added runway when comparing total cost and completion timelines.

Matching the Pathway to the Person

Working ADN nurses who want to stay employed while studying should look at bridge programs built around part-time, asynchronous coursework. BSN nurses aiming for nurse practitioner or clinical leadership roles, especially those pursuing NP Programs in Washington, are the core audience for standard BSN-to-MSN tracks. Non-nurses need direct entry, full stop.

The most common misstep is a licensed RN applying to a direct-entry program built for non-nurses. These programs assume zero nursing background and structure their pre-licensure phase accordingly, so an already-licensed RN would be repeating content unnecessarily and likely paying for coursework a bridge program would skip entirely.

From RN License to MSN Credential: The Washington Timeline

Most Washington MSN students move through the same six stages, though the clock runs differently depending on your starting credential. The ranges below assume full-time enrollment; part-time study, which is how many working RNs enroll, typically stretches each coursework and clinical stage by 50 to 100 percent.

Six-stage path from Washington RN licensure through MSN coursework, clinical hours, and national certification

Credits, Clinical Hours, and Completion Time by Washington MSN Pathway

Credit loads and clinical hour requirements vary widely across Washington MSN pathways, and the published figures below come from school program listings and pathway-level benchmarks current as of September 2026. Program pages are revised often, and several Washington schools publish credit ranges rather than a single number because the total depends on your entry point and chosen specialty. Treat these figures as planning estimates and confirm the current requirements directly with each school's graduate nursing office before you apply.

School / PathwayTotal CreditsClinical or Practicum HoursFull-Time CompletionPart-Time Completion
Gonzaga University, MSN in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner47 graduate credits660 hoursTypically nine semestersNot published
Gonzaga University, second MSN in Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner32 to 35 graduate credits660 hoursApproximately 2 yearsNot published
Pacific Lutheran University, BSN entry84 graduate credits750 hours3 yearsNot published
Pacific Lutheran University, post-graduate entry48 graduate creditsNot publishedApproximately 28 monthsNot published
Washington State University, BSN-prepared nurse practitioner pathway34 to 74 credits (program listing range)500 to 750 hours2 to 3 years3 to 4 years
Seattle Pacific University, nurse practitioner program listing48 to 100 creditsNot published2 to 4 or more yearsNot published
Washington BSN-to-MSN pathway benchmark30 to 50 creditsCommonly 500 or more hours for APRN tracks18 months to 3 years, with many full-time students finishing in about 2 yearsNot published
Washington direct-entry MSN pathway benchmark55 to 80 creditsPrelicensure clinical rotations for NCLEX-RN eligibility plus advanced practice hours3 to 4 yearsNot published

What an MSN Actually Costs in Washington: Tuition, Fees, and Total Price

A resident seat at a public university and a compressed private-school MSN are two different financial animals in Washington: one spreads a moderate per-year bill across two or three years, the other front-loads a large total into twelve months.

Baseline tuition at the ranked schools

Graduate nursing tuition and fees among the Washington programs on this list run roughly $13,878 per year in-state at Western Washington University, $20,979 at UW Bothell,1 and $21,987 at Gonzaga, where online students pay the same rate regardless of residency. Average institutional net price, meaning what students actually pay after grants and scholarships rather than a quoted sticker figure, lands near $12,319 at UW Bothell, $21,193 at Western Washington, and $35,119 at Gonzaga. Treat those as directional averages across the whole institution, not a bill for your specific MSN track.

Per-credit math and realistic totals

Pacific Lutheran University publishes the clearest 2026-27 picture: $1,160 per credit hour for MSN coursework, plus a $200 nursing program fee each term (excluding January-Term and subject to change). At 36 credits, PLU puts the tuition total at $41,760 for a BSN-MSN student finishing in 12 months, placing it among the fastest BSN to MSN programs. UW Bothell lists 2026-27 annual tuition and fees of $20,979 for residents and $36,480 for non-residents, held flat for a student's first two academic years and then typically rising 2-3%.1 Multiply an annual rate by the years your pathway takes: a 48- or 50-credit part-time plan stretched over two to three years accrues fees each term you are enrolled.

