Updated September 22, 202625+ min read

Best Online BSN to MSN & RN to MSN Schools in Texas

Compare accredited online and hybrid Texas MSN pathways by cost, entry route, specialty, and graduate earnings

Twenty-nine Texas institutions carry online or hybrid MSN listings, and the published in-state graduate tuition across them runs from roughly $6,650 a year to more than $43,000. That spread is wider than the difference in curriculum. Most family nurse practitioner programs in Texas cluster around 43 to 49 credit hours and 670 to 720 clinical hours no matter what you pay.

What actually separates these programs is delivery format, whether the school helps you secure a preceptor, and whether it enrolls non-Texas residents at all. Several restrict admission to Texas-licensed RNs or require clinicals inside the state, which quietly narrows the field before cost ever enters the conversation.

Best Online MSN Schools in Texas: Ranked List

These cards cover Texas MSN programs that can be completed online, ordered by a composite that combines an online-delivery boost with baseline institutional quality. That ordering does not mean these schools are cheaper, faster, or higher-earning than the alternatives. Net prices listed on each card are averages after aid, graduation rates are institution-wide rather than MSN-program-specific, and any program-level outcome that is not published is left off the card.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institution-wide graduation rate
  • Online and hybrid delivery options
  • Program breadth and accreditation
Data sources
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data
  • Original research on individual programs

Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

#1

Lubbock, TX · $7,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Working nurses comparing many graduate specialty tracks

One of the widest online graduate nursing menus in the state, spanning nurse educator, nursing administration, informatics, nurse midwifery, and family, pediatric, and psychiatric nurse practitioner tracks, plus an MSN/MBA dual degree. Programs run 36 to 51 credits in online or hybrid formats, and admission generally requires a BSN, an active RN license, and a 3.0 GPA. Federal data do not include an institution-wide graduation rate for this campus.

CCNE accredited
  • 39 credit hours, mostly online with practicum experiences
  • Prepares graduates for educator roles in academic and practice settings
  • Requires BSN, 3.0 GPA, and research and statistics coursework
  • Professional nursing work experience required
  • Fall and spring starts with a February 15 deadline for fall entry
  • Computer literacy test required before applying
CCNE accredited
  • 48 semester credit hours in a hybrid format
  • Prepares students for ANCC and AANP certification exams
  • One year of RN experience and an unencumbered license required
  • Full-time and part-time options with fall and spring starts
  • No entrance exam required
  • Clinical focus on primary care for rural and underserved areas
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours, online with occasional campus visits
  • Two years of pediatric RN experience required
  • PALS certification and a criminal background check required
  • Fall and spring start terms with holistic admission review
CCNE accredited
  • 49 semester credit hours with 100% online coursework
  • Clinical hours completed in the student's home area
  • Telemental health training and a rural health focus
  • Full-time or part-time enrollment
  • F1 and F2 visa holders are not eligible
CCNE accredited
  • 57 credit hours, reduced from 78 through 21 shared credits
  • Combines nursing administration with health organization management
  • Requires separate applications to the nursing and business schools
  • Online coursework with practicum experiences
  • Includes courses in health law, finance, and population health
CCNE accredited
  • 51 semester credit hours in a hybrid online and campus format
  • Accredited by ACME and CCNE
  • Qualifies graduates for midwifery certification
  • Labor and delivery experience preferred
  • Post-master's certificate option available
CCNE accredited
  • 36 semester credit hours, fully online
  • One year of RN experience and a 3.0 GPA required
  • Texas residency preference in admissions review
  • Prepares nurses for leadership and administrative roles
CCNE accredited
  • 39 credit hours in a hybrid format
  • Prepares students for ANCC and CPHIMS certification
  • Two years of clinical experience plus informatics background required
  • Described as the first nursing informatics MSN in Texas
  • Covers data analytics, EHR evaluation, and public health informatics
CCNE accredited
  • 51 credit hours in a hybrid online and campus format
  • Two years of pediatric experience and PALS certification required
  • Eligible for the CPNP acute care certification exam
  • Critical care experience preferred

Texas A & M University-College Station

#2

College Station, TX · $12,000 – $25,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Future FNPs headed for rural primary care

A public research university whose MSN concentrates on family nurse practitioner and forensic nursing tracks, both built for working RNs with coursework delivered mostly online and limited campus sessions. The FNP track requires 1,500 hours of BSN practice and roughly 671 clinical hours, which students often complete with preceptors near home. The university's overall graduation rate is about 84%, a figure that covers all students rather than MSN candidates; residency rules for the FNP track should be confirmed directly with the program.

