Maine's rural hospitals are increasingly staffing primary care with nurse practitioners rather than physicians, a shift driven by physician shortages in counties like Aroostook and Washington. The state has full practice authority for NPs, meaning a graduate degree , one of the nursing degree levels , translates directly into independent prescribing rights once licensed. Yet Maine has only a handful of schools conferring the MSN, and seats fill quickly each cycle.
For working RNs, that scarcity makes flexible, part-time online formats less a convenience than a necessity, since relocating for a traditional cohort program simply isn't realistic for most nurses already carrying a full patient load.
The real tension is timeline versus specialization: broader tracks admit faster, while narrower ones carry longer waitlists and higher tuition.
Best Online MSN Schools in Maine, Ranked
Each school below offers at least one MSN that can be completed entirely online or with only a brief campus visit, and every program listed holds national nursing accreditation. The tuition, net price, graduation rate, and earnings figures on each card come from federal data, and unless a number is labeled as program level, it describes the whole institution rather than the MSN cohort. Where program-level earnings for a nursing program are not yet reported, that is stated plainly instead of being filled in with a school-wide figure.
How we ranked these
- Earnings ten years after entry
- Institution-wide graduation rates
- Accreditation and online delivery
- Specialty and degree pathways
- Net price after grant aid
- Original research on individual programs
- NCES-IPEDS federal institutional data — nces.ed.gov
- College Scorecard post-completion earnings data — collegescorecard.ed.gov
- In-house program catalog data
- Bureau of Economic Analysis cost-of-living index by state — bea.gov
University of Maine
#1Orono, ME · $11,000/yr
Best for: Aspiring nurse educators in rural Maine
The University of Maine in Orono offers a hybrid MSN in Nursing Leadership with a Nursing Education concentration, pairing online didactic coursework with two onsite days in Orono for the health assessment lab. Students complete 500 clinical hours and choose between a thesis and a capstone, with practicums coordinated near their home or workplace. The format runs two years full time or three to four years part time, and graduates meet the education criteria for the NLN Academic Novice Nurse Educator certification exam. Applicants need a BSN with a 3.0 GPA plus an active Maine RN license, or proof of licensure reciprocity before classes begin.
- CCNE-accredited MSN in Nursing Leadership, nurse educator track
- Two years full time, or three to four years part time
- 500 clinical hours with a thesis or capstone option
- Online didactic courses plus two onsite days in Orono
- Prepares graduates for NLN Academic Novice Nurse Educator certification
- Admission requires a BSN with a 3.0 GPA and two recommendation letters
- Rolling admissions; practicums arranged in the student's preferred area
- Applicants need an active Maine RN license or proof of reciprocity
University of Southern Maine
#2Portland, ME · $10,000 – $27,000/yr
Best for: Working RNs wanting accelerated online study
The University of Southern Maine in Portland runs an accelerated online MSN in Nursing Education built for working nurses, with seven-week courses and six start dates a year. The 36-credit program can be finished in as few as 12 months and leads to the NLN Nurse Educator Certificate, with no entrance exam or GRE required. The School of Nursing holds both CCNE accreditation and Maine Board of Nursing approval, and more than 150 graduate assistantships and scholarships are available. Admission requires a BSN with a 3.0 GPA, RN licensure, and a statistics prerequisite.
- CCNE accredited and approved by the Maine Board of Nursing
- 36 credits, completable in as few as 12 months
- Seven-week accelerated online courses and six start dates a year
- Asynchronous classes; no entrance exam or GRE required
- Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA, and RN licensure
- Leads to the NLN Nurse Educator Certificate
- More than 150 graduate assistantships and scholarships available
- Locked tuition rate and a $0 application fee
Saint Joseph's College of Maine
#3Standish, ME · $5,000 – $10,000/yr
Best for: RNs targeting executive leadership roles
Saint Joseph's College of Maine in Standish offers two fully online graduate nursing options: a 45-credit MSN with a Nursing Administration concentration and a 60-credit MSN/MBA dual degree. The dual degree pairs nursing leadership coursework with business management and targets nurses aiming for manager, director of nursing, or chief nursing officer roles, while the administration track prepares nurses for leadership without the business core. Both are CCNE accredited and require no on-campus residency. Note that the college ended its American Nurses Association tuition discount partnership in July 2025, so nurses who expected that benefit should ask about current aid options.
