Updated August 29, 202625+ min read

Best Online Nurse Practitioner Programs in New York for 2027

Compare costs, completion times, and clinical placement support across accredited online and hybrid NP programs in NY.

New York RNs looking to become family nurse practitioners face a real tension: the state offers 27 ranked online FNP options, but "online" can mean a synchronous advanced certificate, a hybrid master's with weekly campus evenings, or a program entirely remote except for clinicals.

Tuition among these programs ranges from about $13,000 to more than $40,000 per year for in-state or flat-rate options, while clinical hours run from 525 to 810. For working RNs, the real constraint is often whether a program can fit around the job paying for it, not the curriculum itself. New York still requires a written collaborative practice agreement with a physician, so finishing an online FNP is not the final step.

Best Online FNP Programs in New York: 2027 Rankings

New York runs one of the deepest nurse practitioner education markets in the country, and the strongest online and hybrid options here are built for nurses who cannot step away from a paycheck to earn a degree. Some schools publish detailed outcome data for their family nurse practitioner graduates; others leave that blank, and we say so plainly. Below are the New York institutions that give working nurses a realistic route to family practice certification, with tuition for residents and out-of-state students noted for each.

How we ranked these
Factors considered
  • Earnings ten years after entry
  • Institutional graduation rates
  • Clinical training infrastructure
  • Online delivery strength
  • Accreditation of NP tracks
Data sources
  • Original research on individual programs
  • NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
  • College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
  • In-house program catalog data

Binghamton University

#1

Vestal, NY · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Working RNs pursuing a doctoral FNP

Binghamton's Decker College teaches its family, psychiatric mental health, and adult gerontology nurse practitioner tracks at the doctoral level, each built on roughly 77 credit hours plus a scholarly project. Classes are delivered mostly online with a limited number of campus days, which keeps the program workable for nurses who stay employed while they study. New York residents pay about $10,567 in tuition and fees and out-of-state students about $30,447, and the school's overall graduation rate is 81.6%.

CCNE accredited
  • 77 total credit hours
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • 3.0 GPA minimum with three letters of recommendation
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for ANCC or AANPCP certification
  • Eligible for New York state FNP licensure
CCNE accredited
  • Three-year plan of study
  • Clinical hours range from 1,200 to 1,380
  • Requires a current RN license
  • DNP scholarly project completed across three courses
  • Part-time options available for some students
  • Curriculum emphasizes evidence-based practice
CCNE accredited
  • Community health emphasis track
  • No entrance exam required
  • 1,200 clinical hours
  • Three DNP entry pathways: BS to DNP, post-graduate, and advanced standing
  • 500-word personal statement required
  • Focuses on health policy, leadership, and evidence-based practice
CCNE accredited
  • Post-graduate certificate option available
  • Simulation center for clinical practice
  • Kresge Center for Nursing Research
  • Program moved to the DNP level in 2024
  • Coursework in informatics, policy, and advocacy
  • DNP scholarly project required
CCNE accredited
  • Four concentration options
  • Synchronous and asynchronous course options
  • Prepares students for adult gerontological primary care certification
  • Health policy and leadership training
  • Advanced diagnostics and clinical reasoning

Stony Brook University

#2

Stony Brook, NY · ~$14,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Nurses who want published outcome data

Stony Brook reports unusually detailed outcomes for its family nurse practitioner master's, including a three-year graduation rate of 80.9% and median earnings of $111,127 one year after graduation. The School of Nursing also runs doctoral adult gerontology, psychiatric mental health, and women's health NP tracks alongside advanced certificates for nurses who already hold a master's degree. New York residents pay about $10,931 in tuition and fees and out-of-state students about $32,741, and the university's overall graduation rate is 75.6%.