  • 48 credit hours across 13 courses
  • 671 clinical hours, often completed with local preceptors
  • Requires 1,500 hours of BSN practice experience
  • Six-semester full-time plan or an eight-semester part-time option
  • Prepares students for ANCC and AANP certification
  • Fall start with mostly online coursework and limited campus visits
  • Online verbal and written assessments required
  • 36 total credit hours with a capstone
  • Rolling admissions with a June 1 cut-off
  • 45 clinical hours in advanced assessment and 90 in practicum
  • Electives include human trafficking and forensic photography
  • Primarily online with required on-campus visits
  • Requires 1,500 hours of BSN practice experience

The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

#3

San Antonio, TX · $5,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

Best for: Career changers entering nursing through direct entry

A health sciences university with two MSN routes: a nursing education track that blends online coursework with required in-person sessions, and a direct entry MSN for people who already hold a bachelor's degree outside nursing. The education track covers 36 credits across roughly five semesters, and students may take up to six years to finish. Federal data do not include an institution-wide graduation rate for this campus.

CCNE accredited
  • 36 credit hours over five semesters, full-time or part-time
  • Hybrid delivery with 50 to 85% of coursework online
  • Clinical preceptorships required
  • Fall start with a six-year completion window
  • 3.0 GPA minimum for admission
CCNE accredited
  • Designed for holders of a non-nursing bachelor's degree
  • Hybrid format covering pre-licensure and advanced nursing coursework
  • Includes clinical practice hours across multiple care settings
  • Prerequisite courses required before enrollment

University of Houston

#4

Houston, TX · $10,000 – $19,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A large public university whose graduate nursing offering centers on a family nurse practitioner track that prepares RNs for advanced practice across the lifespan. Instruction mixes online coursework with campus sessions, and the curriculum builds on BSN foundations in theory, research, and clinical application. The university's overall graduation rate is about 65%.

  • Builds on a BSN to prepare for advanced practice roles
  • Hybrid delivery combining online coursework and campus sessions
  • Focus on family care across the lifespan
  • Emphasizes theory, research, and evidence-based practice
  • Prepares graduates for clinical, educator, and leadership roles

University of St Thomas

#5

Houston, TX · $22,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A private university offering two MSN tracks, nursing education and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner, both delivered in a hybrid format. The education track spans 36 credits, while the PMHNP track runs 43 credits with clinical practicums across adult and older adult, child and family, and integrated care settings. The university's overall graduation rate is about 69%.

CCNE accredited
  • 36 credit hours across 12 courses
  • Hybrid format blending online and campus learning
  • Includes advanced pathophysiology, health assessment, and pharmacotherapeutics
  • Nurse educator role practicum required
  • Covers curriculum development, nursing ethics, and program evaluation
CCNE accredited
  • 43 total credits, including a five-credit clinical seminar
  • Clinical practicums in adult/older adult, child/family, and integrated care
  • Includes clinical psychopharmacology and neurobiology of addictions
  • Telehealth and telemedicine coursework
  • BSN and active RN license required

Baylor University

#6

Waco, TX · ~$44,000/yr (est.)

A private university whose graduate nursing offering in this list is a neonatal nurse practitioner track at the doctoral level, delivered online with clinical placement support arranged around each student's home area. The program requires 1,125 clinical hours, takes about three to four years, and does not require the GRE or MAT. The university's overall graduation rate is about 80%.

CCNE accredited
  • Online DNP program accredited by CCNE
  • 1,125 clinical hours required
  • Three to four years to complete
  • No GRE or MAT required
  • One year of NICU experience needed
  • Clinical placement support provided

University of Houston-Clear Lake

#7

Houston, TX · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A public university offering an accelerated MSN in nursing education and leadership that can be finished in as little as 24 months across 30 credits. Students choose HyFlex attendance or a fully online synchronous option, with no thesis or capstone required and rolling admissions. The university's overall graduation rate is about 52%, and the program is built around working nurses.