- 60 credits combining nursing leadership and business coursework
- Total program cost of $42,240, excluding books and fees
- Full time in under three years; part time about four and a half years
- Open to RNs with a bachelor's degree and two years of work experience
- Prepares nurses for manager, director of nursing, or CNO roles
- Fully online with core content shared between both degrees
- 45-credit online MSN with a Nursing Administration concentration
- Program cost listed at $28,686 to $33,792
- No on-campus residency required
- Admission requires a BSN, a 3.0 GPA, and an active RN license
- No GRE required; starts in fall, spring, and summer
- Clinical rotations can be completed in many states
- Coursework includes nursing leadership and management
Husson University
#4Bangor, ME · $15,000 – $20,000/yr
Husson University in Bangor delivers two online MSN tracks for advanced practice: Family Nurse Practitioner and Adult-Gerontology Acute Care Nurse Practitioner. The FNP track runs 48 credits with 540 clinical hours over about 30 months, offers a 24-month accelerated option, and reports a 95% certification exam pass rate, while the acute care track prepares nurses for ANCC or AACN certification. Clinical placement is in person, but orientation is handled virtually, and the university participates in state authorization reciprocity agreements that cover online students in Maine and other states. Both tracks are CCNE accredited.
- 48 credits with 540 clinical hours over about 30 months
- Accelerated 24-month track option
- Tuition of $732 per credit hour
- Reported 95% certification exam pass rate
- Prepares students for ANCC or AANP certification
- Online coursework with a virtual clinical orientation
- Multiple start dates; transfer up to nine credits
- CCNE accredited
- 48-credit online program in adult-gerontology acute care
- Clinical experiences in acute care settings
- Prepares graduates for ANCC or AACN certification exams
- Advanced practice training from young adults through older adults
- Offered through the School of Nursing in Bangor
Beal University
#5Bangor, ME
Beal University in Bangor offers three fully online MSN pathways: Family Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Education, and Executive Leadership. The FNP program runs about 20 months and includes one week of on-campus training, while the education and leadership concentrations can take 20 to 40 months depending on pace. The FNP track is accredited by ACEN and the education and leadership tracks by NLN CNEA. Program-level earnings for these nursing programs are not yet published, and the university's overall graduation rate sits below the other Maine schools on this list, so applicants should ask directly about certification exam pass rates, clinical placement support, and financial aid.
- 20-month, 100% online Family Nurse Practitioner program
- One week of on-campus training required
- Accredited by ACEN
- Coursework in advanced health assessment and pharmacology
- Primary care focus across the lifespan
- RN licensure required for admission
- 100% online Nursing Education concentration
- 20 to 40 months depending on pace
- Accredited by NLN CNEA
- Coursework in curriculum development and educational leadership
- Capstone project required
- Prepares graduates for nursing faculty roles
- Requires a BSN and an unencumbered nursing license
- 20 to 40 month Executive Leadership concentration
- Coursework in healthcare finance, policy, and quality assurance
- Prepares nurses for administrative and executive roles
- 100% online with interactive projects and campus resources
- Statistics course prerequisite; unencumbered license required
BSN-To-MSN Vs. RN-To-MSN Pathways in Maine
Choosing an MSN pathway in Maine starts with your current credential. BSN holders with an active RN license generally follow the most direct route, while ADN and diploma nurses need a bridge that folds in bachelor's-level coursework before graduate study begins.
BSN-to-MSN: The Standard Route
At University of Southern Maine, University of Maine at Fort Kent (UMFK), Husson University, and Saint Joseph's College of Maine, applicants need a BSN from a CCNE, ACEN, or NLNAC-accredited program and an unencumbered RN license. Minimum GPA expectations cluster around 3.0, though Saint Joseph's requires a 3.0 GPA for BSN-prepared applicants and a 2.5 GPA for ADN and diploma nurses. UMFK also asks for a semester of college-level statistics and at least one year of acute care experience, while Husson wants undergraduate health assessment and statistics on the transcript along with a resume, references, and a personal essay.
RN-to-MSN: The Bridge for ADN and Diploma Nurses
Nurses without a BSN aren't shut out. Southern Maine and UMFK both run RN-to-MSN programs that layer in prerequisite courses, typically microbiology, pathophysiology, psychology, sociology, human development, and statistics at USM, plus a defined set of bridge courses (NUR 301, 309, 312, 380, 386, and 401) at UMFK. These additions usually stretch total time-to-degree by two to three extra semesters compared to the BSN-to-MSN track, and they add tuition costs proportional to the extra credits. Saint Joseph's has referenced a lower GPA threshold (2.5) for ADN and diploma applicants, though this appears tied to specific concentrations rather than a universal bridge across all specialties.
No Direct-Entry Option for Non-Nurses
None of the four schools reviewed here (USM, UMFK, Husson, or Saint Joseph's) currently offer a direct entry MSN for people holding a non-nursing bachelor's degree. Every pathway assumes an existing nursing credential and active RN licensure, so people without nursing backgrounds considering a career change to nursing will need to complete a BSN or equivalent entry-level nursing program first before applying to any of these graduate options.
Online Vs. Hybrid: Which Maine MSN Programs Require Campus Visits?