Debt at completion

Median debt at graduation, as reported to the College Scorecard, sits around $14,615 at UW Bothell, $18,500 at Western Washington, and $24,454 at Gonzaga. Program-level MSN debt and the corresponding 10-year monthly payment have not been published for these tracks, so budget from tuition totals and explore financial aid for nursing students rather than assuming the institution-wide figure matches your degree.

The costs that never make the tuition page

  • Compliance: background checks (PLU lists $70), immunizations, drug screening, and CPR renewal.
  • Clinical logistics: mileage and occasional lodging when placements sit outside your county, plus lost shifts.
  • Gear and platform fees: scrubs and equipment (roughly $300 at PLU), a $290 annual technology fee, a $120 wellness fee, and a one-time $225 matriculation charge.
  • Professional costs: student liability insurance and national certification exam fees after graduation.

The spread is stark: Western Washington's in-state tuition is the leanest entry point in this group, while PLU's accelerated 36-credit MSN totals $41,760 in tuition alone.

Fully Online vs. Hybrid: How Washington Programs Handle Clinical Placement

When a program advertises "online coursework," that describes where you attend lectures and complete assignments, not the entire degree. Nearly every MSN, especially any nurse practitioner track, requires in-person clinical hours completed at an approved healthcare site under a qualified preceptor. So a "fully online" MSN still sends you into a clinic, hospital, or practice somewhere near you. The real question is who arranges those hours.

Who Finds Your Clinical Site

Schools handle placement in different ways, and the difference matters. At Washington State University, College of Nursing placement staff secure your sites; you collaborate by naming preferred locations and preceptors, but you cannot self-source a site without prior approval. If you decline an offered placement, you must find an alternative that still meets state qualification, learning-objective, and affiliation-agreement rules. West Coast University's FNP and PMHNP tracks use a dedicated clinical placement team to connect students with aligned organizations, while its general MSN allows clinicals at a school-approved local provider.

Not every Washington school publishes its policy. Some programs expect students to identify their own preceptors. Before enrolling, ask directly: does the school arrange placements, or am I responsible for sourcing my own, and what happens if I cannot find one?

Intensives, Rural Access, and Out-of-State Rules

Hybrid programs often require on-campus intensives. West Coast University's Psychiatric NP (PMHNP) track includes two on-site intensive weekends. Some out-of-state online nursing programs marketed to Washington nurses schedule immersions elsewhere, so confirm the location and travel commitment early.

  • Rural and eastern Washington: Verify the school holds clinical affiliation agreements near your home. Affiliation agreements can take 6 to 12 months to establish, and a site without one will be declined.
  • Out-of-state programs: Washington requires distance-learning nursing programs based outside the state to obtain WABON approval before placing students in Washington clinical experiences, under WAC 246-840-571. Confirm that approval exists before you enroll.

MSN Specialties Washington Schools Actually Offer

Choosing an MSN specialty in Washington usually means deciding between a clinical nurse practitioner path and a systems-focused leadership or education path. The programs ranked on this page split along that same line, and not every advertised specialty is actually available at the master's level in Washington.

Clinical NP Tracks

Among ranked Washington schools, Gonzaga's catalog lists a psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner MSN, while the Washington Board of Nursing's approved-program record also shows a Gonzaga MSN in nursing leadership in healthcare. Because Gonzaga's leadership MSN is noted as closing in Fall 2028, confirm the active track before applying. Walden University, approved for Washington practice experiences, offers MSN specializations in family nurse practitioner and psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioner.1 Washington State University documents FNP and PMHNP at the DNP level rather than as MSN tracks2; residents who want those roles may need to evaluate DNP programs in Washington State directly. Family NP education leads to the ANCC or AANP family nurse practitioner exam; psychiatric-mental health NP leads to the ANCC PMHNP-BC exam.