  • 30 credit hours, completable in about 24 months
  • HyFlex courses or a 100% online synchronous option
  • No thesis or capstone required
  • Rolling admissions with fall and spring starts
  • Prepares students for NLN certification exams (CNEn, CNE, CNEcl)
  • Accepts international F-1 students

The University of Texas at El Paso

#8

El Paso, TX · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A public university with one of the broader graduate nursing menus in the state, covering nursing education, nursing administration and management, and adult gerontology, pediatric, and psychiatric nurse practitioner tracks. Most nurse practitioner tracks run 49 credits over seven semesters with online didactic work and campus visits, while the education and administration tracks are fully online at 33 credits. The university's overall graduation rate is about 50%.

CCNE accredited
  • 33 credit hours with a capstone requirement
  • Online delivery through UTEP Online
  • Structured across six semesters including summer terms
  • Focus on simulation pedagogy and mentored educator experiences
  • Prepares graduates for national certification eligibility
  • Face-to-face orientation each semester
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours and 775 clinical hours
  • Seven-semester hybrid format with seven-week courses
  • Prepares students for ANCC or AANP certification
  • Clinical travel of up to 200 miles may be required
  • Fall and spring admission cycles
  • Three-year curriculum structure
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours and 675 clinical hours
  • Seven semesters with a seven-week course format
  • Eligible for PCNB certification
  • Hybrid format with campus visits and simulation lab experiences
  • Two start dates per year
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours and 720 clinical clock hours
  • Online didactic courses with up to three campus visits
  • Critical care experience required
  • Prepares students for ANCC and AACN certification
  • Curriculum aligned with AACN Essentials and NONPF standards
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours and 675 clinical clock hours
  • Across the lifespan focus
  • Online courses with weekend face-to-face sessions
  • Seven-week course format across seven semesters
  • Eligible for national certification
CCNE accredited
  • 33 credit hours, fully online
  • Two-year completion timeline
  • 90-hour mentored residency
  • Covers healthcare finance, human resources, and quality management
  • Prepares nurses for chief nursing officer roles
  • HCA fellowship eligible
CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours and 765 clinical clock hours
  • Hybrid format with required campus visits
  • Eligible for the PACNP certification exam
  • Focus on complex acute and chronic pediatric conditions
  • Clinical experience in hospital, ICU, and emergency settings

The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

#9

Galveston, TX · $13,000/yr

A health sciences university whose MSN portfolio includes family, adult gerontology primary care, and adult gerontology acute care nurse practitioner tracks alongside clinical nurse leader and executive nurse leader options. Most tracks run part-time over seven semesters with online coursework and campus visits of two to three days per semester. Clinical placement support is concentrated in its home region, and students arranging sites elsewhere must have both the site and preceptor approved. Federal data do not include an institution-wide graduation rate for this campus.

CCNE accredited
  • 49 credit hours delivered part-time
  • Campus visits of two to three days per semester
  • Requires one year of RN experience and a 3.0 GPA
  • Prepares students for ANCC or AANP certification
  • Up to 12 transfer credits accepted
  • Fall admission only
CCNE accredited
  • Seven-semester part-time plan with a fall start
  • Clinical practicum arranged in the student's geographic area
  • Small class sizes and leadership immersion opportunities
  • Prepares students for adult gerontology primary care certification
  • Holistic family and community health focus
CCNE accredited
  • Fourteen courses delivered mostly online
  • One year of acute care experience required
  • Prepares students for ANCC or AACN certification
  • BLS and ACLS certification required
  • Includes geriatric syndromes and advanced pharmacology
CCNE accredited
  • Sixteen courses across seven semesters
  • Focus on quality, safety, and evidence-based practice
  • Includes healthcare economics and clinical practicums
  • Campus visits each semester with online coursework
  • BSN and active RN license required
CCNE accredited
  • Six semesters and 15 courses, part-time only
  • Prepares nurses for executive leadership roles
  • Clinical practicum and leadership immersion experiences
  • One year of RN experience and a 3.0 GPA required
  • Brief campus visits alongside online coursework

The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

#10

Edinburg, TX · $5,000 – $10,000/yr

Hispanic-Serving Institution

A public university offering a fully online MSN in nursing administration built around healthcare finance, organizational behavior, and nursing informatics. The 36-credit curriculum ends in a thesis or project capstone, and applicants who hold a bachelor's degree outside nursing can qualify after a transition course. The university's overall graduation rate is about 51%, and students may take up to seven years to finish.