One of the most common questions prospective MSN students ask is whether they will need to travel to campus. The answer depends heavily on which school and specialty track you choose. Below is a side-by-side comparison of Maine's MSN programs, covering delivery format, required on-site visits, and how coursework is structured. If you are looking for a program with zero campus requirements, several options exist, but nurse practitioner tracks almost always include at least a brief on-ground component.
| School and Program | Delivery Format | Campus Visits Required | Synchronous or Asynchronous | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Southern Maine: Nursing Education, M.S.N. | Fully online | None identified | Asynchronous (7-week accelerated courses) | CCNE accredited; 36 total credit hours with no stated on-site requirement |
| University of Southern Maine: Nursing Administration and Leadership, M.S.N. | Fully online | None identified | Asynchronous (7-week accelerated courses) | Requires 270 practicum hours coordinated in the student's local area |
| University of Southern Maine: RN to MSN Accelerated Graduate Pathway | Fully online (100% online nursing coursework) | None identified | Not specified | Designed for RNs without a BSN who want to enter an MSN track |
| University of Southern Maine: MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner | Online with on-ground intensive | Yes: one 3-day on-campus intensive | Asynchronous coursework | Clinical hours are completed in addition to the intensive |
| University of Southern Maine: MSN, Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner | Online with on-ground intensive | Yes: one on-campus intensive (duration similar to FNP track) | Asynchronous coursework | More than 700 clinical hours required beyond the intensive |
| University of Maine: Nursing Leadership, Nursing Education Concentration | Hybrid | Yes: 2 on-site days | Online didactic courses with limited campus time | 500 clinical hours; practicums coordinated in student's preferred location |
| Husson University: Family Nurse Practitioner, M.S.N. | Online | Not specified by the university at time of review | Not specified | 48 credits, 540 clinical hours; CCNE accredited with a reported 95% certification exam pass rate |
| Saint Joseph's College of Maine: MSN/MBA Dual Degree | Online | Not specified by the university at time of review | Not specified | 60 total credits; combines nursing administration with business coursework |
| Beal University: MSN, Family Nurse Practitioner | Online with on-campus training | Yes: one week of on-campus training | Not specified | 20-month program; ACEN accredited; 100% online coursework outside the required campus week |
MSN Tuition and Total Cost Comparison Across Maine Schools
Tuition rates below reflect the most recently published per-credit figures for each school's online MSN or graduate nursing program. Because total credit requirements vary by specialty and are not always published, estimated total costs should be treated as approximate ranges. Institution-wide net price figures from federal data are included for context but reflect averages across all programs and student populations, not MSN-specific totals. Always confirm current rates directly with each school before enrolling.
| School | Per-Credit Tuition | Residency Split | Estimated Total Credits | Estimated Tuition-Only Cost | Notable Mandatory Fees | Published Total Program Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maine at Fort Kent | $500 (2025-2026) | Flat rate (no in-state/out-of-state split for graduate programs) | Not published (typically 36 to 48 for MSN programs nationally) | $18,000 to $24,000 (illustrative based on 36 to 48 credits) | Unified fee $35/credit, technology fee $13/credit, activity fee $7.50/credit (confirmed for undergrad; graduate applicability not verified) | Not published |
| University of Southern Maine | $548 (2026-2027 e-tuition) | Flat online rate for graduate students | 36 (Nursing Education MSN) | Approximately $19,728 | Per-credit mandatory fees apply; exact MSN amount not published | Not published |
| Husson University | $734 (2026-2027) | Flat rate (single tuition for all students) | 48 (FNP track) | Approximately $35,232 | Nursing (MSN) fee: $269/semester ($807/year) | Not published |
| Saint Joseph's College of Maine | $746 (2026-2027, standard rate); $697 for dual MSN/MBA or MSN/MHA | Flat rate; partner rate of $635 may apply for eligible employers | Varies by track (dual MSN/MBA requires 60 credits) | $28,686 to $33,792 (MSN); approximately $42,240 (dual MSN/MBA at 60 credits) | FNP clinical fee: $750 per select course; non-FNP clinical fee: $225 per select course; online fee: $60/course; graduation fee: $75 | $28,686 to $33,792 (MSN, excluding textbooks, online fees, and clinical fees) |
Explore other Maine related topics
MSN Specialties Available at Maine Schools
Maine's MSN landscape covers a range of specialty tracks, but availability varies by institution. Family Nurse Practitioner programs are the most widely offered, while nursing education and leadership concentrations are available at select schools. If you have a specific clinical or administrative focus in mind, matching your target specialty to the right school is an important first step.

Fast-Track and Accelerated MSN Options in Maine
Speed and rigor pull in opposite directions, and the fastest MSN path isn't always the best fit for a working nurse juggling shifts and family obligations. Still, several Maine schools have built genuinely compressed timelines for students who can commit to full-time pacing.