Education, Leadership, and Systems Tracks

The University of Washington Bothell ranked program is a nurse education track, which supports the Certified Nurse Educator credential after practice and teaching hours are met. Western Washington University's ranked MSN is leadership and administration, aligned with the Nurse Executive-BC or Certified Nurse Manager and Leader exams. Pacific Lutheran University offers a BSN-to-MSN pathway, though its specialty mix is not detailed here. Informatics-focused MSNs typically lead to the ANCC Informatics Nursing Certification, but Washington's current program inventory is not fully clear.

Where Washington Falls Short

Nurse-midwifery is not clearly established as a Washington MSN track. Aspiring certified nurse-midwives often choose an out-of-state online MSN or a DNP leading to the AMCB certification exam. A formal MSN titled population health is also not established; Walden's public health nursing concentration is related but not equivalent.1 Students targeting FNP or PMHNP may find master's options limited and should compare Best Family Nurse Practitioner Programs in Washington or DNP pathways.

Admission Requirements and Application Deadlines for Washington MSN Programs

Requirements differ meaningfully from school to school in Washington, but a handful of items show up on nearly every application. Confirm details directly with each program before you build your timeline.

  1. Active, unencumbered RN license
    This is the baseline item. UW Bothell and Western Washington University both require an active, unencumbered Washington RN license, while Pacific Lutheran accepts either a current unencumbered Washington license or multistate privilege through the Nurse Licensure Compact.
  2. Minimum GPA (and which credits count)
    A 3.0 is the common threshold. UW Bothell will accept either a 3.0 overall or a 3.0 across the last 60 semester or 90 quarter graded credits, which helps applicants whose early coursework drags down a cumulative average. PLU applies the 3.0 to all college work.
  3. Prerequisite coursework
    Statistics is the most consistently required course. UW Bothell asks for a basic statistics course covering descriptive and inferential methods with at least a 2.0. PLU's list is longer: statistics, Anatomy and Physiology I and II with lab, microbiology with lab, developmental psychology across the lifespan, and nutrition, with a minimum grade of B- (2.67) per its application page, though the university catalog states a 3.00 in each prerequisite. Verify which standard applies to your cycle.
  4. RN work experience
    Neither UW Bothell nor WWU lists a specific number of years on its admissions page, and PLU asks for direct care RN experience without naming a figure. Statewide directories describe a general pattern of roughly 18 months of clinical RN practice, with 24 months more common for clinical nurse specialist and nurse practitioner tracks. Treat that as a pattern, not a rule.
  5. GRE policy
    Most Washington programs have moved on. UW Bothell and WWU both state that no GRE or other standardized test is required. Some programs statewide may still request the GRE or MAT, so check the specific track rather than assuming a blanket waiver.
  6. Deadlines and cohort starts
    Washington MSN admission is generally annual and cohort-based rather than rolling, which means missing a window costs you a full year. UW Bothell's Fall 2026 cycle is closed, and WWU and PLU do not publish a fixed cohort start date on their MSN pages. Contact each program directly for the next open application window.

Washington MSN Salary Outlook: APRN Wages and Return on the Degree

The federal wage tables retrieved for this section confirm how many advanced practice nurses work in the Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue area, but they did not carry published percentile wages, so the employment counts below are what we can state with confidence and the wage columns are left open rather than estimated. Nurse midwife employment in the Seattle metro, and the older anesthetist count from an earlier release, were suppressed in the source data (a routine practice for small occupations), so those figures are omitted instead of guessed. Before you build a payback estimate, pull the current Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics figures for Washington state yourself and look at the 10th and 90th percentile columns, not just the median: the realistic question is how much your annual pay would rise above your current RN salary, then divide the total program price and any borrowing from the cost section by that raise to get a rough payback in years. One caution when you compare numbers from different places: College Scorecard reports what graduates of a specific program earned in the first years after finishing, while BLS occupational wages cover everyone working in that job at every experience level, so the two measure different windows and should never be treated as the same figure.

Occupation / AreaEmployment10th PercentileMedian Annual Wage90th Percentile
Nurse practitioners, Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA (May 2022)2,630Not reported in retrieved dataNot reported in retrieved dataNot reported in retrieved data
Nurse anesthetists, Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA (May 2022)260Not reported in retrieved dataNot reported in retrieved dataNot reported in retrieved data

Follow us