CCNE accredited
  • 36 graduate credit hours, fully online
  • BSN or equivalent with a 3.0 undergraduate GPA
  • Unencumbered RN license and a statistics course required
  • Capstone with thesis or project options
  • Coursework includes healthcare finance and nursing informatics
  • Transition course available for non-nursing bachelor's holders

How We Ranked Texas Online MSN Schools

Every program on this list earned its spot through a two-stage filter, not editorial preference or reputation.

The weighting

Delivery format comes first. A Texas institution had to offer graduate nursing coursework in a fully online or substantially hybrid format to be considered at all. Programs requiring weekly campus attendance were excluded, regardless of how strong the school looks on paper.

Surviving programs were then scored on a baseline quality composite built from three inputs: published tuition and estimated net price, institutional completion performance, and post-graduation outcome measures. Cost and completion carried the heaviest weight, since those two variables shape whether a working RN actually finishes.

Where the numbers come from

Tuition and net price figures trace back to federal institutional reporting. Completion and earnings data come from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, at both the institution and, where published, the individual program level. Program inventories and specialty tracks come from our own Texas nursing school listings, verified against school catalogs.

Honest limits

Graduation rate is measured across the entire institution, not the nursing graduate cohort, so it is a proxy rather than a direct read. Net price is a sector-wide average conditioned on income band, not what any single MSN student pays. For a number of Texas programs, graduate-level earnings and debt figures simply have not been published yet.

We also do not measure faculty-to-student ratios, student satisfaction, or specialty-specific certification pass rates. Those matter. Ask each admissions office directly.

Which MSN Entry Pathway Fits You: BSN to MSN, RN to MSN, or Direct Entry

Your starting credential determines both the credit load and the calendar. A BSN holder moving into an education or administration track at UT Arlington faces 36 credit hours, while the same school's RN-to-MSN FNP bridge runs 81 credit hours because it layers undergraduate nursing coursework underneath the graduate core. To answer the question directly: no, a Texas online MSN cannot realistically be finished in one year. Texas Woman's University states that a full-time student needs a minimum of two years, and UT Arlington's published timelines start at 19 months. Direct-entry options for applicants without a nursing license are also scarce among Texas online programs, and the schools documented here admit licensed RNs rather than non-nurses.

PathwayWho It's ForCredit Hours (Texas Examples)Realistic Completion TimeAvailability Online in Texas
BSN to MSNNurses who already hold a BSN and an RN licenseUT Arlington: 36 hours for education and administration tracks, 46 hours for the FNP track. Texas Woman's University: 45 semester credit hours for the MSN-FNP.UT Arlington projects 19 to 22 months for the 36-hour tracks and 32 to 36 months for the 46-hour FNP. TWU's online MSN-FNP is two years of continuous full-time study.Widely available; UT Arlington delivers coursework 100% online
ADN/RN to MSN BridgeLicensed RNs holding an associate degree or diploma who want to skip a separate BSNUT Arlington RN-to-MSN: 68 to 71 credit hours. UT Arlington RN-to-MSN FNP: 81 credit hours.Substantially longer than a BSN-entry route because of the added bridge coursework; part-time enrollment stretches the timeline furtherOffered online at UT Arlington for registered nurses
Direct Entry / Entry-Level MSN (non-nursing bachelor's)Career changers holding a bachelor's degree in another field and no RN licenseNot documented among the Texas online MSN programs reviewed hereNot applicable; these seats require in-person clinical immersion and are not part of the online offerings reviewedRare. The Texas online programs documented here admit licensed RNs, not non-nurses. Career changers should look at campus-based entry-level programs.
Post-Master's CertificateNurses who already hold an MSN and want to add a population focus such as FNPVaries by track; UT Arlington governs MSN and post-master's certificate students under the same handbookUT Arlington requires the degree to be completed within 6 years; full-time is a minimum of 6 semester credit hours per term and anything less is part-timeAvailable online at UT Arlington alongside the MSN
Part-Time Enrollment (any pathway)Working nurses who cannot carry a full graduate loadTWU counts nine credit hours as full-time, and the majority of its MSN students enroll in at least six hours per semesterTWU allows up to six years to finish all coursework; UT Arlington applies the same 6-year limitStandard option at both TWU and UT Arlington