CCNE accredited
  • 3-year graduation rate of 80.9%
  • Average 2.78 years to degree
  • Median earnings of $111,127 one year after graduation
  • Median earnings of $122,231 five years after graduation
  • Reported 100% of graduates working in New York State
  • CCNE accredited
  • Average 2.37 years to completion
  • 68.6% four-year graduation rate
  • Leadership and quality improvement coursework
  • Ethical use of data in practice
  • Interprofessional collaboration training
CCNE accredited
  • Average two years to degree
  • 100% five-year graduation rate
  • Median earnings of $75,221 one year after graduation
  • 82.6% working in New York two years after graduation
CCNE accredited
  • Analyze scientific data for population health
  • Integrate nursing science for advanced practice
  • Synthesize evidence to improve outcomes
  • Employ leadership for interprofessional collaboration
  • Use health information technology for quality management
CCNE accredited
  • 42 total credit hours
  • 500 clinical hours
  • Seven concentration options
  • Currently admits advanced standing applicants only
  • Capstone or evidence-based practice project required
  • Distance education with on-site requirements

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

#3

Brooklyn, NY · $12,000 – $25,000/yr (est.)

Best for: Brooklyn nurses committed to underserved care

Brooklyn's public academic health center prepares family and women's health nurse practitioners through a doctoral program that runs 10 or 13 semesters, with advanced standing available to master's-prepared nurses. Clinical training centers on urban primary care, gynecology, obstetrics, and reproductive health, and the college states a clear focus on underserved populations. Tuition sits at SUNY in-state graduate rates for New York residents, and federal data put median earnings for the university's former students near $109,601 a decade after entry. Program-level completion figures are not reported.

CCNE accredited
  • 76 credits for the BSN to DNP path
  • 10 or 13 semester completion options
  • CCNE accredited
  • Designed for BSN and master's-prepared nurses
CCNE accredited
  • 13-semester plan of study
  • Women's health concentration within the family track
  • Advanced standing for master's-prepared nurses
  • Prepares graduates for the quadruple aim of healthcare
CCNE accredited
  • Two concentration options
  • 46-credit option for master's-prepared nurses
  • Focus on underserved populations
  • Small cohorts with expert faculty
  • Clinical expertise in primary care, gynecology, and obstetrics

University at Buffalo

#4

Buffalo, NY · $10,000 – $15,000/yr (est.)

UB's School of Nursing covers both ends of family practice preparation: a synchronous online advanced certificate for licensed nurse practitioners who want to switch specialties, and a hybrid DNP that takes three to five years or more. The certificate runs 37 to 52 credit hours with 750 clinical hours at a resident rate of about $470 per credit. New York residents pay roughly $10,936 in tuition and fees and out-of-state students about $31,536, and the university's overall graduation rate is 75.2%.

  • Synchronous online format
  • $470 per credit hour for New York residents
  • 37 to 52 credit hours
  • 750 clinical hours required
  • Spring start term
  • Built for licensed NPs switching specialties
  • 3.0 GPA with active RN and NP licenses
  • $75 application fee
CCNE accredited
  • 97 total credit hours
  • Completes in three to five or more years
  • Full-time and part-time options
  • Primary care across the lifespan
  • Addictions and mental health curriculum
  • CCNE accredited
CCNE accredited
  • $1,047 per credit hour
  • Starts in fall or summer
  • Capstone required
  • Prepares for AANP or ANCC certification
  • Telehealth and underserved care content
  • Hybrid format with in-person labs
  • DNP project tailored to student interests
CCNE accredited
  • 94 total credit hours
  • Three to five or more years to complete
  • Assess and diagnose psychiatric disorders
  • Prescribe and monitor psychotropic medications
  • Implement psychotherapy interventions
  • Prepares for leadership and direct care roles
CCNE accredited
  • 36 total credit hours
  • Two and a half to five years to complete
  • 100% online coursework
  • Post-master's to DNP pathway
  • Capstone addressing practice gaps
  • Focus on informatics, health policy, and leadership
CCNE accredited
  • Half primary care and half acute care coursework
  • Prepares for the AGNP board certification exam
  • Full practice authority in New York
  • Treats adults from young adulthood through old age

New York University

#5

New York, NY · ~$43,000/yr (est.)