Where the Shortest Timelines Live
University of Southern Maine's Nursing Education and Nursing Administration and Leadership MSN tracks are structured as accelerated online programs, with a 2026-2027 catalog listing completion in as few as 12 months for 36 credits when students stay continuously enrolled in seven-week courses. USM also offers a 24-month RN-to-MSN accelerated pathway, an option for nurses comparing shortest RN to MSN programs. By contrast, USM's online family nurse practitioner in Maine track is not accelerated: full-time students take about 36 months, part-time closer to 48. University of Maine at Fort Kent's online MSN moves in as few as 15 months, but that pace requires 12 credits per semester (six every seven weeks), a heavier load than many working RNs can sustain. Husson University's online MSN generally runs 30 months, though its FNP option offers a shorter 24-month track for students who qualify.
Multiple Start Dates Widen the Entry Window
USM and Husson both run six start dates a year through seven-week terms, so students aren't stuck waiting for a single fall intake. Saint Joseph's College of Maine uses four annual starts on a 12-week term structure instead, still more flexible than a traditional two-semester calendar.
Full-Time vs. Part-Time Pacing
Saint Joseph's is the clearest example of how pacing changes the timeline: full-time students (two courses per term) finish in about 27 months, while part-time students taking one course per term typically need 42 to 48 months, with a five-year maximum. Most other Maine schools don't publish a specific part-time timeline for their accelerated tracks, so prospective students should confirm pacing directly with admissions.
Program duration and start-date details above come from individual program pages, not from the ranking dataset, because timeline data isn't part of how these schools were compared.
Clinical and Practicum Requirements for Maine Online MSN Programs
How many clinical hours will you actually complete in a Maine online MSN program, and will the school help you find a site? The answer depends heavily on your specialty track and the school you choose.
Clinical Hour Requirements by School
Hour totals vary widely between direct-care tracks like Family Nurse Practitioner and indirect-care tracks like Nursing Education or Nursing Administration.
- University of Southern Maine MSN-FNP: Around 600 clinical hours based on the current catalog, typically split across three clinical semesters (roughly 112 hours in the first, then about 244 in each of the next two).
- Saint Joseph's College of Maine: Between 600 and 720 supervised hours depending on track, with individual practicum courses generally running 200 to 240 hours at about 18 to 20 hours per week.
- Husson University MSN-FNP: Approximately 540 practicum hours in the 48-credit current catalog; some online program materials list 600 hours, so confirm the figure tied to your start term.
- University of Southern Maine Nursing Administration and Leadership: Two hands-on practicums totaling 270 clinical hours. Ask the program to confirm any additional hours tied to your specialty.
- University of Maine: Published credit-to-clinical ratios shift by year in the program, with lower hour totals for non-NP tracks. Confirm your specialty's exact requirement with the department.
Preceptor Placement and Simulation
Placement policies differ, and this is worth pinning down before you enroll.
Saint Joseph's asks students to help identify potential nurse practitioner preceptors, but the college pre-approves sites and provides a placement coordinator who can help vet options. Husson does not generally place students, though a clinical coordinator may assist with the search. USM's placement approach is not clearly stated publicly for either the FNP or leadership tracks, so working nurses should ask before applying.
Saint Joseph's includes a 24-hour on-campus skills session that counts toward the overall practicum total but not toward direct patient care hours.
Out-of-state clinical completion is not clearly established across Maine programs. If you live outside Maine, verify in writing that your home-state site and preceptor will be approved before you commit.
What Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Educators Earn in Maine
Nurse practitioners in Maine earn a strong median annual wage, reflecting the advanced scope of practice an MSN unlocks.
FAQs About Online MSN Programs in Maine
Choosing an online MSN program raises practical questions about timelines, format, and cost. Below are answers to the most common questions prospective students in Maine ask when exploring advanced nursing education.
How long does it take to complete an online MSN in Maine?
Can I complete an RN-to-MSN program online in Maine without a BSN?
Are there fully online MSN programs in Maine with no campus visits?
What financial aid is available for online MSN students in Maine?
Does Maine participate in the Nurse Licensure Compact, and how does that affect online MSN students?
MSN by State
Northeast10
Southeast12
Midwest12
Southwest4
DC & Territories1
Explore More MSN Topics
- Best (MSN) Masters in Public Health Nursing
- Best Master's in Nursing Administration (MSN) Degrees
- Dual MSN/MHA
- Dual MSN/MPH Degree
- Master's in Forensic Nursing
- MSN in Health Systems Management (HSM) Online Degree & Campus
- Best MSN in Executive Nurse Leadership
- MSN in Care Coordination
- MSN in Case Management
- Master's in Health Informatics (MSN)
- Master's in Healthcare Policy (MSN)
- MSN in Patient Safety and Quality
- MSN Salary
- Best Dual MSN MBA