Cost of an Online MSN in Texas: Tuition, Net Price, and Debt

Ordered from lowest annual graduate tuition upward, the table below pairs published in-state and out-of-state rates with each institution's average net price after aid so you can see both the sticker figure and what students typically pay. Median debt at completion is included where reported, which is the number that ultimately determines your monthly repayment. Two cautions: net price is an institution-wide average across all students after grants and scholarships, not a quote for a graduate nursing program, and the in-state versus out-of-state gap is the single largest cost lever for online applicants, exceeding $17,000 per year at the widest point on this list. Figures come from federal IPEDS and College Scorecard reporting for 2024.

SchoolCityIn-State Graduate Tuition (Annual)Out-of-State Graduate Tuition (Annual)In-State vs. Out-of-State GapAverage Net Price (After Aid)Median Debt at Completion
Texas A&M International UniversityLaredo$7,894$19,454$11,560$3,637$15,000
University of Houston-VictoriaVictoria$7,149$16,989$9,840$8,109$18,973
The University of Texas at El PasoEl Paso$9,744$25,502$15,758$9,403$18,000
The University of Texas Rio Grande ValleyEdinburg$9,987$19,827$9,840$4,831$12,950
East Texas A&M UniversityCommerce$10,026$22,326$12,300$11,841$20,500
Midwestern State UniversityWichita Falls$10,580$12,530$1,950$11,656$21,030
Texas Woman's UniversityDenton$8,640$18,480$9,840$11,963$19,218
The University of Texas at TylerTyler$9,736$25,494$15,758$13,323$17,137
The University of Texas at ArlingtonArlington$11,950$29,582$17,632$13,951$17,527
Hallmark UniversitySan AntonioNot reportedNot reportedN/A$12,513$25,438

Salary and ROI: What Texas MSN Graduates Actually Earn

What does an MSN actually pay in Texas, and how quickly does that paycheck cover the debt you take on? The answer is strongest when you pair MSN salary with borrowing, not when you look at a salary headline alone.

Texas NP Salary Baseline

Use the May 2025 BLS statewide nurse practitioner numbers as the starting point for NP Programs in Texas. Texas NPs earn a median of $131,670 per year.1 The middle half of earners falls between $113,840 and $147,660, while the top decile reaches $161,980.1 That spread matters as much as the median, especially for new graduates who often start closer to the 25th percentile.

Metro Pay Varies, but Data Gaps Exist

Houston and Dallas-Fort Worth show different shapes. BLS reports a Houston-area annual mean of $139,360 for NPs.1 Secondary salary reports place the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands median at $133,140, with a 25th percentile of $118,610 and a 75th of $143,760.2 For Dallas-Fort Worth, the most recent BLS mean is $125,060 (May 2023).3 Secondary data put the median at $131,910, ranging from $114,990 at the 25th percentile to $154,240 at the 75th.2 Austin and San Antonio metro medians are not separately published in the available BLS wage tables, so the statewide median is the safest reference for those areas. For nurse anesthetists and nurse midwives, the national median across APRN roles is $134,920 in May 2025.4

Earnings and Debt: What Is Missing

For these ranked online MSN degree programs, program-completer median earnings at 1, 2, 4, and 5 years after finishing are not yet published. That means a true program-level debt-to-earnings check cannot be calculated. Program-specific median debt and the resulting 10-year monthly payment are also not reported. Institution-wide median federal loan debt for all graduates at these schools runs from roughly $12,300 to $23,000, but that figure is not the same as MSN-specific borrowing. Until program-level outcomes are released, treat Texas NP wage data as the earnings benchmark and compare each school's total tuition and fees against it, not against unpublished program debt.

Clinical Hours and Who Finds Your Preceptor

Clinical hours are the supervised, hands-on practice you complete alongside a working clinician (your preceptor) before you can sit for certification. The number you owe depends entirely on your track. Nurse practitioner programs carry the heaviest load, while leadership and education tracks require far fewer.