NYU's Rory Meyers College of Nursing concentrates its nurse practitioner offerings on children, with primary care and acute care pediatric tracks at the master's level and matching advanced certificates for nurses who already hold a master's. The acute care certificate can be finished in about a year with 11 to 13 credits, while the primary care certificate ranges from 18 to 39 credits depending on a gap analysis. NYU does not currently list a family nurse practitioner track. Tuition and fees run about $62,796 for every student regardless of residency, and the university's overall graduation rate is 87.6%.

CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for Pediatric Nursing Certification Board exams
  • Option to pursue dual CPNP-PC and CPNP-AC certification
  • Clinical placements arranged with practicing pediatric NPs
  • Simulation with standardized patients
  • Master's or DNP degree options
  • CCNE accredited
  • Post-master's certificate for nurses who already hold a master's
  • 18 to 39 credits based on a gap analysis
  • TOEFL or IELTS scores required
  • One year of pediatric RN experience required
  • PALS certification needed before clinicals
  • Sample plan of study spans eight semesters
  • $85 application fee
  • 11 to 13 credits, often finished in one year
  • Two on-campus intensives
  • Prepares for the CPNP-AC certification exam
  • Open to primary care pediatric NPs and FNPs
  • Spring start only
  • Gap analysis determines credit requirements
  • Military benefits accepted

SUNY Brockport

#6

Brockport, NY · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

SUNY Brockport's master's in adult gerontology primary care is an executive-style program built around nine in-person weekends spread across three years and 525 clinical hours. The college arranges clinical placements within 75 miles of campus, which suits nurses working along the Rochester to Syracuse corridor without relocating. New York residents pay about $8,752 in tuition and fees and out-of-state students about $15,822, a modest price point for a New York public program, and the school's overall graduation rate is 55.1%.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 525 clinical hours
  • Executive model hybrid with nine in-person weekends total
  • Clinical placement assistance within 75 miles of campus
  • Full-time and part-time tracks
  • Three-year program length
  • State-of-the-art simulation labs
  • Clinical clearance exam required

Upstate Medical University

#7

Syracuse, NY · ~$12,000/yr (est.)

Upstate Medical University in Syracuse offers a seven-semester family nurse practitioner master's that blends in-person and online classes and feeds directly into the university's DNP. A post-master's adult gerontology primary care certificate is also available through rolling admissions. Program-level tuition, net price, and completion data are not published for these NP tracks; median earnings for the university's former students are reported at about $92,257 a decade after entry.

CCNE accredited
  • Seven-semester program
  • Hybrid in-person and online classes
  • Prepares for FNP board certification
  • Seamless pathway into the DNP
  • Coursework in pathophysiology, pharmacology, and health assessment
  • CCNE accredited
  • Hybrid format
  • Rolling admissions with summer, fall, or spring starts
  • Requires a master's in nursing and a 3.0 GPA
  • $65 application fee, waived for veterans
  • Gap analysis determines the start term
  • Three letters of recommendation and a writing sample required
  • Background check after admission

University of Rochester

#8

Rochester, NY · ~$39,000/yr (est.)

The University of Rochester's School of Nursing prepares family, pediatric, neonatal, and psychiatric mental health nurse practitioners through master's tracks and advanced certificates. Pediatric students train for Pediatric Nursing Certification Board exams and can pursue dual pediatric and neonatal certification with clinical time in a Level IV NICU. Tuition and fees are about $67,080 regardless of residency, and the university's overall graduation rate is 85.4%.

CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for ANCC or AANP certification as FNP-BC or FNP-C
  • Primary care across the lifespan, infancy through older adulthood
  • Includes women's health care
  • CCNE accredited
  • Also offered as an advanced certificate
  • Online format
  • Advanced certificate for nurses with a master's degree
  • Courses in psychopathology, psychotherapy, and psychopharmacology
  • Practicum hours required
  • Student-designed degree plans with faculty advisement
  • Hybrid format
  • NUR 411: 8 credits and 224 clinical hours
  • NUR 414 procedure lab
  • NUR 424: 9 credits and 224 clinical hours
  • NUR 425: 8 credits and 224 clinical hours
  • Advanced health assessment course
  • Hybrid format
  • Focus on primary care for adults and older adults
  • Clinical specialty courses and supervised hours
  • Faculty advisement for individualized degree plans
  • Requires a master's in nursing and RN licensure
CCNE accredited
  • Prepares for Pediatric Nursing Certification Board exams
  • Well-child care and developmental screening
  • Careers in primary care, schools, and hospitals
  • Behavioral health content including ADHD
  • Available as a master's or advanced certificate
CCNE accredited
  • Dual pediatric and neonatal specialty focus
  • Clinical experience in a Level IV NICU
  • Prepares for national certification
  • Curriculum covers low- and high-risk infants

SUNY Polytechnic Institute

#9

Utica, NY · ~$13,000/yr (est.)

SUNY Polytechnic Institute in Utica offers a 45-credit family nurse practitioner master's with 800 clinical hours, rolling admissions, and a full-time path that finishes in four semesters. New York residents pay about $8,625 in tuition and fees and out-of-state students about $21,215, among the lowest public FNP price points in the state. The school's overall graduation rate is 55.1%.

CCNE accredited
  • CCNE accredited
  • 45 total credit hours
  • 800 clinical hours
  • Full-time track finishes in four semesters
  • Part-time option takes about eight semesters
  • Start in the fall
  • Rolling admissions with an early February 1 deadline
  • Certificate of Advanced Study option

Daemen University

#10

Amherst, NY · ~$27,000/yr (est.)

Daemen University in Amherst prepares adult gerontology nurses at three levels: a post-master's primary care certificate, a master's in acute care, and a newer DNP in acute care that the university describes as the only one of its kind in Western New York. Admission to the primary care certificate requires a New York RN license and at least one year of medical-surgical experience. Tuition and fees are about $35,218 regardless of residency, and the school's overall graduation rate is 58.9%.

  • 25 credits, part-time
  • Hybrid format
  • 250 clinical hours
  • Requires a New York RN license
  • One year of medical-surgical experience required
  • Includes advanced health assessment and pharmacology
  • Interview with nursing faculty required
  • 38 total credits
  • Online format
  • Thesis requirement
  • Coursework in advanced health assessment, pharmacology, and pathophysiology
  • Preceptorship with lab
  • Research methods and nursing informatics included
  • Post-BSN and post-MSN entry tracks
  • First cohort started in spring 2025
  • Prepares for acute care NP board certification
  • Coursework in leadership, informatics, technology, and policy
  • Described by the university as the only program of its kind in Western New York

Online vs. Hybrid FNP Programs: What New York Students Should Know

New York nurses weighing FNP programs will find that most options blend online coursework with some form of in-person requirement, whether that means regular campus days or a single immersion weekend. Understanding the differences across scheduling flexibility, clinical logistics, and peer engagement can help you choose the format that fits your life as a working nurse. Here is how the two primary delivery models compare across the dimensions that matter most.