Typical Hour Requirements by Track

NP hour totals vary widely between Texas schools. UT Arlington's online MSN-FNP requires 360 clinical hours, one of the leaner NP requirements in the state. Texas Woman's University sets a higher bar: its FNP, WHNP, and PMHNP tracks each require 780 hours.123 TWU's WHNP hours must all be completed in Texas and are spread across three semesters (180 in spring, 300 in summer, 300 in fall).2 Education and leadership tracks sit lower. UT Arlington's MSN Nursing Education track lists 135 precepted hours. Always confirm the current total for your specific specialty, since figures are not interchangeable across tracks.

Who Actually Finds Your Preceptor

This is the question that quietly derails timelines, so ask it before you enroll.

  • UT Arlington: Students generally locate their own preceptor and site.4 The school reviews and approves your choice and will assist if you struggle, but plan to start your search 12 to 16 weeks before the clinical course begins.5
  • Texas Woman's University: A placement team normally arranges NP sites and preceptors.6 You still contact the site to confirm hours and scheduling, and if you decline a TWU-secured placement, sourcing that semester falls to you.
  • UTMB Galveston: The school coordinates and vets placements in the Houston and Galveston area.7 Outside that region, you must identify your own site and preceptor for UTMB approval.

What Self-Sourcing Demands

When you source your own placement, expect to document your preceptor's credentials, secure formal approval, and clear a signed affiliation agreement between the school and site. These agreements take weeks to negotiate. The NP preceptor shortage is a leading cause of delayed graduation, so treat this as a real deadline, not an afterthought.

Out-Of-State Applicants: State Authorization and Texas Residency Rules

Some Texas online MSN programs accept students from every state, while others quietly restrict enrollment to Texas residents or Texas-licensed RNs. The difference often comes down to state authorization rules for out-of-state online nursing programs, not the academic catalog.

Where Texas Programs Draw the Line

Texas participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement, or SARA, a voluntary agreement that lets schools offer distance education to students in other SARA states without seeking separate approval in each state.1 But SARA does not force a program to accept everyone. Some Texas schools add their own rules.

Texas State University illustrates the tension. Its online MSN-FNP is listed as fully online, but one FAQ page says the program is approved only for Texas as of 2025, while a separate authorization page says it can enroll students from all states under SARA.2 Before applying, verify the current scope for your state.

Stephen F. Austin State University is stricter by track. The FNP track requires Texas residency and a current Texas RN license. The Nurse Educator track is more flexible, but still ties eligibility to SARA and Nurse Licensure Compact requirements along with an unencumbered license or Texas residency.3

NLC, Clinicals, and Your Home State

A multistate nursing licensure compact license can simplify the RN license question, but it does not guarantee clinical placement. Several programs, including Texas State's MSN-FNP, use a nearby preceptor network, which may not reach every out-of-state city. Texas State does note an Alabama clinical authorization,2 but home-state placement is not automatic. Even well-known online MSN programs outside Texas, such as Duke, warn students they may need a clinical site in another state or, rarely, relocate.4

Before applying, open the school's state authorization page, select your state, and confirm two things: that the program can enroll you and that it can arrange clinical experiences where you live. If your state is blank or unclear, ask the program directly.

From RN to Texas APRN: The Licensure Sequence

Texas APRN authorization follows a fixed order, and two of the five steps happen while you are still enrolled. Knowing which pieces belong to the program and which belong to the state after graduation keeps your start date from slipping by a semester.

Five ordered steps from active Texas RN license through MSN clinical hours, national certification, and APRN prescriptive authority

Admissions Requirements, Prerequisites, and Application Deadlines

Texas online MSN programs share a common admissions core, but the details, GPA floors, RN experience minimums, and cohort timing, vary enough that you should verify each one directly with the school before you build your application timeline.