DimensionPrimarily Online (e.g., Utica University, D'Youville University)Hybrid (e.g., Stony Brook, SUNY Poly, Mercy University)
Campus visit requirementsMinimal. Utica University, for example, requires one three-day immersion visit for the entire program, scheduled after the Advanced Health Assessment course and before clinical practicum begins. D'Youville's post-master's FNP certificate is offered online with no regularly scheduled campus days.Varies by school. St. Joseph's University and Le Moyne College hold on-campus classes once per week. SUNY Polytechnic Institute and Upstate Medical University use a hybrid model with periodic on-site sessions, though the exact number of required campus days is program and semester specific. Pace University blends asynchronous online coursework with on-campus meetings, though the frequency is not publicly specified.
Flexibility for working nursesStrongest. Coursework is largely asynchronous, making it easier for nurses who work rotating or night shifts. The limited on-campus obligation (sometimes just a single long weekend across the entire program) means less time away from the bedside.Moderate. Weekly or biweekly campus sessions typically fall on a set weekday or weekend, which can conflict with clinical schedules. Some programs, like Binghamton's DNP, offer full-time and part-time tracks to help nurses adjust pacing, but regular commuting is still expected.
Clinical placement logisticsStudents typically arrange local placements in their home community, guided by the school's clinical coordination team. Utica requires roughly 720 practicum hours at local sites, while the University at Buffalo's advanced certificate calls for 750 hours. Being geographically independent of the campus means students outside the immediate university area can often tap into their existing professional networks for preceptor connections.Many hybrid programs leverage established relationships with nearby healthcare facilities, which can simplify placement in or near the campus city. SUNY Downstate, located in Brooklyn, connects students with clinical partners in the NYC metro area. Students who live far from campus may face the same self-placement challenges that online students do.
Peer and faculty interactionSynchronous virtual sessions, discussion boards, and video conferencing serve as the primary vehicles for collaboration. The single immersion visit at schools like Utica doubles as a chance for hands-on skills practice alongside classmates and faculty.Regular face-to-face meetings create natural cohort bonding and real-time mentorship. Programs such as Mercy University and St. Joseph's University emphasize small, supportive learning communities built during weekly in-person contact, which some students find more engaging than virtual alternatives.
Best suited forNurses who live far from a university campus, work unpredictable schedules, or already have strong local preceptor relationships and need maximum schedule control.Nurses within commuting distance of a campus who value consistent in-person instruction, on-site simulation labs, and direct access to faculty office hours.

Questions to Ask Yourself

This distinction narrows your list quickly. Fully online tracks may offer more flexibility, but hybrid programs often provide stronger in-person skill labs and direct faculty connections.

If so, public New York programs may lower your out-of-pocket cost. Private programs can still make sense when specialty focus, pace, or scheduling flexibility outweigh the price difference.

Placement availability varies by New York region. Programs with placement support reduce your search burden in competitive metro areas, while existing preceptor relationships can widen your school options.

Most Affordable Online FNP Programs in New York

For budget-conscious RNs, tuition can be a deciding factor when choosing a nurse practitioner program. The table below compares the five most affordable NP programs in New York that offer online or hybrid coursework, sorted by estimated cost. Note that the net price shown is an institution-wide average after financial aid, drawn from federal data. It is an approximation, not a guaranteed quote, and your actual cost will depend on your individual aid package, residency status, and enrollment intensity.

SchoolLocationProgramFormatIn-State TuitionOut-of-State TuitionAvg. Net Price (After Aid)
Mercy UniversityDobbs Ferry, NYFamily Nurse Practitioner (MS)Hybrid$19,620$19,620$14,072
SUNY Polytechnic InstituteUtica, NYFamily Nurse Practitioner (MS)Hybrid$12,865$26,535$14,164
SUNY BrockportBrockport, NYAdult Gerontology Primary Care NP (MS)Hybrid$12,486$14,746$16,353
Daemen UniversityAmherst, NYAdult Gerontology Primary Care NP (Post-Master's Certificate)Hybrid$26,985$26,985$18,693
Stony Brook UniversityStony Brook, NYFamily Nurse Practitioner (MS)Hybrid$14,222$29,242$18,784

Fastest Online FNP Programs for New York Nurses

If you're weighing how quickly you can move from RN to practicing nurse practitioner, timelines in New York vary widely based on whether you already hold a graduate nursing degree, whether you attend full or part time, and the program format itself. A handful of NY-accessible options advertise 12-month completion, but these are almost always post-graduate certificates for nurses who already hold an MSN, not entry level MSN programs.