  1. Unencumbered RN license and an accredited nursing degree
    Every program on this list expects a current, unencumbered RN license and a BSN from an accredited program. Texas State accepts degrees accredited by CCNE, ACEN, or another nationally recognized body, and TTUHSC's nursing programs carry CCNE and ACEN accreditation. ADN-prepared nurses should look specifically for RN to MSN bridge tracks, since the standard MSN entry point in Texas is a BSN.
  2. Minimum GPA
    UT Arlington sets a 3.0 on the last 60 hours of bachelor's coursework for unconditional admission, with applicants between 2.8 and 2.99 considered on a probationary basis. Texas Woman's University and TTUHSC also use a 3.0 benchmark. Texas State is the most selective of the group at 3.25 overall, including any graduate coursework, and 3.25 in nursing.
  3. Undergraduate statistics and supporting materials
    An undergraduate statistics course is the near-universal prerequisite, required at UT Arlington, Texas State, TWU, UT Tyler, and TTUHSC (where it is paired with research). Expect to also submit a goal statement or essay, professional references, and a current resume. Application fees are modest: $55 at Texas State ($90 for international applicants) and $50 at TWU.
  4. RN work experience minimums
    This is concentration-specific rather than universal. UT Arlington requires two years of clinical RN experience for its Psychiatric/Mental Health NP, Adult-Gerontology Acute Care NP, Nursing Education, and Nursing Administration tracks; AGACNP applicants must also show acute care experience within the concentration in the previous five years, plus current CPR certification. UTA's FNP materials do not state an RN experience minimum. TWU's PMHNP track lists behavioral health experience as preferred rather than required.
  5. GRE and other testing policies
    Most Texas online MSN programs no longer require the GRE for standard admission. UT Arlington is the notable exception to watch: GRE scores figure into probationary admission decisions for some specialties, so applicants below the GPA threshold should be prepared to test. Texas State, TWU, and UT Tyler do not state a GRE requirement. TWU has added the Casper situational judgment assessment for its online FNP applicants beginning with Spring 2026 admission, with a supplemental application layered in starting Spring 2027. International applicants should also budget time for TOEFL, IELTS, or equivalent English proficiency testing with minimum subscores.
  6. Cohort timing and 2026–2027 deadlines
    Timing models differ sharply. Texas A&M International University runs multiple entry points with deadlines of April 1, July 1, and December 1. UT Tyler accepts FNP applications year-round but requires admission to be finalized at least two weeks before the session begins. Among fixed dates confirmed for 2026–2027: UTHealth Houston's FNP deadline is June 1, 2026, Texas State's is July 22, 2026, and UT Arlington's is August 12, 2026. Note that Texas State posts separate application and supporting-document deadlines on 8-week terms, so the document date is the one that actually governs. TTUHSC requires materials by its posted deadline, but the full opens-and-closes calendar is not published in the sources we reviewed, contact the program directly. Additional Spring and Summer 2027 dates had not been released at the time of writing.
  7. UT Arlington applicants: plan around the probationary track
    Because UTA is the most-searched online MSN in Texas, it is worth being precise about its two admission pathways. A 3.0 in your last 60 undergraduate hours puts you in line for unconditional admission; a 2.8 to 2.99 routes you to probationary status, where GRE scores and specialty-specific minimums come into play. Undergraduate statistics is required, the two-year clinical requirement applies to several concentrations, and international applicants need two years of U.S. healthcare experience or the equivalent. The next confirmed deadline is August 12, 2026.

More Texas Online MSN Programs to Consider

Not every Texas nursing school with an online or hybrid MSN appears in the ranked list above. Below is a directory of additional programs across the state, grouped by region so you can see what is available near you. Net price figures are institutional averages reported in federal data rather than MSN-specific tuition, so confirm current costs with each program.

Greater Houston

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Cizik School of Nursing lists hybrid MSN tracks in family nurse practice and nursing leadership and administration, plus a mostly online post-graduate emergency nurse practitioner option. Most tracks require Texas residency before classes begin.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Nursing Leadership and Administration
  • Emergency Nurse Practitioner (Emergency/Trauma Care)
Houston, TX · Hybrid
Houston Christian University
Online MSN in nurse education with 540 clinical hours that include a 200-hour residency, plus a hybrid pediatric primary care track and an online RN to BSN to MSN pathway in nurse leadership. Reported average net price is about $20,629.
  • MSN in Nurse Education
  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner – Primary Care
  • RN to BSN to MSN Program (Nurse Leadership)
Houston, TX · Online