12-Month and Accelerated Tracks

The shortest published timelines belong to post-graduate certificate programs designed for nurses adding FNP specialization to an existing MSN:

  • Stony Brook University: 22 credits, 12 months, hybrid delivery.
  • Wagner College: 27 credits, 12 months, hybrid delivery.
  • Pace University FNP Certificate: 35 to 37 credits, 1.5 to 2 years.

Because certificate students have already completed graduate core coursework (advanced pathophysiology, pharmacology, health assessment), they can focus almost entirely on FNP specialty content and clinicals, which is what makes the compressed timeline possible.

Standard MS Timelines for Comparison

Entry-level MSN tracks run considerably longer:

  • Pace University FNP MS: 49 credits, roughly 3 years part time.
  • LIU Brooklyn MS: 46 credits across 7 semesters (with a 38-credit, 6-semester advanced certificate option for post-master's students).
  • Manhattanville University MS: 42 credits, as few as 7 semesters part time.

What Can Shorten Your Timeline

Prior graduate nursing coursework is the single biggest lever. If you already hold an MSN in another specialty, certificate pathways typically cut your time in half. Some programs also evaluate transfer credits from recent graduate work, and a few permit students to shift between part-time and full-time enrollment between semesters, letting you accelerate when your schedule allows.

One caveat: program duration is drawn from school-published materials rather than any centralized dataset, so confirm current credit counts and pacing directly with admissions before committing. Schedules can shift year to year, particularly for clinical-heavy semesters.

Clinical Placement Support for Online FNP Students in New York

Online FNP programs have made most didactic coursework portable, but the clinical practicum remains the piece most likely to delay graduation if a site or preceptor falls through. In New York, support ranges from faculty-arranged placements to a fully student-led search, so this is a question to ask before you apply.

Placement support models in New York

  • NYU: Faculty arrange clinical placements, but the FNP track is not fully online, so flexibility comes with an in-person commitment. Placements cluster in the tri-state area.
  • University at Buffalo: The online post-master's FNP Advanced Certificate leans school-facilitated through maintained preceptor partnerships and requires 750 clinical hours, though documents do not guarantee full matching.
  • Pace University: This hybrid FNP uses a shared-responsibility model focused on the New York City area. The school says it will work with students who cannot find a preceptor, but that support is conditional and student reports vary by cohort.
  • Stony Brook University: Students are generally expected to actively locate preceptors. The placement office helps with contracts and lists of past sites, and paying for placement is prohibited.
  • Utica University: This online FNP uses a student-led model. Students secure their own preceptors and sites, submit paperwork roughly six months ahead, and wait for affiliation agreements.

Geographic rules and planning buffers

Pace frames placements around the New York City area but does not state an explicit out-of-area rule. Stony Brook defines no FNP-specific geographic boundary in public documents. Utica preceptors must be licensed in a state where the university is authorized; external commentary from 2026 says clinicals are restricted to New York and Florida residents, though that restriction is not cross-confirmed in the official NP handbook.

Most FNP tracks require roughly 500 to 700 supervised clinical hours, with some advanced certificates higher. UB's online certificate specifies 750 hours. Because Utica asks for practicum paperwork about six months before the rotation starts, working nurses should treat placement planning as a parallel application process, not a final-year detail.

Admissions Requirements for Online FNP Programs in New York

Most online FNP programs in New York share a common set of admissions requirements, though individual schools may add program-specific criteria. Before applying, confirm each program's current prerequisites and pay special attention to state authorization and residency rules if you are considering a New York–based program from out of state.

  1. Active, Unencumbered RN License
    You will need a current, unrestricted registered nurse license. Programs typically require that your license remain in good standing throughout enrollment.
  2. BSN from an Accredited Institution
    A Bachelor of Science in Nursing from a regionally or nationally accredited school is a standard prerequisite. Some programs accept degrees accredited by CCNE or ACEN specifically.
  3. Minimum GPA
    Most programs require a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale, though a few may consider applicants with a slightly lower GPA if other credentials are strong.
  4. Clinical Nursing Experience
    Expect to document direct patient-care experience as a registered nurse. Requirements vary, but many programs ask for at least one to two years of clinical practice before admission.
  5. GRE Scores: Often Waived
    The GRE is not commonly required by New York online FNP programs. Many schools have moved away from standardized test requirements altogether, though you should verify each program's current policy.
  6. State Authorization and Out-of-State Enrollment
    New York participates in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA), but enrollment eligibility for out-of-state students varies by school. For example, Utica University's online FNP program is open only to New York residents, while some other institutions accept out-of-state applicants under certain conditions. Clinical placement rules add another layer of complexity: some programs restrict where students may complete clinical hours, and out-of-state programs that place students in New York clinical sites have needed separate permission from the state. Always confirm directly with your chosen school whether your home state qualifies for enrollment and whether clinical placements can be arranged in your area.

NP Salary Across New York Metro Areas

Metro-level wage breakdowns for nurse practitioners in New York are not currently published in the latest federal data release. However, statewide figures offer a useful benchmark. According to the 2025 Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, New York employs nearly 23,000 nurse practitioners, with a median annual salary well above the national average. For context, related nursing and healthcare roles are included below so you can see where NP compensation falls relative to other career paths in the state.

OccupationTotal Employment in NY25th Percentile SalaryMedian Salary75th Percentile SalaryMean Salary
Nurse Practitioners22,890$132,490$153,510$170,290$153,900
Registered Nurses205,810$94,840$109,440$129,660$113,440
Nurse Anesthetists2,450$279,930$321,030$325,210$285,020
Medical and Health Services Managers33,200$123,170$164,120$215,770$184,960
Nursing Instructors (Postsecondary)6,340$63,270$82,950$106,520$91,290

More Online FNP Programs Available to New York Students

New York has more accredited nurse practitioner programs than a single ranking can cover. The directory below includes additional schools across New York City, Long Island, the Hudson Valley, the Capital Region, Central New York, the Finger Lakes, and Western New York, so you can compare location, format, and program length before you apply.

New York City

St. Joseph's University-New York
This three-year Master of Science in Family Nurse Practitioner pairs on-campus classes once weekly with clinical placements through New York City healthcare institutions. Students train in simulation labs with robotic patient dummies, complete a capstone, and can choose full-time or part-time pacing.
  • M.S. in Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Advanced Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner
Brooklyn, NY · Hybrid
Pace University
Pace's master's in family nurse practitioner is a hybrid program of 49 credits taken over three years part time, with 760 clinical hours, a capstone, and a mix of online and on-campus coursework. Tuition runs $1,585 per credit, or $77,665 for the full program.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner, MS
  • Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP) Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner
New York, NY · Hybrid

Long Island

Molloy University
Molloy's family nurse practitioner master's covers advanced pathophysiology, pharmacotherapeutics, and diagnostic reasoning across three practicum sequences, with clinical experience in pediatric, adult, geriatric, urgent care, and gynecologic settings. The hybrid format fits working nurses, and the simulation lab is INACSL endorsed.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Pediatric Nurse Practitioner - Primary Care
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (Family Nurse Practitioner)
Rockville Centre, NY · Hybrid
Adelphi University
Adelphi's master's in adult gerontology primary care nurse practitioner runs 45 credits over 28 months in an asynchronous, cohort-based format with small classes and one-to-one faculty mentoring. No GRE is required, and tuition is $980 per credit, or $44,100 for the program.
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Certificate
  • Master’s in Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) in Psychiatric-Mental Health
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) in Adult Gerontology Primary Care
  • BS to DNP Psychiatric-Mental Health NP Program
Garden City, NY · Online
Long Island University
LIU's advanced certificate in family nurse practitioner is built for nurses who already hold a master's degree in nursing. The part-time hybrid program spans six semesters and includes 40 credits, 624 clinical hours, and web-enhanced coursework.
  • Advanced Certificate in Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Advanced Certificate in Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Brookville, NY · Hybrid