DFW Metroplex

The University of Texas at Arlington
Online MSN options span family, adult-gerontology primary and acute care, psychiatric mental health, nursing administration, and health informatics, with RN to MSN pathways in family, pediatric, and leadership tracks. Reported average net price is about $13,951.
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric/Mental Health Nurse Practitioner MSN
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) in Nursing Administration
  • MSN in Health Informatics
  • RN to MSN – Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Registered Nurse to Master of Science in Nursing – Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • RN to MSN (Nurse Administrator)
  • RN to MSN (Nurse Educator)
Arlington, TX · Online
Texas Woman's University
MSN tracks cover family, pediatric primary care, adult-gerontology primary care, psychiatric mental health, and women's health nurse practitioner roles. Hybrid and online formats are offered, with several tracks limited to Texas residents and clinical hours completed in Texas. Reported average net price is about $11,963.
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care)
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
  • Master of Science in Nursing (Women's Health Nurse Practitioner)
Denton, TX · Online
Parker University
Parker's entry in this directory is a fully online Master of Public Health, not an MSN. The curriculum combines coursework, research, and practical experience for community health work. Reported average net price is about $29,135.
  • Public Health
Dallas, TX · Online

North Texas

Tarleton State University
Online MSN in nursing administration with concentrations in nursing management and quality improvement. The 36-credit program can be completed in as few as 12 months, and courses start every eight weeks. Reported average net price is about $20,783.
  • Nursing Administration, M.S.N. (Nursing Management, Quality Improvement)
Stephenville, TX · Online
Southwestern Adventist University
Online MSN in nursing education built around eight-week asynchronous courses for working nurses, with coursework in teaching strategies, evidence-based practice, and leadership. Reported average net price is about $22,778.
  • Master of Science in Nursing Education
Keene, TX · Online

East Texas

The University of Texas at Tyler
Hybrid family nurse practitioner track pairs online coursework with minimal campus visits, alongside fully online psychiatric mental health, nursing administration, and MSN-MBA options. Clinical components and a capstone are included. Reported average net price is about $13,323.
  • MSN Family Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN-MBA
  • MSN in Nursing Administration
Tyler, TX · Hybrid
Stephen F. Austin State University
Online MSN tracks in nursing education and family nurse practice. The education track runs 36 credits with 180 clinical hours and two campus visits; the FNP track focuses on rural underserved populations. Reported average net price is about $14,260.
  • Master of Science in Nursing, Nursing Education
  • Master of Science in Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner
Nacogdoches, TX · Online

Central Texas

Texas State University
Online family nurse practitioner MSN that can be finished in as few as 18 months, plus a hybrid psychiatric mental health nurse practitioner track. Clinical practicums are part of both. Reported average net price is about $16,805.
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (M.S.N.)
San Marcos, TX · Online

San Antonio Area

Hallmark University
Online MSN in nursing education designed to address Texas's nursing instructor shortage. The 16-month program includes a capstone with 60 hours of classroom teaching experience. Reported average net price is about $12,513.
  • Master of Science in Nursing Education
San Antonio, TX · Online

South Texas

Texas A & M International University
Online MSN options include family nurse practitioner, nursing administration, and an RN to MSN administration pathway with a nurse executive leadership concentration. Some tracks include on-campus visits or a practicum. Reported average net price is about $3,637.
  • Master of Science in Nursing - Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Master of Science in Nursing – Nursing Administration
  • RN to Master of Science in Nursing – Nursing Administration
  • RN to MSN – Nursing Administration
  • RN to MSN – Nursing Administration (Nurse Executive Leadership)
Laredo, TX · Online

West Texas

Lubbock Christian University
Hybrid MSN in nursing education and leadership with 35 credits, 270 clinical hours, a capstone, and five start dates a year, plus a hybrid family nurse practitioner track. Reported average net price is about $24,456.
  • Nursing Education and Leadership
  • MSN Family Nurse Practitioner
  • MSN Education and Leadership Degree
  • Nursing Education and Leadership Degree
Lubbock, TX · Hybrid
West Texas A & M University
Hybrid family nurse practitioner MSN requiring at least 46 credit hours, with clinical experiences completed in Texas and fall or spring starts. Graduates are eligible for the advanced practice FNP exam. Reported average net price is about $19,487.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner MSN Degree
Canyon, TX · Hybrid
Angelo State University
Online family nurse practitioner MSN with minimal on-campus attendance and clinical practicums arranged in the student's Texas community. The program reports a 94 percent FNP certification pass rate. Reported average net price is about $15,091.
  • Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner M.S.N.
San Angelo, TX · Online

Follow us