Hudson Valley

Mount Saint Mary College
The Mount's MSN includes a family nurse practitioner concentration that can be finished in about 2.5 years, with 44 credits, 600 clinical hours, and three start dates each year. Evening classes meet once a week in a blended online and campus format.
  • Post-Master's Certificate in Nursing (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner)
  • Post-Master's Certificate in Nursing (Adult-Gerontology Nurse Practitioner)
  • Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) (Family Nurse Practitioner)
Newburgh, NY · Hybrid
Mercy University
Mercy University's family nurse practitioner master's program covers primary care across the lifespan in 42 credits over 2.5 years, with spring and fall start dates. Students train in simulation labs and complete clinical placements through regional healthcare partnerships.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Advanced Certificate
Dobbs Ferry, NY · Hybrid
Manhattanville College
Manhattanville's online MS in family nurse practitioner blends synchronous and asynchronous coursework across 42 credits, with a three-day on-campus residency and clinical rotations in pediatrics, women's health, and adult care. No GRE is required, and part-time students can finish in seven semesters.
  • MS Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Advanced Certificate
Purchase, NY · Online

Capital Region

Russell Sage College
Russell Sage's family nurse practitioner program combines online coursework with clinical placements for 48 credits and 640 clinical hours. Applicants need at least 2,000 hours of RN experience before clinical courses, and the curriculum prepares graduates for ANCC certification.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Program
  • Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Master's Certificate
  • Adult Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Post-Masters
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
Troy, NY · Hybrid

Central New York

Le Moyne College
Le Moyne offers family nurse practitioner study at the master's, post-master's certificate, and DNP levels. The MSN track requires 46 credits and 810 clinical hours, with full-time and part-time options and on-campus attendance once weekly.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
  • Post-Master’s FNP Certificate
  • Doctorate of Nursing Practice (DNP) (Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP))
Syracuse, NY · Hybrid
Utica University
Utica University's online Master of Science in Nursing prepares registered nurses for the family nurse practitioner role through flexible online delivery, advanced practice coursework, and clinical hours. Admission requires a BSN and an active RN license.
  • M.S. FNP Degree
  • Advanced Studies Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
Utica, NY · Online

Finger Lakes

St. John Fisher University
Fisher's online primary care family nurse practitioner program delivers 46 credits in as few as 24 months, with 600 clinical hours placed in the student's own community and one pre-clinical immersion on campus. A part-time track finishes in 28 months.
  • Primary Care Family Nurse Practitioner
  • Adult/Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
  • Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) (Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP))
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice in Nurse Anesthesia and Adult Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner (AGACNP)
Rochester, NY · Online
Roberts Wesleyan University
Roberts Wesleyan's Master of Science family nurse practitioner program spans 54 credits and about 36 months, mostly online with one week on campus and 600 clinical hours. Tuition is $979 per credit, and no GRE or GMAT is required.
  • Master of Science Family Nurse Practitioner (FNP)
  • Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate
Rochester, NY · Hybrid
Keuka College
Keuka's MSN in adult gerontology primary care nurse practitioner is a 24-month hybrid program of 42 credits and 540 clinical hours, with clinical placement assistance and one weekend on campus each semester. Tuition is $1,052 per credit.
  • Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner
Keuka Park, NY · Hybrid

Western New York

D'Youville University
D'Youville's family nurse practitioner advanced certificate is a 30-credit post-master's program offered online or in person, covering advanced health assessment, pharmacology, and clinical practicums across patient populations. A family nurse practitioner DNP is also available online.
  • Family Nurse Practitioner (Advanced Certificate)
  • Family Nurse Practitioner (DNP)
Buffalo, NY · Online

Follow us